Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
wpa_supplicant stopped working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rkfsm
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 100
Location: Charleston, SC, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 11:41 pm    Post subject: wpa_supplicant stopped working Reply with quote

I used to be able to connect to my wireless network. Now, I cannot. It simply stopped working, but it still works with Windows. It looks like it connects, but doesn't.

Some info:
Code:

# iwconfig wlan0
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"kinghome" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:1C:DF:BB:B2:6D   
          Bit Rate=5.5 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:on
          Link Quality=64/70  Signal level=-46 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:4   Missed beacon:0

# cat wpa_supplicant.conf
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1

network={
   key_mgmt=NONE
   priority=-9999999
}

network={
   ssid="kinghome"
   scan_ssid=1
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   psk="password"
}

# wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -cwpa_supplicant.conf -Dwext
Trying to associate with 00:1c:df:bb:b2:6d (SSID='kinghome' freq=2437 MHz)
Associated with 00:1c:df:bb:b2:6d
WPA: Key negotiation completed with 00:1c:df:bb:b2:6d [PTK=CCMP GTK=TKIP]
CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to 00:1c:df:bb:b2:6d completed (auth) [id=1 id_str=]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BradN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2391
Location: Wisconsin (USA)

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've seen some unusual behavior with wpa_supplicant where it goes nuts and starts running multiple copies of dhcpcd - but when this was happening it would still kinda-work in spurts after one of the dhcpcd's finishes and activates the interface. Fully shutting down the connection and restarting it would make it work for a while.

Had you done software updates the last time the system was running? Ie, update software, and then perhaps next time starting the connection it fails?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rkfsm
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 100
Location: Charleston, SC, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No software updates. The only difference is geographical location. I was on business travel and came home. That's when it stopped working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BradN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2391
Location: Wisconsin (USA)

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does ifconfig -a look like? Is /etc/resolv.conf correct? Tried rebooting your router?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rkfsm
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 100
Location: Charleston, SC, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2011 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See above for ifconfig. Resolv.conf is setup by DHCP which is not working (I have no connection), so it is blank.

The router has been reset. Again, it works fine for Windows. Same router, same adapter. The other 5 computers and the wireless printer all work fine as well.

I have tried the Vanilla sources (no joy) and an old kernel that worked before (no joy).

I changed out to a different adapter (no joy).

I tried ndiswrapper and a Windows driver (no joy).

I have re-installed wpa_supplicant (no joy).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Etal
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 1791

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like it connects fine from your output, so I'm guessing it doesn't get an IP address?

Could you turn off the network (any net.* scripts, etc.), and then start wpa_supplicant as above (wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -cwpa_supplicant.conf -Dwext).

Next, once it says that the connection is completed, open another terminal and run "dhcpcd -k" and then "dhcpcd -B -d" and see what it says.
_________________
“And even in authoritarian countries, information networks are helping people discover new facts and making governments more accountable.”– Hillary Clinton, Jan. 21, 2010
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum