Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
no desktop environment
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kitfer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 11:28 am    Post subject: no desktop environment Reply with quote

Hello all

I am wanting to teach my kids how I used computers back when I was their age, which unfortunately was dos, I have absolutely no intention of using dos again so what I want to do is install gentoo 2007.0 on an old eMac and run it without a desktop environment (using 2007.0 because I happen to still have the disks). The embarrassing part of this is I actually can't remember how to use an operating system using just the command line, so the question I have is is this even possible with 2007.0 and how do I run gui programs from the command line.
appreciate any help you can give me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7332
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are differences, DOS games each had their own GUI, their own video drivers and so on.
Nowadays GUI programs rely on X server, which provides GUI, has all drivers. It is possible to run X programs without WM, directly on X. If you really want to do this you should create aliases, so one single command fires up X and the desired program on top of it. It works fine until that program wants to open another window, like Firefox opens download window, it goes a little out of control then.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kitfer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is it possible to use x server to run multiple programs but only have one displaying with the rest running in the background?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chiefbag
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2010
Posts: 542
Location: The Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
so the question I have is is this even possible with 2007.0


You won't be running 2007.0 after you do the install, you will be running the current version of Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7332
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is probably best done with some unorthodox WM, like Ratpoison.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ramonoid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Location: Tijuana, Méjico

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 4:24 pm    Post subject: Re: no desktop environment Reply with quote

Code:
xinit path $* -- :#


Where "path" is the path of your binary and "#" is the number that defines the tty where your application will be launched.


An example would be:

Code:
xinit /usr/bin/gimp $* -- :6

_________________
gentoo::scrotwm::vim::zsh::urxvtd|blog::dotfiles::last.fm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum