Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
wlan0 no scan results [RESUBMITTED] for further review.. :/
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
haxle
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2011 6:37 pm    Post subject: wlan0 no scan results [RESUBMITTED] for further review.. :/ Reply with quote

I've been able to connect to my wireless gateway through wicd before, i just started over the installation because i was having a lot of issues with it however and now that I'm back to getting the wireless working and I can't get any networks to show up when using iwlist scan and when i'm using wicd-client... i've configured wicd to use wlan0 but still no luck. any ideas?

Last edited by haxle on Sun May 15, 2011 1:47 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46272
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2011 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

haxle,

Does ifconfig -a show wlan0 ?
If not, your kernel has a bit missing or your firmware (if needed) is missing.

Code:
dmseg | less
may show some useful error messages.

Some wilreless intefaces need to be 'upped' before they admit to any wireless extensions. Try
Code:
 ifconfig up wlan0
before you scan.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haxle
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

iwlist scan shows wlan0 and so does ifconfig so it's already up... it just says there's no wireless networks.. which i know to be false
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haxle
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmseg | less shows a blank screen as well :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46272
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

haxle,

Post your lsub and lspci output. Also list the files you have in /lib/firmware.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haxle
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lsub command not found :D
lspci:
Ethernet controllerr Realtek semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast ethernet controller (rev 02)
Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. Device 8172 (rev 10)
(I hope that's all you need because as embarassing as it is I'm not sure how to copy and paste from an aterm....)

and.... i don't have a /lib/firmware... :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46272
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

haxle,

To copy and paste from a console, you need gpm. Then you select text by dragging over it, so its highlighted and past with middle click. You can paste between consoles too.

My last post had a typo ... lsub should have been lsusb. It does for USB what lspci does for pci.

wgetpaste lets you post things that are too big to copy too - it posts them on the web and returns a URL to them.

I'll need to dig into your Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. Device 8172 (rev 10) tomorrow night
but I'm sure thats what I need.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haxle
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 10:01 pm    Post subject: wlan0 no scan results [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Ok so i dug around a little more and searched for device 8172 and actually found someone who was having the same problem, only the post was in the kernel & hardware forum under "Realtek 8172 not working [SOLVED]"

so all I had to do was run update-pciids
which changed my network controller from realtek 8172 (rev 10)
to
Realtek RTL8191SE vB wireless lan controller

so... emerge rtl8192se fixed it...
love it when it's simple... :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haxle
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok so the wireless card is working now partially, whenever i'm using aircrack-ng or if i wait long enough while just using the card normally it'll go back to saying no scan results and I have to restart... not sure why this is happening. If I use wicd-curses it also happens a lot faster, will sit there and rescan continuously. any ideas on that? I don't even know where to start...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum