Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
What does /etc/conf.d/networks do? Need bridged eth0/wlan0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jeffk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 671

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:37 pm    Post subject: What does /etc/conf.d/networks do? Need bridged eth0/wlan0 Reply with quote

I need to set up bridged eth0 and wlan0 for the benefit of my qemu-kvm windows guest.

I see a some applicable commented-out commands in /etc/conf.d/networks, owned by openrc-0.8.0.

If those commands were to be uncommented and adapted, I presume something runs them at boot time.

Are these commands something that would get run every time an interface service starts?

Thanks, just looking for a decent way to do this. I've let wicd handle my laptop's networking for a long time and haven't kept up with Gentoo's openrc changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BradN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2391
Location: Wisconsin (USA)

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure, but I think basic ethernet bridging used to be handled by conf.d/net - perhaps there's something useful in an example file there as well. But, if things have moved to using a networks file instead, maybe that's the better place to do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd imagine something like this in /etc/conf.d/net might work

Code:

bridge_br0="eth0 wlan0"
brctl_br0=( "setfd 0" "sethello 0" "stp off" )
rc_need_br0="net.eth0 net.wlan0"

config_br0=( "192.168.1.85/24" )
routes_br0=( "default via 192.168.1.1" )
dns_domain_br0="yourdomain.com"
dns_servers_br0="192.168.1.1"
dns_search_br0="yourdomain.com"

config_wlan0=( "null" )
config_eth0=( "null" )


you'd need the requisite support for bridging in the kernel, need config_tun, need to emerge bridge-utils, and need to symlink init scripts for net.eth0 and net.wlan0

Now, as to whether or not you'll actually have a functional network after this? I can't say. And some wifi cards don't support bridging.

But that's more or less how one would set up the bridge. I derived that from my setup of tap interfaces for KVM, so, untested, usual disclaimers apply

I'm not even sure you need to add wlan0 to the bridge
I would think it would be enough to just add eth0 to br0, and then add tap0,tap1, etc to br0
then when you need wireless? handle it just as you would normally.

since you ARE using this for KVM, maybe posting my full /etc/conf.d/net might be something for you to work from:

Code:


bridge_br0="eth0 tap0 tap1 tap2 tap3"
brctl_br0=( "setfd 0" "sethello 0" "stp off" )
rc_need_br0="net.tap0 net.tap1 net.tap2 net.tap3"

config_br0=( "192.168.1.85/24" )
routes_br0=( "default via 192.168.1.1" )
dns_domain_br0="mydomain.com"
dns_servers_br0="192.168.1.1"
dns_search_br0="mydomain.com"

config_tap0=( "null" )
tuntap_tap0="tap"
tunctl_tap0="-u myuser"
mac_tap0="52:54:00:12:34:56"

config_tap1=( "null" )
tuntap_tap1="tap"
tunctl_tap1="-u myuser"
mac_tap1="52:54:00:12:34:57"

config_tap2=( "null" )
tuntap_tap2="tap"
tunctl_tap2="-u myuser"
mac_tap2="52:54:00:12:34:58"

config_tap3=( "null" )
tuntap_tap3="tap"
tunctl_tap3="-u myuser"
mac_tap3="52:54:00:12:34:59"

config_eth0=( "null" )

_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum