Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Internet Problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
brianmm64
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Mar 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:05 pm    Post subject: Internet Problems Reply with quote

Hi I am new to Gentoo. I recently emerged openoffice, and now when I go on a webbrowser (Firefox)or default
I get an error ( server not found). I can still ping, DNS still works. My webbrowsers worked before I emerged. Could anyone help?
In plain english like I said this is all new.Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

login as root and type
Quote:
ifconfig
and post it here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brianmm64
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Mar 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:33 pm    Post subject: Internet problems Reply with quote

Ok this is what I came up with. My internet works fine. I start my laptop and can surf the net with the default webbrowser (Epiphany).
If I close out epiphany and start firefox I get an error cannot load page server not found. After this happens I cannot access the web anymore from a webbrowser firefox or epiphany both of them now tell me problem loading page server not found. If I restart my computrer I can use Epiphany as long as I dont try to use firefox. if I do I lose both. anyIdeas..Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snooze86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've a similar one.

Firefox says "no server found"

when I use "ping" to ping a domain like google.com everything works fine. Also connecting to a vpn is no problem.

Firefox and some other Programms like gpodder, emerge and konquerer doesn't find any server while using their domain name to connect.

With one exception, Firefox has no Problem to connect to "heise.de", all the other domain like google.com don't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amity88
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 246
Location: Third planet from the Sun

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the ping still work after you use firefox? if it doesn't check if you can ping an ip address....
_________________
Ant P. wrote:
The enterprise distros sell their binaries. Canonical sells their users.


Also... Be ignorant... Be happy! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ianw1974
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Oct 2006
Posts: 387
Location: UK and Poland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had this as well, Firefox is probably trying to use IPV6 and can't for some reason. In the url bar type:

Code:
about:config


then filter for ipv6 and enable it to disable IPV6 functionality (network.dns.disableIPv6). Chances are Firefox will then work. Happened for me after installing Firefox 4 today on one of my systems. Yet Firefox 3.x previously was fine.

Of course, sooner or later, IPV6 will need to be used, and then you'll need to re-enable and then fix whatever issue it is on your network for IPV6 and why it's not working.
_________________
Ian Walker

Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.........

Linux Systems Limited | Masternode Monitoring
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2630

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar situation. My firewall was the culprit.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snooze86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great, disabling IPV6 work. But why?

When I use my notebook in another network it works all fine, without disabling IPV6. Only in one Network I have problems with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snooze86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so after I had removed ipv6 out of the kernel and added the useflag -ipv6 in /etc/make.conf and reemerged the programmes, everything seems to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15999

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Snooze86 wrote:
Great, disabling IPV6 work. But why?

When I use my notebook in another network it works all fine, without disabling IPV6. Only in one Network I have problems with it.
On the network where you had trouble, IPv6 support is broken. Therefore, attempting to use IPv6 will cause problems. Some networks are especially bad about IPv6 support and fail in a way that does not allow applications to quickly recognize that IPv6 support is broken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snooze86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, so updating the router firmware could fix the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15999

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Snooze86 wrote:
ok, so updating the router firmware could fix the problem?
It might, if the newer firmware has better IPv6 support and if that is the only problem. It is possible that the device upstream of your router also mishandles IPv6, in which case a firmware upgrade would at most get you one hop farther before things break.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum