View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ronstudio
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wish I can add something from a newbie perspective.

As a newbie, I want to stress the importance of good documentation... What attracts me to come to Gentoo Linux was because of its good documentation and the steps that it took to install and configure a system, which in turn gives me a far larger satisfaction than just running those no-brainer GUI installer. You would find yourself learning a lot by following the steps and having the document telling you why to do so, how to do so and what is the result.

As a newbie, I think this is what ArchLinux attractive to new people.

Recently, as seriously determined to learn more about Linux, I have been removing the Windows from my desktop, forcing myself to learn and use Linux. I spent a few months to get this done. (Why takes so long?) Well, wish you may remember a few months ago it is not possible to install Gento Linux successfully by just following the Handbook or installation guide. I finally got the installation successful by seeing the forum that I need to del something like /dev/null.

To my surprise, this issue has been happening over several months after checking the forum! In that case, why not saying anything in the documentation or providing any link to the forum of the solution in Installation guide?? Does Gentoo care about new users??? Or is Gentoo now restricted to the people who know what they are doing only? But I have to thanks the people actively helping others in Forum, which I finally got my system running.