Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[xorg-1.9.3 & nvidia 260] Monitor "out of range" [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Theasker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Location: Zaragoza (Spain)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:05 am    Post subject: [xorg-1.9.3 & nvidia 260] Monitor "out of range&quo Reply with quote

After an update to xorg-1.7 to 1.9 and nvidia-drivers-195 to 260, when I "startx"the monitor is out of range.

I tried to follow the upgrade guides xorg 1.8 and xorg 1.9 and now this is my [http://pastebin.com/6dVzcq5B]xorg.conf[/url]. I have also tried to leave only the "device" and is the same problem.

These are the configuration files and logs:

.config --> http://pastebin.com/mSBEz79L
xorg.conf --> http://pastebin.com/6dVzcq5B
/var/log/messages (tail -n 20) --> http://pastebin.com/zhK16889
make.conf --> http://pastebin.com/N9P3whQK
thanks in advance for your help and sorry for my english
_________________
"Oigo y olvido. Veo y recuerdo. Hago y comprendo"


Last edited by Theasker on Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6250
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
nvidia-xconfig
gives me an /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Quote:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 260.19.29 (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-04.nvidia.com) Wed Dec 8 12:27:39 PST 2010


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from data in "/etc/conf.d/gpm"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Unknown"
HorizSync 28.0 - 33.0
VertRefresh 43.0 - 72.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
for a very similar 8600gt. suggest running
Code:
nvidia-xconfig

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theasker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Location: Zaragoza (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is my file generated by nvidia-xconfig

Code:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 260.19.29  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-04.nvidia.com)  Wed Dec  8 12:27:39 PST 2010

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from data in "/etc/conf.d/gpm"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection


but the result is the same :(, I do not know what happens
_________________
"Oigo y olvido. Veo y recuerdo. Hago y comprendo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6250
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
[*] Enable firmware EDID
May be all you need
Do you have a matrox video card as well as an nvidia card?
Make(s) and model(s) of monitors?
add udev policykit consolekit to USE=
Code:

emerge -uND world
emerge consolekit dbus hal policykit udev
rc-update add consolekit default
rc-update add dbus default
rc-update add hald default
rc-update add udev-postmount default
rc-update add udev sysinit #if openrc/baselayout2

Code:
cd /usr/src/linux;make menuconfig
edit menuconfig to:
Quote:
Graphics support --->
-*- /dev/agpgart (AGP Support) --->
--- /dev/agpgart (AGP Support)
< > AMD Opteron/Athlon64 on-CPU GART support
<*> Intel 440LX/BX/GX, I8xx and E7x05 chipset support
< > SiS chipset support
< > VIA chipset support
-*- VGA Arbitration
(2) Maximum number of GPUs
[ ] Laptop Hybrid Graphics - GPU switching support #* if you have laptop with two vga cards
< > Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) --->
<*> Lowlevel video output switch controls
<*> Support for frame buffer devices --->
--- Support for frame buffer devices
[*] Enable firmware EDID
[ ] Framebuffer foreign endianness support --->
-*- Enable Video Mode Handling Helpers
[*] Enable Tile Blitting Support
*** Frame buffer hardware drivers ***
< > Cirrus Logic support
< > Permedia2 support
< > CyberPro 2000/2010/5000 support
< > Arc Monochrome LCD board support
[ ] Asiliant (Chips) 69000 display support
[ ] IMS Twin Turbo display support
< > VGA 16-color graphics support
< > Userspace VESA VGA graphics support
[ ] VESA VGA graphics support
[ ] EFI-based Framebuffer Support
< > N411 Apollo/Hecuba devkit support
< > Hercules mono graphics support
< > Epson S1D13XXX framebuffer support
< > nVidia Framebuffer Support
< > nVidia Riva support
< > Intel LE80578 (Vermilion) support
< > Matrox acceleration
< > ATI Radeon display support
< > ATI Rage128 display support
< > ATI Mach64 display support
< > S3 Trio/Virge support
< > S3 Savage support
< > SiS/XGI display support
< > VIA UniChrome (Pro) and Chrome9 display support
< > NeoMagic display support
< > IMG Kyro support
< > 3Dfx Banshee/Voodoo3/Voodoo5 display support
< > 3Dfx Voodoo Graphics (sst1) support
< > VIA VT8623 support
< > Trident/CyberXXX/CyberBlade support
< > ARK 2000PV support
< > Permedia3 support (EXPERIMENTAL)
< > Fujitsu carmine frame buffer support
[ ] AMD Geode family framebuffer support (EXPERIMENTAL)
< > Virtual Frame Buffer support (ONLY FOR TESTING!)
< > E-Ink Metronome/8track controller support
< > Fujitsu MB862xx GDC support
< > E-Ink Broadsheet/Epson S1D13521 controller support
[*] Backlight & LCD device support --->
--- Backlight & LCD device support
< > Lowlevel LCD controls
-*- Lowlevel Backlight controls
<*> Generic (aka Sharp Corgi) Backlight Driver
< > Frontpath ProGear Backlight Driver
< > MacBook Pro Nvidia Backlight Driver
< > Tabletkiosk Sahara Touch-iT Backlight Driver
Display device support --->
Console display driver support --->
-*- VGA text console
*] Enable Scrollback Buffer in System RAM
(1024) Scrollback Buffer Size (in KB)
<*> Framebuffer Console support
[ ] Map the console to the primary display device
[ ] Framebuffer Console Rotation
[ ] Select compiled-in fonts
[*] Bootup logo --->
--- Bootup logo
[ ] Standard black and white Linux logo
[ ] Standard 16-color Linux logo
[*] Standard 224-color Linux logo
ensure /boot partition is mounted, recompile and recopy the kernel,
Code:
emerge -av xorg-server $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)
nvidia-xconfig
If still fails
Code:
wgetpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
lspci -k | wgetpaste
and post url's
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2083
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post your /var/log/Xorg.0.log
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.9.1-zen, eudev
glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, xorg-server-1.15, lxde, nouveau, oss4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theasker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Location: Zaragoza (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a hp proliant 110 g5 which has a 32-Gb matrox integrated and I've put a nvidia GeForce 8400 GS PCI-express x1 slot into a x8 PCI-express, but it works perfectly. My intention is to use a monitor on each card and tv out nvidia for the tv, but that when runnin

The monitors are:

The main --> HITACHI CRT cm813ET Plus 21 inch. --> nvidia
The second --> ACER LCD 19 inch. (until it works without using any) --> matrox

after updating the kernel options i replaced the new kernel y boot partition and I restarted.

Code:
emerge -va consolekit dbus hal policykit udev
rc-status default
rc-update add consolekit default
rc-update add dbus default
/etc/init.d/consolekit start
/etc/init.d/dbus start

cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
make && make modules_install
mount /boot
cp arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/gentoo-2.6.36-r5
reboot

nvidia-xconfig
#login with the normal user
startx


/var/log/Xorg.0.log
lspci -k
_________________
"Oigo y olvido. Veo y recuerdo. Hago y comprendo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6250
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks like the crt does not provide edid info, suggest connecting acer monitor to the nvidia card running nvidia-xconfig and testing. xorg log looks ok to me.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theasker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Location: Zaragoza (Spain)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xorg log
xorg.conf generated by nevidia-xconfig

thx again in advance
_________________
"Oigo y olvido. Veo y recuerdo. Hago y comprendo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2179
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Theasker,
Have a look at this post:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-825672-highlight-acer.html
If your card has a VGA outlet try connecting to it.

Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has midori to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theasker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Location: Zaragoza (Spain)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my card has vga out and s-video output, no DVI or anything, so I connect my monitor to the only possible solution.

This is my card
_________________
"Oigo y olvido. Veo y recuerdo. Hago y comprendo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2179
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well then I don't know how to solve your problem.
Sorry.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has midori to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theasker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Location: Zaragoza (Spain)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I searched for a distribution of Linux that have xorg-server 1.9.3 and nvidia-drivers 260 and I tested 2, SystemRescue (xorg-server 1.9.3 + nouveau) and chakra (xorg-server 1.9.3 + nvidia-drivers 260) and X in SystemRescue work perfectly with the free nouveau driver but when you start distributing chakra same thing happens on my computer.

This proves what I believe is that the nvidia driver 260 has some kind of bug with my card.
_________________
"Oigo y olvido. Veo y recuerdo. Hago y comprendo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matteo Azzali
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1133

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same exact issue of acer screen not finding resolution, but checking dmesg I found also :
Code:

an 27 19:54:24 galaxy kernel: [   10.921694] NVRM: loading NVIDIA UNIX x86_64 Kernel Module  260.19.29  Wed Dec  8 12:08:56 PST 2010
Jan 27 19:54:31 galaxy kernel: [   22.259657] NVRM: API mismatch: the client has the version 260.19.36, but
Jan 27 19:54:31 galaxy kernel: [   22.259659] NVRM: this kernel module has the version 260.19.29.  Please
Jan 27 20:01:28 galaxy kernel: [   11.009018] NVRM: loading NVIDIA UNIX x86_64 Kernel Module  260.19.29  Wed Dec  8 12:08:56 PST 2010

rollbacking worked so I'll cross my finger for a fixing update (I'm using a laptop so there's no way to change screen).

Do you happens to have the same message in dmesg? Anyone knows if it's related and/or useful?
_________________
Every day a new distro comes to birth. Every day a distro "eats" another.
If you're born distro, no matter what, start to run.
---- http://www.linuxprinting.org/ ---- http://tuxmobil.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theasker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Location: Zaragoza (Spain)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is my dmesg
_________________
"Oigo y olvido. Veo y recuerdo. Hago y comprendo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matteo Azzali
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1133

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found the thing (here)!!
I rechecked emerge logs and noticed there was an issue with portage not founding System.map in my
/usr/src/linux dir, so I recompiled the kernel from start and this time nvidia-drivers-xxx.36 version got added to moduledb and
everything is starting, so it looks that in my case the "monitor out of range" one was not the real issue but just a consequence of
a module not being loaded.
_________________
Every day a new distro comes to birth. Every day a distro "eats" another.
If you're born distro, no matter what, start to run.
---- http://www.linuxprinting.org/ ---- http://tuxmobil.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theasker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Location: Zaragoza (Spain)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will review all options in my kernel xx.36, but not if I know where the error if any, and rebuild it again, but I've done this several times, but it's okay to try again.

Thanks for the help
_________________
"Oigo y olvido. Veo y recuerdo. Hago y comprendo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theasker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Location: Zaragoza (Spain)

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All is ok but with nouveau and 1024x768 only.

This is my xorg.conf
_________________
"Oigo y olvido. Veo y recuerdo. Hago y comprendo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theasker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Location: Zaragoza (Spain)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

in xorg.0.log are some lines

Code:

[    51.989] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Not using mode "1600x1200" (hsync out of range)
.....
[    51.990] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Not using default mode "1600x1200" (unknown reason)

another

but always I've used this resolution:

1600 x 1200 with 110 Mhz

How I can always have my resolution?
_________________
"Oigo y olvido. Veo y recuerdo. Hago y comprendo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theasker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Location: Zaragoza (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the solution

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=2395507#post2395507
_________________
"Oigo y olvido. Veo y recuerdo. Hago y comprendo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum