Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
wireless problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:20 pm    Post subject: wireless problems Reply with quote

Hi,
i have the current Gentoo x86 on my Asus Netbook 1005HA, gnome and so on are all going only WLAN doesnt work.

I have used the Kernel Options of the wiki specially to my netbook, so the kernel is not the problem.. also the ath5k module is succesfully loaded by booting.
Now to the problem, i have emerged wicd and the GUI works, starts with booting.
The problem is that wicd doesnt find any wireless networks, i think the problem is in the wicd config.
In /etc/init.d/ there also only net.eth0 and no net.ath0 or something like that, how do i know configure wicd to use the right modules/drivers and what do i have to do to this?
i have emerged following thins: wpa_supplicant, wicd, gnome

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nobody an idea :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1873
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:15 pm    Post subject: Try another network manager Reply with quote

I never got Wicd to work. I would suggest you try NetworkManager + nm-applet. I have a feeling Wicd is broken.
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
OpenRC eudev elogind & KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

should i unmerge wpa_supplicant also?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1873
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can leave wpa_supplicant installed.

Remeber to delete wicd from default runlevel and add NetworkManager to the default runlevel.
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
OpenRC eudev elogind & KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have unmerged wicd and wpa_supplicant
now theres Networkmanager in gnome but i still have do give moduls on.
There: eth0, and lo both are not wlan
so i have to add wlan0 or ath0 but how do i do this?
or do i have to change the /etc/conf.d/net and give a special modul?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deadly Assassin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 46
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no need for an initscript for your WLAN device if you are using wicd.

I am using wicd at my Eee PC 1000H with Arch Linux.
If you want to use wicd you have to delete NetworkManager from the default runlevel and add wicd. ;)
Are you sure you WLAN device is working correctly?

Try to find a WLAN-Network
Code:
iwlist scan


Find the right device with
Code:
ifconfig -a

and set it in the wicd config menu.

If your WLAN device works correctly you should be able to use wicd now.
_________________
Human knowledge belongs to the world!
BluePanel - Source that matters…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ewaller
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 264
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you post the output of the following commands:

sudo lspci
sudo iwconfig -a
sudo iwlist scan


Let's see if we can get the card going by hand before automating it.

Edit: I missed Deadly Assassin's post. Never-the-less, the output of iwlist is important.
_________________
Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

iwlist scan
lo Interface doesnt support scanning
dummy0 interfacse doesnt support scanning
eth0 interface doesnt support scanning

iwconfig
no wireless extensions by all three devices

iwconfig -a
no such device

Network Controller: Atheros Communications Inc AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deadly Assassin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 46
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The WLAN device doesn't seem to be installed.
Did you enabled the driver and WLAN support in your kernelconfig?
If you added the driver as a module did you start this module?
_________________
Human knowledge belongs to the world!
BluePanel - Source that matters…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Modules (ath5k) are succesfully loaded i used http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Asus_Eee_PC_1000HA howto, so i am thinking it should work but i can post the kernel config if you seem to see an error in my config

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ewaller
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 264
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lets back up a step to make sure we are not chasing ghosts.

Could you post the output of:
lspci
and
lspci -n

So we can be certain of your hardware
Thanks
_________________
Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

postet alread but ok...:
lspci
Network Controller: Atheros Communications Inc AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)
lspci -n
82:00.0 0280: 168c:002b (rev 01)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

seems theres an error in the wiki...
So i enabled to ath5k ath9k modules
now i get next to lo, eth0, and dummy also wlan0

so:
iwconfig gives out:
wlan0 no wireless extensions

so we now got our device but stillt doesnt work, even wlan0 is now there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deadly Assassin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 46
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which kernel version do you use?
Maybe your device is not supported in your version.

See also here: http://www.linux-club.de/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=103338

Edit:
Is your wirelesscard in your BIOS enabled?
_________________
Human knowledge belongs to the world!
BluePanel - Source that matters…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.6.36-r5
Its definetly supported..
On Ubuntu no problem, the asus netbook is nothing exotical, iwconfig gives me the device as an output - its just somethin missing....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ewaller
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 264
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what if you throw caution to the wind and try:

ifconfig wlan0 up

followed by the iwlist scan command?

This may or may not be relevant: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-840634-start-0.html

I am gone for about 3 hours...
_________________
Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ewaller doesnt work, youre thread doesnt work either :(

somebody als an idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ewaller
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 264
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, very well...

Does this thread help? Take note of the kernel configuration changes near the end
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-842867-start-0.html
_________________
Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Besides the information I sent you in my PM, I would like to see the following:

-full contents of /etc/fstab
-full output of lspci -n
-full output of /proc/cpuinfo
-your kernel .config put onto pastebin
-output of ls -l /usr/src/linux

Just to recap since nobody reading this thread can see in private, I had him go step by step testing each piece

-make sure dhcpcd and wpa_supplicant are the latest build (newer kernels need dhcpcd 5)
-modprobe ath9k and check for errors in dmesg
-test wpa_supplicant from the command-line with a simple small .conf file to make sure association works (if fail, check kernel configuration)
-test dhcpcd to make sure it can get an IP (if fail in spite of everything else, check again which version of dhcpcd - and check your cable!)

When he tries wpa_supplicant from the command-line he gets:

Code:

ioctl[SIOCSIWMODE]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCGIWRANGE]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCGIWMODE]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWAP]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODE]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODE]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODE]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODE]: Operation not supported
ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Operation not supported
Failed to initiate AP scan.
ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Operation not supported
Failed to initiate AP scan.


So I'm suspecting a problem with his kernel - ath9k is one of the easier drivers/cards to deal with, so if the kernel is correct, and wpa_supplicant/dhcpcd are the correct versions, it should "just work"

I have a machine that runs ath9k, but I haven't updated the kernel in forever - so I'm doing an update right now, and will share my config once it's done and everything is working correctly.
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

used a example config from kernel-seeds + the wiki about my netbook#

so config can be seen here:
http://paste.pocoo.org/show/323174/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

any idea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selberbauer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

solution:

there where missing some encryption libs und ->network->wlan->cfg, lib, i think now it works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum