Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wireless not working (RTL 8187B adapter)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
drogin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:02 pm    Post subject: Wireless not working (RTL 8187B adapter) Reply with quote

I have a wirleless RTL 8187B USB adapter.
I have compiled my kernel with the driver built-in(not as a module).
I'm trying to connect to an SSID with WPA, so I read wpa_supplicant was the way to go.


relevant info from lsusb gives:
Code:

Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0bda:8197 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8187B Wireless Adapter


During startup, it says:
Quote:

Starting wlan0
Loading networking modules for wlan0
modules: apipa arping ccwgroup macchanger macnet rename ifplugd wpa_supplicant essidnet iptunnel ifconfig system dhcpcd ip6to4
ifplugd provides plug
wpa_supplucant provides wireless
ifconfig provides interface
dhcpcd provides dhcp

Configuring wlan0 for MAC address XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX ... (X'es are numbers)
Starting wpa_supplicant on wlan0
starting wpa_cli on wlan0
Waiting for association
Backgrounding...



To check that the driver was present,
this is the output from dmesg | grep 8187
Code:

[2.330368] usbcore: registered new interface driver rtl8187
[2.789838] rtl8187: 1-2:1.0: usb_probe_interface
[2.789841] rtl8187: 1-2:1.0: usb_probe_interface - got id
[3.073074] phy0: hwaddr 00:16:44:7b:6c:2e, RTL8187BvE V0 + rtl8225z2, rfkill mask2
[3.094773] rtl8187: Customer ID is 0x04
[3.095015] Registered led device rtl8187-phy0::radio
[3.095114] Registered led device rtl8187-phy0::tx
[3.095886] rtl8187: wireless switch is on


iwconfig gives:
Code:

wlan0      IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"my SSID"
Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.457 Ghz    Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry long limit: 7   RTS thr:off    Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off


iwlist scan lists all the nearby wirless networks correctly.

dmesg | grep wlan0 | less gives:
Code:

[19.612628] wlan0: link is not ready
[22.276423] wlan0: direct probe to XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX (try1)
... and A LOT OF THOSE, all to the same address (Is this address what you call mac address?),
going to try2, try3, timed out.


So it seems like something is working, but then not quite.
It seems it is able(after a lot of tries) to probe, authenticate, but always times out when associating.
In general there's a whole lot of timeouts..but I dunno..maybe thats normal.

Anyone know what the problem could be?


Last edited by drogin on Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7635
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

assuming dhcp is desired:
what result does
Code:
dhcpcd wlan0
produce?
if that appears to run correctly,what does
Code:
iwconfig
produce?

baselayout1 or baselayout2 and openrc?
wicd?
networkmanager?
wpa_gui?
plain old gentoo networking?

Code:
cat /etc/conf.d/net
produces?
Code:
cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
produces?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drogin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
what result does dhcpcd wlan0 produce?

It produces this:
Code:

dhcpcd[3994]: version 5.2.8 starting
dhcpcd[3994]: wlan0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd[3994]: timed out
dhcpcd[3994]: allowing 8 seconds for IPv4LL timeout
dhcpcd[3994]: timed out


Quote:

if that appears to run correctly,what does iwconfig produce?

This was included in my original post :)

Quote:


baselayout1 or baselayout2 and openrc?
wicd?
networkmanager?
wpa_gui?
plain old gentoo networking?

I'm new to Gentoo(just went from Ubuntu to Gentoo).
I have only installed x86_64 with stage 3 tarball.
No GUI/X/Network manager etc yet.
As for baselayout 1 / baselayout 2, I've never understood what that actually is, how to get it, or if I already got one of them.
So I guess it's "plain old gentoo networking"

my /etc/conf.d/net looks like this:
Code:

config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
essid_wlan0="my SSID"


/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf looks like this:
Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant

ctrl_interface_group=0

ap_scan=1

fast_reauth=1

network={
 ssid="my SSID"
 psk="the password"
 priority=5
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7635
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

need content from
Code:
iwlist scan

feel free to hide/fake/delete mac address
Code:
wpa_gui
produces?
are you intending to use wep or wpa or wpa2
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drogin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

content from iwlist scan:
Code:

wlan0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
 Channel:10
 Frequency:2.457 GHz(Channel 10)
 Quality=64/70  Signal level=-46 dBm
 Encryption key:on
 ESSID:"my SSID"
 Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
               9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
 Bit Rates:24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
 Mode: Master
 Extra:tsf=00000154eee819b
 Extra: Last beacon: 441ms ago
 IE: Unknown: 0007536F6F6E20414C
 IE: Unknown 010882848b960C121824
 IE: Unknown: 03010A
 IE: Unknown: 2A0100
 IE: Unknown: 32943048606C
 IE: WPA Version 1
      Group cipher : TKIP
      Pairwise Ciphers (2) : TKIP CCMP
      Authentication Suites (1) : PSK



wpa_gui is not installed.
(Im guessing from it's name that it require X or something...I havent installed any graphical stuff yet).
For now, I only want to do WPA, which is what our wireless router is using, I belive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7635
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try a wpa_supplicant.conf of
Quote:
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1


network={
mode=0
ssid="my SSID"
psk="abcdefgh"
proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=TKIP CCMP
}

Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drogin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still same problem.

dhcpcd wlan0 times out waiting for carrier.

dmesg | grep wlan0 gives that it manage to authenticate, but it times out on association.
It also gives this:
Code:

[    18.462554] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7635
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
produces? If no output

Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drogin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iwconfig wlan0 mode managed produces no output.

/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start produces:
Warning: net.wlan0 has already been started

/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart produces:
Code:

Stopping wlan0
Loading networking modules for wlan0
modules: apipa arping ccwgroup macchanger macnet rename ifplugd wpa_supplicant essidnet iptunnel ifconfig system dhcpcd ip6to4
ifplugd provides plug
wpa_supplicant provides wireless
ifconfig provides interface
dhcpcd provides dhcp
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Uknown error 132
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Uknown error 132
Configuring wlan0 for MAC address xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
ifplugd does not work on wireless interfaces
starting wpa_supplicant on wlan0
starting wpa_cli on wlan0
waiting for association
backgrounding...


iwconfig wlan0 mode managed still produces no output.

EDIT: Got rid of the Uknown error 132's, by recompiling kernel without RFKILL switch support.
However, I still have the same problems as before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7635
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

add
Quote:
iwconfig_wlan0="mode managed"
to /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start
produces ?
Code:
iwlist scan
says what about mode?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drogin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start
produces
Code:

warning: net.wlan0 has already been started.


/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
produces
Code:

starting wlan0
Loading networking modules for wlan0
modules: apipa arping ccwgroup macchanger macnet rename ifplugd wpa_supplicant essidnet iptunnel ifconfig system dhcpcd ip6to4
ifplugd provides plug
wpa_supplicant provides wireless
ifconfig provides interface
dhcpcd provides dhcp
Configuring wlan0 for MAC address xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
ifplugd does not work on wireless interfaces
starting wpa_supplicant on wlan0
starting wpa_cli on wlan0
waiting for association
backgrounding...


iwlist scan says about mode:
Cell 01 - (The one I want to connect to).
Mode: Master
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drogin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I emerged gnome, and from gnome it works perfectly.
I guess gnome must've had some network package dependencies or something.
Not sure why it didnt work on "old plain gentoo" though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7635
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good for you.
An interesting gnome side effect.
If you have(had) USE="qt4" when you emerge(d) wpa_supplicant you have wpa_gui available as a terminal command and at Applications-->Internet-->WPA Supplicant Administration GUI. A decent graphic network manager that works with plain old gentoo networking.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum