Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
net.wlan0 missing
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ryuzaki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 96
Location: N/A

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:20 am    Post subject: net.wlan0 missing Reply with quote

I know I'm missing something drop dead obvious, but for the life of me I can't figure it out. it appears that my net.wlan0 does not exist. when I look in /etc/init.d/ the only things starting with net are net.eth0, net.eth1 and net.lo.
Did I miss something in make menuconfig? Like having my Atheros Wireless Card not configured as a Module?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JC99
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 782
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try creating it by running the following command in the /etc/init.d/ directory...

Code:
ln -s net.lo net.wlan0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ryuzaki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 96
Location: N/A

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JC99 wrote:
Try creating it by running the following command in the /etc/init.d/ directory...

Code:
ln -s net.lo net.wlan0

That got it in there, but when ever I try to run a made script to connetc (that has worked before every time it has been used) and I get this result:
Quote:
wlan0: ERROR while getting interfaces flags: No such device
Error for wireless request "Set ESSID" (8B1A) :
SET failed on device wlan0 ; No such device.
wlan0: dhcpcd 4.0.15 starting
wlan0: read_interface: No such device
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ewaller
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 264
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post the output of ifconfig -a ??
_________________
Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sergey.T
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you post lspci output and kernel config?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ryuzaki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 96
Location: N/A

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ewaller wrote:
Can you post the output of ifconfig -a ??

The only headdings that come up are lo and sit0. I tried # ifconfig up wlan0 and # ifconfig up net.wlan0 and got this:
Quote:
wlan0: Host name lookup failure
ifconfig: '--help' gives usage information.

I'm thinking that this has something to do with improper configuration of the kernel. So if that's the case, do I do make menuconfig and if so, what am I supposed to do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ryuzaki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 96
Location: N/A

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sergey.T wrote:
Could you post lspci output and kernel config?
Umm... lspci doesn't exist on the system.
Quote:
# lspci
-bash: lspci: command not found

And this is dumb, but I don't know how to post a kernel config... >_<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ewaller
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 264
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ryuzaki wrote:
The only headdings that come up are lo and sit0.

In that case, your kernel is not aware of either a wired or a wireless LAN.

Can you post the pci configuration requested by Sergey.T?

Edit: I see our replies passed each other in flight. Since you cannot post the output of lspci, how about the output of cat /proc/bus/pci/devices
_________________
Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JC99
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 782
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ryuzaki wrote:
Umm... lspci doesn't exist on the system.


Code:
emerge pciutils


...you should now be able to run lspci
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ewaller
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 264
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JC99 wrote:
Ryuzaki wrote:
Umm... lspci doesn't exist on the system.


Code:
emerge pciutils


...you should now be able to run lspci


The only problem is that he does not seem to have a wired LAN either :/ (See the edit to my last post)
_________________
Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ryuzaki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 96
Location: N/A

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah but that's ok. I'll just chroot in through a Live Disk and do it through there. Same results yes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ewaller
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 264
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ryuzaki wrote:
Same results yes?
yes
_________________
Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ryuzaki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 96
Location: N/A

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright here you are, go nuts =P
Quote:
# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RX780/RX790 Chipset Host Bridge
00:04.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port A)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port F)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 40)
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 41)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 IDE Controller (rev 40)
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller (rev 40)
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge (rev 40)
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:15.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Device 43a0
00:15.1 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Device 43a1
00:16.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:16.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Link Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G96 [GeForce 9500 GT] (rev a1)
02:00.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation Device 0194 (rev 03)
03:06.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. Atheros AR5001X+ Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
04:00.0 IDE interface: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB368 IDE controller
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JC99
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 782
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also use an atheros wireless card and here is what I have in my kernel...

Quote:
Device Drivers ---> Network device support ---> Wireless LAN ---> <*> Atheros Wireless Cards ---> <*> Atheros 5xxx wireless cards support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ewaller
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Aug 2005
Posts: 264
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While you are in there, check the following:
Code:

Device Drivers  --->
   [*] Network device support  --->
       [*]   Ethernet (1000 Mbit) (NEW)  --->
           <*>   Realtek 8169 gigabit ethernet support


If that and JC99s suggestion do not conjure up eth0 and wlan0, then perhaps it's time to summon up pappy_mcfae :-)
_________________
Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ryuzaki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 96
Location: N/A

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JC99 wrote:
I also use an atheros wireless card and here is what I have in my kernel...

Quote:
Device Drivers ---> Network device support ---> Wireless LAN ---> <*> Atheros Wireless Cards ---> <*> Atheros 5xxx wireless cards support

I've already got the "Atheros Wireless Cards" menu starred (should it be a module???). It has been set this way when the problem was & is going on. And under that menu there is:
Quote:
[*] Atheors wireless debuggin
<*> Atheros 5xxx wireless cards support
[*] Atheros 5xxx debugging
<*> Atheros 802.11n wireless cards support
[*] Atheros ath9k debugging
<*> AR9170 802.11n USB support
And yes I did star all of them. Any error in that info? Like if something is supposed to be a module, or not selected...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sergey.T
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ryuzaki wrote:
And this is dumb, but I don't know how to post a kernel config... >_<


kernel config is /usr/src/linux/.config

But please do not paste it as a message, use special services, for instance, http://paste-it.net.

Also, run

Code:

/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart


and then paste dmesg output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum