Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
powerdns setup
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
donjames
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Location: 32°9'50" N 94°50'54" W

PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 7:09 pm    Post subject: powerdns setup Reply with quote

Hi folks,

If anyone out there is running powerdns, I surely could use a little help.

I got powerdns emerged, made the test database according to the documentation and got it to start in the monitor mode. Everything tests out correctly.

Are there examples for configuring recursor.conf?

recursor would not run with the default configuration file, recursor.conf.

Are there examples for adding SOA records to the mysql database? I have apache and phpmyadmin running.

Sincerely,

Don James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nativemad
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 911
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

i can't help you with the soa records, as i use pdns with an ldap backend...

The only special thing regarding the recursor in pdns.conf is
Code:
recursor=127.0.0.1:5300

And i have:
Code:
# cat recursor.conf | grep -v ^# | grep -v "^$"
setuid=nobody
setgid=nobody
quiet=on
local-address=127.0.0.1
local-port=5300
chroot=/var/lib/powerdns


Hth, cheers
_________________
Power to the people!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donjames
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Location: 32°9'50" N 94°50'54" W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 1:27 am    Post subject: Re: powerdns setup Reply with quote

Hi folks,

I managed to get powerdns configured and running. I used poweradmin
to enter the zone data for my SOA zones.

However, when I check my configuration with http://www.intodns.com, I
get the following error:

SOA MNAME entry WARNING: SOA MNAME (donaldbjames.info) is not listed
as a primary nameserver at your parent nameserver!

My zone is donaldbjames.info. If you like, go to http://www.intodns.com
type in "donaldbjames.info" in the box at the top, click on "report",
wait a few minutes and then scroll down the page. You will see a
yellow box with a warning.

I am at a loss to figure out what setting is missing in my powerdns
setup.

Another thing: When I try to run the pdns-recursor, it won't start
while the SOA nameserver is running. They both bind to port 53. I
tried running the pdns-recursor on port 5300. It will start but won't
act as a caching nameserver.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Don James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum