Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
rt2500 wifi ssid
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PoltheMol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2002
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 8:27 am    Post subject: rt2500 wifi ssid Reply with quote

i managed to get my wifi-card working almost flawlesly. The only problem that still remains is that it simply refuses to take an essid i give it.

I now got it up and running using a workaround

first i do

iwconfig ra0 mode ad-hoc
iwconfig ra0 essid "essidnamethingie"
iwconfig ra0 mode managed

suddenly it does take the essid.

If I just do

iwconfig ra0 essid "essidnamethingie"

while it is in managed mode from bootup on, the essid just remains empty.

The rt2500config tool also offers no solution whatsoever, so if anyone can give me a little help here ;)

Running the latest 2.6.12-kernel, using the rt2500 drivers from emerge, configging of networkcard i do by hand
_________________
- signature for rent, for all your sp@m -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adrien
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 2295
Location: Bretagne

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same thing for me with a rt2500 card.
You'll have to perform a scan before assignin' an essid to your card otherwise, it won't let you.
Code:
# iwlist ra0 scan

then if you find any APs, you can do:
Code:
# iwconfig ra0 essid "your_essid"

and it should work. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PoltheMol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2002
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well the aps here don't advert their essid and it's no option to change that either.

With iwlist scanning it do so them just without their essid (doh :P)

So I really have to put an essid in it with iwconfig ra0 essid "stuff"

But there is no config option that I need to adept to this situation somewhere ?
_________________
- signature for rent, for all your sp@m -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PoltheMol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2002
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

-bump-
_________________
- signature for rent, for all your sp@m -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigfunkymo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rt2500 wifi drivers don't support iwconfig, use RAConfig2500
_________________
[No package... Grabbing a set.]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l_bratch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 494
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure? I use them with iwconfig as the machine I use it on stays in text mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frenkel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 1034
Location: .nl

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adrien wrote:
Same thing for me with a rt2500 card.
You'll have to perform a scan before assignin' an essid to your card otherwise, it won't let you.
Code:
# iwlist ra0 scan

then if you find any APs, you can do:
Code:
# iwconfig ra0 essid "your_essid"

and it should work. :)


That's not needed at all

bigfunkymo wrote:
rt2500 wifi drivers don't support iwconfig, use RAConfig2500


If you use the http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page drivers iwconfig _is_ supported and it works great. And with the official drivers you can always use iwpriv which is commandline also.
This is what I use, just give it some time, after about 1 minute my card works the way it should and it's rock stable.

My init script:
Code:

iwconfig ra0 key <mysecretkey> enc restricted
iwconfig ra0 essid "<myssid>"
ifconfig ra0 192.168.0.3
route add default gw 192.168.0.1


You don't need to set things like ad-hoc and managed, as those are defaults.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigfunkymo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To be more accurate, I should say that I screwed around with my RT2500 card for a full day with unpredictible results. Switching over to RAConfig2500 (and turning off the smaller stack size in the kernel config) made everythng work nicely. It was my assumption that the iwconfig interface wasn't fully supported by this driver.
_________________
[No package... Grabbing a set.]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bigfunkymo wrote:
It was my assumption that the iwconfig interface wasn't fully supported by this driver.


And the chances of us supporting the RT2500 interface are zero.
So go bitch to them to support wireless-tools better!
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PoltheMol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2002
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so if i understand everything right what is said here, the "script" i use should be correct somehow. Still a waste that i doens't work that well :(

Thanks for the reply anyhow ;)
_________________
- signature for rent, for all your sp@m -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frenkel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 1034
Location: .nl

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PoltheMol wrote:
so if i understand everything right what is said here, the "script" i use should be correct somehow. Still a waste that i doens't work that well :(

Thanks for the reply anyhow ;)

No, don't set the other things, just the essid:
iwconfig ra0 essid "essidnamethingie"
Then wait a few minutes and run a iwconfig ra0 to see if he's connected. And if that doesn't work, contact the guys at http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page or have a look at their forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petteyg359
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rt2500 driver does work with iwconfig, as long as you emerged the latest version. Also, though the site claims it doesn't work with preempt kernel, it works fine on my system with preempt enabled. Sometimes you need to run
Code:
ifconfig ra0 up
before you can change settings. Why on earth would you be running
Code:
iwconfig ra0 mode ad-hoc
if you're on a managed mode [/code]network?!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l_bratch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 494
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also use it with preempting...

They basically work with everything, there's nothing unusual about em.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frenkel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 1034
Location: .nl

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 6:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was what I was saying a few posts earlier.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum