Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ssh and nfs session freezes [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stegerpl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Location: 48°19'30"N 14°20'18"E

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:20 pm    Post subject: ssh and nfs session freezes [solved] Reply with quote

Hi,

frankly I don't know what I've done but suddently my ssh connection between two gentoo computers starts to freeze when I want to show more information.
The connection ist stable ( ssh root@computer2 ) and I can give commands with short outputs, but when I give a cat /etc/fstab or something similar, the connection freezes.

The same happens when I mount a nfs-share, I can change through the directories but when I give a cat it freezes again.

There is nothing in the logs of both computers. The problem was not there for the last three weeks during installation of computer2.

Any hints what's the reason for this strange behaviour? What should I post for you?

Peter
_________________
[1]... AMD Phenon X4-9950 on asus M3N78-EM with 4 GB of RAM - gentoo 10.1 - kernel 2.6.32 - kde 4.3.4
[2]... AMD Athlon XP 2500+ mobile on ASUS A7N8X with 512 kB RAM and 2xTT S-2300 - vdr-1.6.0 based on gentoo-2008.0


Last edited by stegerpl on Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15840

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How are the computers connected? What is the MTU between them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stegerpl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Location: 48°19'30"N 14°20'18"E

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a LAN network with CAT5 cables: Computer 1 <==> Netgear GBit Switch GS105 <==> Computer 2

On this Switch there is a third computer connected.

the /etc/conf.d/net are:

Computer1:
Code:
# Konfiguration des Netzwerkzuganges
#
# eth0 => Internet
# eth1 => LAN
#
# Variante alles mit statischen Adressen - ist deutlich schneller beim Booten
#
config_eth0=( "192.168.1.3/24")
routes_eth0=( "default via 192.168.1.1" )
mtu_eth0="1420"

config_eth1=( "192.168.140.8/24" )
routes_eth1=( "192.168.140.0 via 192.168.140.8" )
mtu_eth1="6000"

Computer2:
Code:
config_eth0=( "192.168.140.6/24" )
routes_eth0=( "default via 192.168.140.8" )
dns_servers_eth0=( "195.96.0.4"  "195.70.224.45" "213.90.38.3" )
mtu_eth0="6000"

On Computer1 side there is a D-Link System Inc DGE-530T Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (skge => eht1) on an ASUS M3N78-EM (MCP77 Ethernet => forcedth => eth0)
On Computer2 side there is the Realtek 8111E Gigabit LAN onboard ASUS M4A88TD-M/USB3 (r8169 => eth0)
On Computer3 side there is also a D-Link System Inc DGE-530T Gigabit Ethernet Adapter on an ASUS A7N8X-VM/400 also connected to the Gigabit Switch

By the way today the connection works again 8O - is it possible, that the bandwidth of the Switch is to low to handle all three computers with mtu 6000 ?
_________________
[1]... AMD Phenon X4-9950 on asus M3N78-EM with 4 GB of RAM - gentoo 10.1 - kernel 2.6.32 - kde 4.3.4
[2]... AMD Athlon XP 2500+ mobile on ASUS A7N8X with 512 kB RAM and 2xTT S-2300 - vdr-1.6.0 based on gentoo-2008.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bircoph
Developer
Developer


Joined: 27 Jun 2008
Posts: 261
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try to lower MTU on gigabit link. If you use iptables, check that icmp type 3 messages are not blocked. Try to tcpdump your traffic as well.
_________________
Per aspera ad astra!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stegerpl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Location: 48°19'30"N 14°20'18"E

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tacked it down - it was a too high MTU but not for the computers but for the Switch - turning this device on/off resolved the issue.
_________________
[1]... AMD Phenon X4-9950 on asus M3N78-EM with 4 GB of RAM - gentoo 10.1 - kernel 2.6.32 - kde 4.3.4
[2]... AMD Athlon XP 2500+ mobile on ASUS A7N8X with 512 kB RAM and 2xTT S-2300 - vdr-1.6.0 based on gentoo-2008.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum