Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Trouble connecting to hostapd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 12:43 am    Post subject: Trouble connecting to hostapd Reply with quote

I've given it a good googling, and I still cannot figure out why I cannot connect to my AP using wpa2.

hostapd.conf

hostapd -dd /etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf output

wpa_supplicant on the client looks like it connects all right, but the DHCP request never succeeds. If I remove wpa2(and use no authentication), I get the DHCP request perfectly.

When I use tcpdump on the server, I only see two requests, which I'm guessing are the auth requests.

I don't see anything wrong from the hostapd output myself. It looks like it completely successfully, but no traffic gets through afterwards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idella4
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1600
Location: Australia, Perth

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

El_Presidente_Pufferfish

From the last post, I gather you have set your mode to managed. You now have wpa_supplicant. Post output of iwconfig.

This works for me.

Code:

genny bin # cat wpa.sh
ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig wlan0 up
wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
dhclient wlan0


The 2nd last line sometimes does a kind of hang; it sometimes doesn't complete, but it's effective, just keeps churning out screen output. In a separate tab in the console, enter dhclient wlan0.
You just may not have dhclient, there are a few dhcp packages.
_________________
idella4@aus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not using wpa_supplicant, as that is for clients trying to connect to an access point. I am trying to set up an access point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JC99
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 782
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kind of wireless card (atheros, prism, etc...) are you using to create the access point with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JC99 wrote:
What kind of wireless card (atheros, prism, etc...) are you using to create the access point with.


Code:

01:06.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
        Subsystem: Linksys WMP54G ver 4.1
        Flags: bus master, slow devsel, latency 64, IRQ 17
        Memory at fbff8000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=32K]
        Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
        Kernel driver in use: rt61pci
        Kernel modules: rt61pci


And I'm using the following to connect:
Code:

03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Intel Corporation Device 1010
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 46
        Memory at dfcff000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
        Capabilities: [c8] Power Management version 2
        Capabilities: [d0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [e0] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
        Capabilities: [140] Device Serial Number 00-1c-bf-ff-ff-8b-0c-eb
        Kernel driver in use: iwl3945
        Kernel modules: iwl3945
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
extofme
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you ever figure this out?

i'm having the EXACT same issue, and coincidentally, with the identical chipset/driver...

Code:
04:06.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
   Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 837e
   Flags: bus master, slow devsel, latency 64, IRQ 21
   Memory at febf8000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=32K]
   Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
   Kernel driver in use: rt61pci
   Kernel modules: rt61pci


could this be an issue with the ralink driver? AP is archlinux, so pretty much the latest everything (kernel/drivers/etc.). i've tried from 4+ different clients (T43/eeeS101/NexusS/SamsungVibrant), so i'm pretty confident it's either hostapd (bad setting?) or the rt61pci driver.

anyone else? ideas?

C Anthony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
extofme
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Location: US

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:03 am    Post subject: hooray? Reply with quote

well... i don't know why yet, but disabling hardware encryption makes everything work perfectly (modprobe.conf):

options rt61pci nohwcrypt=1

beh. 10000000 tests/hours later i finally decide to try this...

i sent a message to the list. not sure if this means i have a bad chip or what.

http://marc.info/?l=linux-wireless&m=129411543115519&w=2

C Anthony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
extofme
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i built compat-wireless (12/26/2010) and everything is working correctly now.

see above list thread, but it sounds like this was the likely culprit:

http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/linville/wireless-testing.git;a=commit;h=fa8b4b22d543b4052602b0c86065150613ed19e8

C Anthony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum