Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Frozen at GRUB level.Get msg: Loading Linux 4.4.26-gentoo...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gentusiast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 17
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 6:58 pm    Post subject: Frozen at GRUB level.Get msg: Loading Linux 4.4.26-gentoo... Reply with quote

Hi,
I have just finished to install my Gentoo :

>HARDWARE
AMD64 (Celeron, Radeon PCIe, SSD, 8GB RAM)

>INSTALL OPTIONS
- EFI (via Grub2 default method)
- systemd, UTF-8
- kernel manual configuration
- no dual boot

>PROBLEM
At boot, whichever GRUB option I select ... normal, advanced, debug
it immediately stops with :
Booting "Gentoo GNU/Linux"
Loading Linux 4.4.26-gentoo...
_

Would you have a next step (or a similar post) to provide me please ?
Thank you.
_________________
Regards,
Gentusiast


Last edited by gentusiast on Fri Nov 11, 2016 10:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7226
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the first question to answer is: did the machine lockup or is it still moving on but with no video display? If the screen appears to freeze but hard disk activity continues - just a problem with graphics support most likely in the kernel configuration. In this case there should be information at /var/log/dmesg provided a logger is running.
To check for dmesg, boot the install media, mount the gentoo root partition at /mnt/gentoo and
Code:
nano /mnt/gentoo/var/log/dmesg | wgetpaste -t
.
If the problem is machine and screen freeze, the kernel problem is larger. Control has been transferred from grub to the kernel but the kernel does not work.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentusiast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 17
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi DONAHUE,
Thanks for your feedback.

Some more elements to take into account :
1./ I have not installed any desktop yet (my aim is to install XfCE) so the install profile set currently is : default/linux/amd64/13.0/systemd
2./ In my kernel I have indicated my ultrawide HDMI monitor resolution 2560x1080 which is not taken into account by default by all of the standard distributions

Concerning the requested file :
http://bpaste.net/show/8f77b682ae40
_________________
Regards,
Gentusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7226
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lack of a GUI/DE should be a future problem, not the present problem
pastebin shows your kernel was running while your screen was in hold.
also shows cycling through efi_fb to radeon DRM - kernel is trying to provide video
Suggest boot install media, mount gentoo partitions, enter chroot, redo kernel editing menuconfig to:
Quote:
<*> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support) --->
--- /dev/agpgart (AGP Support)
< > AMD Opteron/Athlon64 on-CPU GART support
<*> Intel 440LX/BX/GX, I8xx and E7x05 chipset support
< > SiS chipset support
< > VIA chipset support
-*- VGA Arbitration
(2) Maximum number of GPUs
[ ] Laptop Hybrid Graphics - GPU switching support
<M> Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) --->
--- Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support)
[ ] DRM DP AUX Interface
[*] Enable legacy fbdev support for your modesetting driver
[ ] Allow to specify an EDID data set instead of probing for it
I2C encoder or helper chips --->
< > Chrontel ch7006 TV encoder
< > Silicon Image sil164 TMDS transmitter
< > NXP Semiconductors TDA998X HDMI encoder
< > 3dfx Banshee/Voodoo3+
< > ATI Rage 128
<M> ATI Radeon
[*] Always enable userptr support
< > AMD GPU
ACP (Audio CoProcessor) Configuration ----
< > Nouveau (NVIDIA) cards
< > Intel I810
< > Intel 8xx/9xx/G3x/G4x/HD Graphics
[ ] Enable preliminary support for prerelease Intel hardware by default
[ ] Always enable userptr support
[ ] Enable Intel GVT-g graphics virtualization host support
< > Matrox g200/g400
< > SiS video cards
< > Via unichrome video cards
< > Savage video cards
< > Virtual GEM provider
< > DRM driver for VMware Virtual GPU
< > Intel GMA5/600 KMS Framebuffer
< > DisplayLink
< > AST server chips
< > Kernel modesetting driver for MGA G200 server engines
< > Cirrus driver for QEMU emulated device
< > QXL virtual GPU
< > DRM Support for bochs dispi vga interface (qemu stdvga)
Display Panels ----
Display Interface Bridges --->
< > Analogix ANX78XX bridge
Frame buffer Devices --->
{*} Support for frame buffer devices --->
[ ] Framebuffer foreign endianness support ----
[*] Enable Video Mode Handling Helpers
[*] Enable Tile Blitting Support
*** Frame buffer hardware drivers ***
< > Cirrus Logic support
< > Permedia2 support
< > CyberPro 2000/2010/5000 support
< > Arc Monochrome LCD board support
[ ] Asiliant (Chips) 69000 display support
[ ] IMS Twin Turbo display support
< > VGA 16-color graphics support
< > Userspace VESA VGA graphics support
[ ] VESA VGA graphics support
[*] EFI-based Framebuffer Support
< > N411 Apollo/Hecuba devkit support
< > Hercules mono graphics support
< > OpenCores VGA/LCD core 2.0 framebuffer support
< > Epson S1D13XXX framebuffer support
< > nVidia Framebuffer Support
< > nVidia Riva support
< > Intel740 support
< > Intel LE80578 (Vermilion) support
< > Matrox acceleration
< > ATI Radeon display support
< > ATI Rage128 display support
< > ATI Mach64 display support
< > S3 Trio/Virge support
< > S3 Savage support
< > SiS/XGI display support
< > NeoMagic display support
< > IMG Kyro support
< > 3Dfx Banshee/Voodoo3/Voodoo5 display support
< > 3Dfx Voodoo Graphics (sst1) support
< > VIA VT8623 support
< > Trident/CyberXXX/CyberBlade support
< > ARK 2000PV support
< > Permedia3 support
< > Fujitsu carmine frame buffer support
< > SMSC UFX6000/7000 USB Framebuffer support
< > Displaylink USB Framebuffer support
< > Framebuffer support for IBM GXT4000P/4500P/6000P/6500P adaptors
< > Virtual Frame Buffer support (ONLY FOR TESTING!)
< > E-Ink Metronome/8track controller support
< > Fujitsu MB862xx GDC support
< > E-Ink Broadsheet/Epson S1D13521 controller support
< > AUO-K190X EPD controller support
[ ] Simple framebuffer support
< > Silicon Motion SM712 framebuffer support
-*- Backlight & LCD device support --->
--- Backlight & LCD device support
<*> Lowlevel LCD controls
< > Platform LCD controls
{*} Lowlevel Backlight controls
< > Generic (aka Sharp Corgi) Backlight Driver
< > Generic PWM based Backlight Driver
< > Apple Backlight Driver
< > Qualcomm PM8941 WLED Driver
< > Tabletkiosk Sahara Touch-iT Backlight Driver
< > Backlight Driver for ADP8860/ADP8861/ADP8863 using WLED
< > Backlight Driver for ADP8870 using WLED
< > Backlight Driver for LM3630A
< > Backlight Driver for LM3639
< > Backlight driver for TI LP855X
< > Sanyo LV5207LP Backlight
< > Rohm BD6107 Backlight
Console display driver support --->
-*- VGA text console
[*] Enable Scrollback Buffer in System RAM
(256) Scrollback Buffer Size (in KB)
(80) Initial number of console screen columns
(25) Initial number of console screen rows
{*} Framebuffer Console support
-*- Map the console to the primary display device
[ ] Framebuffer Console Rotation
[*] Bootup logo --->
--- Bootup logo
[ ] Standard black and white Linux logo
[ ] Standard 16-color Linux logo
[*] Standard 224-color Linux logo

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentusiast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 17
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good afternoon DONAHUE,
Thanks for your kind feedback.

I have :
-mounted all the partitions (boot, /, home, proc, sys)
-set swapon
-chrooted
-compiled kernel as suggested

Make command gives me the following output. Would you mind checking them please ?
https://bpaste.net/show/9f0436be8f64

Also some additional questions please :
1./ I have 1 non connected GPU on my motherboard (since I use a 1xGPU PCIe external card).
Shall the maximum number of GPU be set to 2, or 1 would be even more accurate ?

2./ My video card being an PCIe, don't you think disabling "/dev/agpgart (AGP Support)" is indicated in my case ?

3./ Frame buffer support :
Don't know what it is indeed, in sub-section "Frame buffer" support, I removed the :
< > ATI Radeon display support
Do you confirm I shall not select it even having an ATI Radeon card ?

4./ Error :
block/built-in.o: (.rodata+0x4f8): undefined reference to `sun_partition'
block/built-in.o: (.rodata+0x500): undefined reference to `mac_partition'
I believe this one is probably due to my tweaking, indeed I have removed :
enable the block layer > partition types > mac_partition
enable the block layer > partition types > sun[/url]_partition
_________________
Regards,
Gentusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7226
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
1./ I have 1 non connected GPU on my motherboard (since I use a 1xGPU PCIe external card).
Shall the maximum number of GPU be set to 2, or 1 would be even more accurate ?
Either number is ok.

Quote:
2./ My video card being an PCIe, don't you think disabling "/dev/agpgart (AGP Support)" is indicated in my case ?
For some time pcie hardware needed the agpgart library. Now, maybe not. It's harmless so I keep it.

Code:
3./ Frame buffer support :
Don't know what it is indeed, in sub-section "Frame buffer" support, I removed the :
< > ATI Radeon display support
Do you confirm I shall not select it even having an ATI Radeon card ?
In the age of kms, the individual frame buffer support beyond efi and vesa can cause your sort of problem.
Code:
4./ Error :
block/built-in.o: (.rodata+0x4f8): undefined reference to `sun_partition'
block/built-in.o: (.rodata+0x500): undefined reference to `mac_partition'
I believe this one is probably due to my tweaking, indeed I have removed :
enable the block layer > partition types > mac_partition
enable the block layer > partition types > sun[/url]_partition
Should be/have been harmless other than causing comment.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentusiast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 17
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi DONAHUE,
Thanks again for your feedback. I have made the suggested changes.

I still have some warnings when compiling the kernel :
https://bpaste.net/show/070f92c6e772

And a comparable hang at boot :
https://bpaste.net/show/d6db83ea83e2

Seems there is an issue with the video card, don't you think so ?
Code:
[    0.167010] ni_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/CAICOS_pfp.bin"
[    0.167025] [drm:evergreen_init] *ERROR* Failed to load firmware!
[    0.167033] radeon 0000:01:00.0: Fatal error during GPU init

_________________
Regards,
Gentusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7226
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

May be time to examine the total kernel configuration.
from the chroot:
Code:
wgetpaste -t /usr/src/linux/.config
and post the url returned
I don't think having /lib/modules/4.5.2-aufs-r1/ is a usual thing. Do you have any recollection of trying to compile a 4.5.2-aufs-r1 kernel or virtual box?
have you emerged linux-firmware or radeon-ucode while in the chroot?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentusiast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 17
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi DONAHUE,

https://paste.pound-python.org/show/nsYMLe5rScy8bJ4VDg08/

Quote:
I don't think having /lib/modules/4.5.2-aufs-r1/ is a usual thing. Do you have any recollection of trying to compile a 4.5.2-aufs-r1 kernel or virtual box?

I haven't done anything dealing with those elements.

Quote:
have you emerged linux-firmware or radeon-ucode while in the chroot?

No, I have just followed up the install manual.
_________________
Regards,
Gentusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7226
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

recommend emerge linux-firmware, just about any firmware you may ever need is included. radeon-ucode is just radeon firmware. This hopefully eliminates the firmware load problem.
see if your UEFI ("BIOS") has settings to disable integrated graphics and if so disable it.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentusiast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 17
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi DONAHUE,

Quote:
recommend emerge linux-firmware

Erratum : I had previously done it (since integrated to the Official Install Guide)

In regards with radeon-ucode, I got this :
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/a9dAXqiC1LIkgc9VQDmg/

Quote:
see if your UEFI ("BIOS") has settings to disable integrated graphics and if so disable it.

I only have this :
Code:
Integrated Graphics Devices Configuration
Initiate Graphic Adapter              [PEG]
IGD Multi-Monitor                       [Disabled]

_________________
Regards,
Gentusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7226
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry, was trying to say either linux-firmware or radeon-ucode; linux-firmware includes radeon-ucodes' firmwares
Your .config does not include CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y which is pretty much fatal to your chances of seeing boot messages. Recommend boot install media, mount gentoo partitions, edit menuconfig to include:
Quote:
Device Drivers --->
Graphics support --->
Console display driver support --->
<*> Framebuffer Console support
-*- Map the console to the primary display device
recompile the kernel, rerun grub-mkconfig if the kernel name is changed, reboot.
Quote:
Initiate Graphic Adapter [PEG]
I wonder what PEG stands for... Were there other settings in addition to PEG? Maybe DISABLE?
If still no boot messages, when next in chroot with boot partition mounted, run:
Code:
nano /boot/grub/grub.cfg
edit the line reading
Quote:
linux /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.26-gentoo root=/dev/sda2 ro
to read
Quote:
linux /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.26-gentoo root=/dev/sda2 nomodeset ro
this will disable KMS on reboot and allow you to see the boot messages, (I hope).
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentusiast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 17
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same issue ...

Btw,
PEG = PCI Express <== bc I have inserted a PCIe card
IGD = Integrated

IMHO, could be that I am trying to connect an Ultrawide monitor and I have set on the kernel resolution to 2560x1080.
_________________
Regards,
Gentusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7226
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to find out is just one more recompile using the default 1024x768
while you are at it you could restore agpgart
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentusiast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 17
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi DONAHUE,
Thanks for your feedback. I will test that when I have more time. But I feel we have found what is wrong : it is my monitor which has a non standard resolution of 2560x1080p via HDMI only. That is quite peculiar.

I was not able to install it with any common linux distros. That is why I have tried Gentoo which offers offers a bit more configuration possibilities but seems that we hit again that hardware issue.
_________________
Regards,
Gentusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7226
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://www.cnet.com/products/amd-radeon-hd-6450-graphics-card-radeon-hd-6450-512-mb/specs/ is the only info I've found on your card's supported resolutions. The only 2560 resolution listed as being supported is 2560x1600 (also max resolution).
http://www.amd.com/en-us/products/graphics/desktop/6000/6450 expands to explain (as I read it) that using an hdmi 1.4a cable to an hdmi 1.4a or better monitor the max resolution supported is: Max resolution: 1920x1200.

A "monitor" that only supports 2560x1080p resolution via HDMI is odd. I'm more used to monitors (and adapters) supporting vga and vesa standards plus specials. So kernels, adapters, and monitors are/were able to find built-in matching settings.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extended_Display_Identification_Data may be of interest. running
Code:
emerge read-edid
get-edid | parse-edid
in the chroot should give a feeling for your monitor's ability or inability to support more than a single resolution. My output looks like: https://paste.pound-python.org/show/0Ri5ze3QglfMrv7dTYcj/ for the flat screen I use as monitor.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentusiast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 17
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear DONAHUE,
Thank you for your argumented reply. Much appreciated.
You have perfectly spoted on a possible mismatch between HDMI's monitor and video card resolution.
This "unexpected" configuration would certainly work on Windows because the monitor comes with a driver CD.

Fyi : even the DVI to HDMI cable has not fixed the issue
_________________
Regards,
Gentusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7226
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the monitor make and model?
If you attach the monitor to a windows computer there is a freeware, monitorinfoview, http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/monitorinfoview.html , that provides a human readable interpretation of the edid data.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentusiast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2016
Posts: 17
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LG 25UM57
Resolution 2560 x 1080p @60Hz
25"
HDMI ONLY
_________________
Regards,
Gentusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum