Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] qemu-kvm boots to non sense
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lalebarde
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 464
Location: France, Haute-Garonne

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 5:42 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] qemu-kvm boots to non sense Reply with quote

Hi all,
I have just installed qemu-kvm following this : http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/KVM
When it comes to boot an image :
Code:
$ qemu-img create -f qcow2 gentoo-x86-minimal.img 10G
$ kvm -hda gentoo-x86-minimal.img -cdrom /tmp/install-x86-minimal-20101102.iso  -boot d
Boots seems to work but with "non-sense" characters and nothing readable. It scrolls and when stopped, if I ENTER, it follows on. I tried several iso with the same result.

Other information :
Code:
$ kvm -cpu ?
x86       Opteron_G3
x86       Opteron_G2
x86       Opteron_G1
x86          Nehalem
x86           Penryn
x86           Conroe
x86           [n270]
x86         [athlon]
x86       [pentium3]
x86       [pentium2]
x86        [pentium]
x86            [486]
x86        [coreduo]
x86          [kvm32]
x86         [qemu32]
x86          [kvm64]
x86       [core2duo]
x86         [phenom]
x86         [qemu64]
x86           [host]
Code:
$ qemu-system-x86_64 -cpu ?
x86       Opteron_G3
x86       Opteron_G2
x86       Opteron_G1
x86          Nehalem
x86           Penryn
x86           Conroe
x86           [n270]
x86         [athlon]
x86       [pentium3]
x86       [pentium2]
x86        [pentium]
x86            [486]
x86        [coreduo]
x86          [kvm32]
x86         [qemu32]
x86          [kvm64]
x86       [core2duo]
x86         [phenom]
x86         [qemu64]
x86           [host]
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux JANUS 2.6.30-tuxonice-r6 #10 SMP PREEMPT Mon Nov 1 16:33:11 CET 2010 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Code:
$ eix -AI kvm
[I] app-emulation/qemu-kvm
     Installed versions:  0.13.0!t(16:21:45 06/11/2010)(aio alsa bluetooth curl hardened ncurses qemu_softmmu_targets_i386 qemu_softmmu_targets_x86_64 qemu_user_targets_i386 qemu_user_targets_x86_64 sdl ssl -brltty -esd -fdt -kvm-trace -pulseaudio -qemu-ifup -qemu_softmmu_targets_arm -qemu_softmmu_targets_cris -qemu_softmmu_targets_m68k -qemu_softmmu_targets_microblaze -qemu_softmmu_targets_mips -qemu_softmmu_targets_mips64 -qemu_softmmu_targets_mips64el -qemu_softmmu_targets_mipsel -qemu_softmmu_targets_ppc -qemu_softmmu_targets_ppc64 -qemu_softmmu_targets_ppcemb -qemu_softmmu_targets_sh4 -qemu_softmmu_targets_sh4eb -qemu_softmmu_targets_sparc -qemu_softmmu_targets_sparc64 -qemu_user_targets_alpha -qemu_user_targets_arm -qemu_user_targets_armeb -qemu_user_targets_cris -qemu_user_targets_m68k -qemu_user_targets_microblaze -qemu_user_targets_mips -qemu_user_targets_mipsel -qemu_user_targets_ppc -qemu_user_targets_ppc64 -qemu_user_targets_ppc64abi32 -qemu_user_targets_sh4 -qemu_user_targets_sh4eb -qemu_user_targets_sparc -qemu_user_targets_sparc32plus -qemu_user_targets_sparc64 -sasl -static -vde)
Code:
$ grep KVM /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_IRQCHIP=y
CONFIG_KVM=m
CONFIG_KVM_INTEL=m
# CONFIG_KVM_AMD is not set
# CONFIG_KVM_TRACE is not set
Code:
# lsmod | egrep "kvm|qemu"
kvm_intel              47576  3
kvm                   155312  1 kvm_intel


Any clue ?


Last edited by lalebarde on Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 16043

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That all looks correct. Could you post a screenshot of the output?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lalebarde
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 464
Location: France, Haute-Garonne

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
That all looks correct. Could you post a screenshot of the output?

Here is as requested : http://www.monalbum.fr/Album=BLHGQUIF
BTW, the console says after ctrl-c :
Code:
$ kvm -hda gentoo-x86-minimal.img -cdrom /tmp/install-x86-minimal-20101102.iso  -boot d
No protocol specified
No protocol specified
No protocol specified
No protocol specified
No protocol specified
No protocol specified
Warning: Unable to initialize AAlib mouseUsing AAlib driver: Slang driver 1.0 (slang)

I couldn't manage to emerge app-emulation/kvm-kmod, but on the other way, it nis not requested in the howto :
Code:
# emerge -av app-emulation/kvm-kmod
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N    ] app-emulation/kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1  0 kB
Total: 1 package (1 new), Size of downloads: 0 kB
Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No] y
>>> Verifying ebuild manifests
>>> Emerging (1 of 1) app-emulation/kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1
>>> Failed to emerge app-emulation/kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1, Log file:
>>>  '/var/log/portage/app-emulation:kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1:20101106-222259.log'
>>> Jobs: 0 of 1 complete, 1 failed                 Load avg: 0.50, 0.44, 0.45
 * CPV:  app-emulation/kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1
 * REPO: gentoo
 * USE:  amd64 elibc_glibc kernel_linux multilib test userland_GNU
 * ERROR: app-emulation/kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1 failed:
 *   Your kernel sources are unconfigured
 *
 * Call stack:
 *                  ebuild.sh, line  54:  Called pkg_setup
 *   kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1.ebuild, line  24:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *      linux_config_exists || die "Your kernel sources are unconfigured"
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of 'emerge --info =app-emulation/kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1',
 * the complete build log and the output of 'emerge -pqv =app-emulation/kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1'.
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/log/portage/app-emulation:kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1:20101106-222259.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1/temp/die.env'.
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1/work/kvm-kmod-2.6.34.1'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lalebarde
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 464
Location: France, Haute-Garonne

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I could emerge app-emulation/kvm-kmod after having modified the ebuild to skip the linux_config_exists. But it changes nothing.
Then I tryed as root and the problem does not appear. I also try as my usual user (after adding me in the kvm group) and it works too. So, there is something special with the user account I created specially for kvm.
So this is eventually not a kvm-qemu problem, but a user account one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lalebarde
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 464
Location: France, Haute-Garonne

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After having booted once with my new user, everything works :D .
Is it a bug ?

Thanks very much for your help Hu, anyhow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum