Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
(extremly newbie) CMS (joomla)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
while true
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 509
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:35 pm    Post subject: (extremly newbie) CMS (joomla) Reply with quote

Again, I hope I am in the right section.

I want to learn one CMS, and I choosed Joomla!.
I have laptop (64bitDual) and on it emerged LAMP and joomla.

I found out that I can run only one web-site on joomla!.

If I want to save one (working web-site in CMS and return to it tomorow),
and than start fresh new web-site, well, I just can't,
or I do not know how.

Do you know what I mean?
Like second instance of spreadsheet in Open ofice.
Or a second web-site like in BlueFish?

Can't I just drop the web-site that I am working on in Joomla!
and start brand new one?

-------------

Or do I need another localhost, or domain name?

Thank you
_________________
Kind regards, Goran Mitic

alive
while true
kick ass
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kosmas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 276
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

You can run as meny joomla sites as you like on a single web server.

Just add another directory/instance of joomla or move the whole site under a directory and create more.

I have one Joomla as my main one, one extra joomla site under a different folder and some other pages (not joomla) elsewhere.

Hope I helped,
Kosmas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
while true
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 509
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Kosmas,

ok, here is what I did:

I created new directory in htdocs named 'boom'.
In htdocs there already was 'joomla' directory.
I copied all the content of joomla directory into boom directory.

Now, this worked.
But it was the same web site, and it was using the same database (mysql).
So I made new database, and copied the content from original database into it.
As I tried to change the database whole thing crashed.

Is there some walktrough to how to make this happen?

I have the feeling, as I installed OpenOffice, but I can use only one spreadsheet....
Driving me crazy!

Thank you.
_________________
Kind regards, Goran Mitic

alive
while true
kick ass
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum