Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] wicd-1.7.0: Not reporting wireless networks;
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 421
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:26 am    Post subject: [solved] wicd-1.7.0: Not reporting wireless networks; Reply with quote

wicd had been running flawlessly for me, until recently. Unfortunately, wicd usually does it's thing and I don't take any notice of it, so the problem may have begun longer ago and I didn't realise until recently. Although wicd is not working properly, scanning and connecting to wireless networks is fine using wpa_supplicant directly. The problem came to my attention because I took my laptop somewhere new.

So, the problem is that the GTK program is not showing any wireless networks. Wicd still connects to my home network that I have previously configured. If I click Refresh, the "Scanning..." text appears and never disappears. If I click Preferences or About, nothing happens. This is what makes me think that it is a GTK-related problem. I'm a bit puzzled by it, since it seems to have come out of nowhere and other GTK applications are fine. Any help appreciated, thanks.


Last edited by Joseph K. on Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:10 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 3199

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try launching the wicd client from a console?
_________________
The End of the Internet!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 421
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. Sometimes I forget to do obvious things like that. :)
Quote:
refreshing...
ESSID : johnstreet
ESSID : wildoates
ESSID : RHERRY-PC_Network
ESSID : OPTUSA2D67BA
warning: ignoring exception org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply: Message did not receive a reply (timeout by message bus)
refreshing...
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/wicd/gtk/gui.py", line 553, in refresh_networks
num_networks = wireless.GetNumberOfNetworks()
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/dbus/proxies.py", line 140, in __call__
**keywords)
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/dbus/connection.py", line 622, in call_blocking
message, timeout)
dbus.exceptions.DBusException: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name :1.232 was not provided by any .service files
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/wicd/gtk/gui.py", line 377, in update_statusbar
daemon.UpdateState()
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/dbus/proxies.py", line 140, in __call__
**keywords)
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/dbus/connection.py", line 622, in call_blocking
message, timeout)
dbus.exceptions.DBusException: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name :1.232 was not provided by any .service files
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/wicd/gtk/gui.py", line 326, in settings_dialog
self.pref.load_preferences_diag()
File "/usr/share/wicd/gtk/prefs.py", line 78, in load_preferences_diag
self.wiredcheckbox.set_active(daemon.GetAlwaysShowWiredInterface())
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/dbus/proxies.py", line 140, in __call__
**keywords)
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/dbus/connection.py", line 622, in call_blocking
message, timeout)
dbus.exceptions.DBusException: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name :1.232 was not provided by any .service files

Looks like something is going wrong with DBus. I'll have to look into it further later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 421
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aha! I've made progress. By running wicd (the daemon) in the foreground, I've discovered that it runs fine... until the user client starts. The moment I run wicd-gtk, then the wicd-daemon process does this:
Code:
9915: assertion failed "!(connection)->have_connection_lock" file "dbus-connection.c" line 1437 function _dbus_connection_handle_watch
  /usr/lib/libdbus-1.so.3() [0x4ac353ea]
Aborted
(9915 is the pid.) After I downgraded sys-apps/dbus back to 1.2.3-r1, the problem is solved!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idella4
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1600
Location: Australia, Perth

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

could you place [solved] adjacent to the thread title please?
_________________
idella4@aus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3450

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This doesn't seem [solved] to me. One stable package requiring another stable package to be downgraded means that there is a problem. Shouldn't a bug be filed against either wicd or dbus for this? I would think that [solved] is when all of the up-to-date stable packages work together correctly. I guess we don't have a tag for [workaround] or [workaround/bug filed], but maybe we should. (especially if it could be shorter than my examples)
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph K.
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 421
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right that there is a problem, for which there is a bug filed (#329133) and ultimately (although not immediately) solved. However, my support question in these forums requires no further attention and so I consider it to be solved. Cheers! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum