Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
using both wpa_supplicant and gentoo's init scripts
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
truekaiser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 766

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 7:28 pm    Post subject: using both wpa_supplicant and gentoo's init scripts Reply with quote

i just recently got a new laptop with a ath9k wireless chip, frankly i love the fact that it works right out of the box even on the install cd. but right now i am running into my limit's on wireless configuration on linux. i plan on eventually migrating to wireless n but i do not know how to set up the machine so it will connect to my home ap automatically with the gentoo init scripts so i don't have to worry about starting things manually like ntp and nfs but still allow it to be managed by wpa_supplicant to connect to other ap's if i want via the qt4 gui. right now i got the laptop set up to connect automatically to my ap running in G mode with wep. the gentoo documentation i have found seems to indicate either the init scripts or wpa_supplicant but not both..


this is the wireless card
Code:

08:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Device e01f
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
        Memory at f1000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
        Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
        Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
        Capabilities: [60] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [90] MSI-X: Enable- Count=1 Masked-
        Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
        Capabilities: [140] Virtual Channel <?>
        Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
        Kernel driver in use: ath9k
        Kernel modules: ath9k


wpa_supplicant can't seem to find my card this is my /etc/conf.d/net
Code:

# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d.  To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
#modules=("wpa_supplicant") #makes configuration solely wpa_supplicant's responsibility 
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
config_eth0=("dhcp")
config_wlan0=("dhcp")
essid_wlan0="wscale"
ap_wlan0="00:14:6C:AE:C5:38"
mode_wlan0="managed"
channel_wlan0="1"
key_wscale="" #like i am telling the whole world :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oRDeX
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 1309

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

why don't using modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )

and putting your WEP network inside the wpa_supplicant.conf?
Of course you have to choose is you want to use wpa_supplicant or to configure it manually (by gentoo script)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truekaiser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 766

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oRDeX wrote:
why don't using modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )

and putting your WEP network inside the wpa_supplicant.conf?
Of course you have to choose is you want to use wpa_supplicant or to configure it manually (by gentoo script)


so it's not 'either/or'? if i set up wpa supplicant to do wep for now the net.wlan0 init script will call on wpa_supplicant to start the interface?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dreadlorde
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2008
Posts: 243
Location: /adm/timezone/US_Michigan

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would you use WEP?
_________________
Ludwig von Mises Institute
Quote:
I am not to be a shepherd, I am not to be a grave-digger. No longer will I speak to the people; for the last time I have spoken to the dead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truekaiser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 766

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dreadlorde wrote:
Why would you use WEP?

because at the moment it's the only security option available that all my devices have in common.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lxg
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 1019
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By the way, you could also have a look at NetworkManager, it can be integrated into your desktop as a tray icon (nm-applet, a Gnome app, but should also work in KDE) and lets you configure your networks very userfriendly. It also supports WEP, WPA, WPA2. There's a nice guide in the (inofficial) Gentoo Wiki, which worked fine for me: http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/NetworkManager
_________________
lxg.de – codebits and tech talk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truekaiser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 766

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lxg wrote:
By the way, you could also have a look at NetworkManager, it can be integrated into your desktop as a tray icon (nm-applet, a Gnome app, but should also work in KDE) and lets you configure your networks very userfriendly. It also supports WEP, WPA, WPA2. There's a nice guide in the (inofficial) Gentoo Wiki, which worked fine for me: http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/NetworkManager


ok spent all afternoon getting that to work. like it so far and i got it to connect to my router but not in full n mode. my mother's laptop with the same card can get up to 130mbps while i am still stuck at 54mbps cause it seems wpa supplicant and my draft n router don't like each other's versions of wpa2 aes encryption.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum