Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Framebuffer with nvidia driver
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
curmudgeon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 1610

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 10:11 am    Post subject: Framebuffer with nvidia driver Reply with quote

I know this has probably been asked a thousand times before, but my searches are finding conflicting advice (and what to do has probably changed over the years).

I am trying to use the nvidia driver on one computer (a fairly recent card), and I want to have a framebuffer on the console. How do I configure that? I don't need anything spectacular - just something other than 80 x 25 text.

Thank you in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
propofool
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

compile vesafb into kernel not nvidiafb not uvesafb,,,,, put vga=791 in grub.conf, then play with uvesfb for hours nand hpurs some other time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 1983
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

compile uvesafb into kernel not nvidiafb not vesafb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed, they can cause some problems with the nvidia-drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3426

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm curious about this one too, for the same reasons. It's interesting to see that the second and third posts have exact opposite recommendations, at least regarding vesafb vs uvesafb.

So can we have just a little more information?

It seems to me that the "native" framebuffer is NEVER recommended.
Why is that?
Is this universally true, or just for nVidia?
Why do we even have it, if it seems that it's never the right thing to use?
Is that basically for non-X11 systems?
Aren't there so few non-X11 systems that we could just have vesafb/uvesafb and save a bunch of code?

Enquiring minds want to know.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's like this:

a) Both vesafb and uvesafb can only use resolutions thast are in the VBIOS of the graphic card. If your preferred resolution is there, good. But usually only the old standard 4:3 resolutions are in the VBIOS, so you're out of luck on a widescreen display.

b) There's nvidiafb, but nvidiafb and nvidia-driver (the proprietary driver) are in conflict, you can use either one or the other.

c) There's nouveau. This one uses KMS, so it's one driver controlling both the framebuffer console and X. It would be the ideal solution, but 3D acceleration is still experimental, and so might not work depending on your card.

d) You can use nouveau only for the framebuffer, but you need to unload it before starting X if you want nvidia-driver for X. See here: http://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/KernelModeSetting, specifically the "Deactivating KMS and unloading Nouveau" section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr_Maniac
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:

a) Both vesafb and uvesafb can only use resolutions thast are in the VBIOS of the graphic card. If your preferred resolution is there, good. But usually only the old standard 4:3 resolutions are in the VBIOS, so you're out of luck on a widescreen display.


Well... I use uvesafb and at least 1920x1200 (16:10 widescreen) works perfectly here...
_________________
Intel Core i7 6700
ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING
32 GB DDR4 RAM
GeForce GTX 1070
Gentoo Linux (most recent stable kernel - amd64)
Windows 10 x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ernov
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Up
could you show any of your possible configuration related to framebuffer uvesa?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr_Maniac
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ernov wrote:
@Up
could you show any of your possible configuration related to framebuffer uvesa?


Code:
linux   /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda5 video=uvesafb:1920x1200-32@60,mtrr:3,ywrap splash=verbose,fadein,theme:linux CONSOLE=tty1

Oh... And if you're on a x86_64-System (amd64/em64t), you still need an initrd with v86d (see http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Uvesafb#uvesafb).
_________________
Intel Core i7 6700
ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING
32 GB DDR4 RAM
GeForce GTX 1070
Gentoo Linux (most recent stable kernel - amd64)
Windows 10 x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwall64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 128
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried everything also and still get HUGE letters across the display and silent blanks the screen instead of showing graphic. I am going to remove uvesafb and go back to just a vga=X in my grub and see if that helps...
_________________
Intel Core2Quad Q9400
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
8GB DDR2-1066 RAM OCZ
GeForce 9600GT
5x Seagate 1TB 7200.12 (4x Software RAID5)
Gentoo 64-bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With uvesafb running, check /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes. Those are the resolutions you can use. If your desired one is not there, nouveau is your only option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwall64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 128
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
With uvesafb running, check /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes. Those are the resolutions you can use. If your desired one is not there, nouveau is your only option.

ok, that worked! I had been going off of "hwinfo --frambuffer" - uvesafb supports a lot less than the hardware does.
_________________
Intel Core2Quad Q9400
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
8GB DDR2-1066 RAM OCZ
GeForce 9600GT
5x Seagate 1TB 7200.12 (4x Software RAID5)
Gentoo 64-bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum