Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how to check i am fully using 802.11 g router [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 7:34 pm    Post subject: how to check i am fully using 802.11 g router [solved] Reply with quote

i have a 9 dB antenna hooked up to my wireless card on my desktop. it is located on the other side of the house and i am getting horrible connection, i dont know how to check signal strength but rates of transfer rarely go above 100 KiB/s on a Comcast network.

how do i check i have the kernel properly configure to use the range of the router (Motorola SBG900) effectively and maybe that i am using full bandwidth supported. i would like your help on this before i buy a 802.11 n router. Maybe that will give better range.
Code:

02:07.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 03)
   Subsystem: Belkin Belkin F5D7001 High-Speed Mode Wireless G Network Card
   Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge
   Kernel modules: ssb


Last edited by h2sammo on Mon May 17, 2010 12:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46329
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

h2sammo,

Run
Code:
iwconfig wlan0
and post the output.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
main Downloads # iwconfig wlan0
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"Motorola" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: 00:21:00:6D:E5:0F   
          Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=46/70  Signal level=-64 dBm  Noise level=-60 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46329
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

h2sammo,

Code:
Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm
shows the link speed is 54Mbit/sec, whic is as good as it gets

Your Tx-Power is less than half of the permitted UK max of 27dBm.
You may be alble to turn that up. Read
Code:
man iwconfig
A Higher tx power can only have an indirect affect on your data rate as the link speed will not get faster but the error rate (if any) will reduce.

Code:
Link Quality=46/70  Signal level=-64 dBm  Noise level=-60 dBm

Your signal to noise ratio appears to be -4db, which I don't believe. That means the signal is lost in the noise.
The noise level is normally around -90dBm. Do you have something else in the house or nearby, sharing the 2.4G band, e.g. DECT cordless phones.
Try another channel and see if your noise level goes down.

Despite the unbelivabley bad signal to noise ratio the Link Quality is still 46/70 which is pretty good.

Try increasing your[/code] TX Power and try other channels.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no cordless phones, just other wifi devices (netbooks).

i am thinking the surge protector with 7 plugs (all filled) is right next to the antenna, the monitor is next to the antenna as well. maybe the magnetic fields generated by the electric fields existent on those wires generate the noise levels?

also, a technical clarification, isnt the S/N ratio calculated by dividing the signal by the noise?

EDIT: bit rate drops randomly:
Code:
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"Motorola" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: 00:21:00:6D:E5:0F   
          Bit Rate:18 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=44/70  Signal level=-66 dBm  Noise level=-62 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

but annoyingly often.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i changed to channel 11 from the router interface and changed the mode from "b/g..." to "b/g enhanced". S/N ratio is higher now in the back of the house and more consistent.

thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum