Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ZLib not emerging...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 379
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:13 pm    Post subject: ZLib not emerging... Reply with quote

I am attempting to install KDE on an older laptop. I have 8GB of space in /var/tmp/portage. Everything goes fine until it tries to emerge zlib. The problem is that I am not sure where the log is to paste it and the bigger problem is something I feel is a bug in Gentoo or a kernel option I am not aware of. When the screen goes to sleep the scrollback buffer is wiped, so I cannot scroll up and see what the issue was. How can I figure out what the heck is going on aside from sitting there tapping the control key every three minutes to prevent the screen from blanking? I have not had this issue on any other system.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 379
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure which file is the log-file, but this appears to happen in the install phase. It says it cannot read SONAME from zlib.so.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 379
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just figured it out but am not sure how this happened. Maybe I used the wrong install media? I tried "gcc-config -l" as referenced in another thread and it told me there was no profile. I looked in /etc/env.d/gcc and I see an i486 directory, but no i686. What the heck? I've not messed with the CHOST variable, which is "i686-pc-linux-gnu".

With that said, I will be reinstalling from scratch to be safe. The thing is, I do want i686, not i486. What do I have to do to get it to install 32bit Gentoo as i686 instead of i486?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 379
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured it out. I have a tarball named "i686", but it is actually i486. Not sure how it happened, but this is solved. I had the wrong CHOST for the tarball.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum