Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
radeon+kms define firmware? [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5075

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 7:32 am    Post subject: radeon+kms define firmware? [solved] Reply with quote

hello.
a bit of background, from the introduction of kms, I've alway had problems with my chip, in previous versions it would have hardfreeze with or without artifacts or softfreeze(with the latter and former, I did had display but it froze after some time). about previous versions, the devs are drm told me that they have a bug with my chip that causes the freeze and that they can't seem to solve it.
now for the problem, I'm using gs 2.6.33, after another user asked about how to introduce the bin files into the kernel, I've started to wonder if my problems were because of missing firmware, so I've inserted my chip's firmware to the kernel, compiled, copied and rebooted, kms is loading but the console buffer isn't. also, when running glxinfo, I still get the irq not enabled msg, so I've tried to insert the microcode firmware and I get this:
Code:
NCC-5001-D linux # make-smp
  HOSTLD  scripts/kconfig/conf
scripts/kconfig/conf -s arch/x86/Kconfig
  CHK     include/linux/version.h
  CHK     include/generated/utsrelease.h
  CALL    scripts/checksyscalls.sh
  CHK     include/generated/compile.h
  GZIP    kernel/config_data.gz
  IKCFG   kernel/config_data.h
  CC      kernel/configs.o
  LD      kernel/built-in.o
  MK_FW   firmware/radeon/R600_rlc.bin.gen.S
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `firmware/radeon/R600_rlc.bin', needed by `firmware/radeon/R600_rlc.bin.gen.o'.  Stop.
make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make: *** [firmware] Error 2
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
NCC-5001-D linux #

here is my chip:
Code:
NCC-5001-D linux # lspci | grep ATI
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Mobility Radeon HD 3400 Series
01:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RV620 Audio device [Radeon HD 34xx Series]

I'm using xf86-video-ati, mesa and libdrm from git/svn
here is my .config: http://pastebin.com/HAPsgjc1
what am I do wrong?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball


Last edited by DaggyStyle on Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herring42
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 373
Location: Buckinghamshire

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unmask and emerge x11-drivers/radeon-ucode

The firmware is no longer shipped with the kernel.
_________________
"The problem with quotes on the internet is that it is difficult
to determine whether or not they are genuine." -- Abraham Lincoln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5075

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Herring42 wrote:
Unmask and emerge x11-drivers/radeon-ucode

The firmware is no longer shipped with the kernel.

I have it installed, strange, 2.6.33 has kernel firmware, my issue is that kms freezes here and when I disable it, I get the IRQ busy msg.
also ucode holds 2 files alone, kernel firmware has per chip, so I'm not sure what you say is right.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herring42
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 373
Location: Buckinghamshire

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
Herring42 wrote:
Unmask and emerge x11-drivers/radeon-ucode

The firmware is no longer shipped with the kernel.

I have it installed, strange, 2.6.33 has kernel firmware, my issue is that kms freezes here and when I disable it, I get the IRQ busy msg.
also ucode holds 2 files alone, kernel firmware has per chip, so I'm not sure what you say is right.


Sorry, I should have qualified, no new firmware in the kernel. The emerge quoted provides firmware/radeon/R600_rlc.bin that you require to remove the error message.

From my .config:
Code:

...
CONFIG_FW_LOADER=y
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL=y
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="radeon/R700_rlc.bin"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib64/firmware"
...

_________________
"The problem with quotes on the internet is that it is difficult
to determine whether or not they are genuine." -- Abraham Lincoln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5075

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my current setup consists of all three and it compiles well. nevermind, solved
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pleirosei
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello, while editing my kernel according to the handbook for setting up X, i get this error: No rule to make target 'firmware/radeon/R600_rlc.bin, is there anyway to fix this? I have already emerged radeon-ucode as the handbook has said, what should I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 2978
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm suddenly running into this with simply recompiling 2.6.38-rc2. I already had 2.6.38-rc2 installed and working, but needed to recompile it trying to solve some alsa sound related problems. I loaded the old config file (that worked fine, KMS included) with make xconfig, made the alsa adjustments, and proceeded to do make bzImage as I've done thousands of times for years, and suddenly get this:
Code:
MK_FW   firmware/radeon/R700_rlc.bin.gen.S
 make[1]: *** No rule to make target `firmware/radeon/R700_rlc.bin', needed by `firmware/radeon/R700_rlc.bin.gen.o'.  Stop.


Tried reinstalling radeon-ucode many times, and sometimes the R700_rlc.bin.gen.o file randomly appears and disappears in linux-2.6.38-rc2/firmware/radeon. :o I've tried all the firmware suggestions in forums and online searches- nothing seems to work. It's a mystery to me.

UPDATE: Finally found where to get the file in question (r700_rcl.bin), put it in 2.6.38-rc2/firmware/radeon/ and it worked. :D

http://people.freedesktop.org/~agd5f/radeon_ucode/

What I still don't get is why it suddenly was messed up and somehow lost that file. :o I was simply recompiling an otherwise working kernel.
_________________
Main box- Gigabyte GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ rev.-4.0
Amd FX 8320, 3.5 GHz, 16GB GSkill DDR3 1866mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD 6570 2GB DDR3
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.23-r3, gcc-6.3.0 kernel-4.10.4-gentoo (USE=experimental "native")


Last edited by wrc1944 on Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:44 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spidey
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Posts: 267

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using zen-sources and I have the same problem. I configure the .config to look for firmwares on /lib/firmware, but make just ignores it. I don't know what to do. I'll copy the relevant firmware to the firmware folder inside the kernel sources, but I don't like this.

edit: gentoo-sources works alright, just set the firmware folder to /lib/firmware and then load radeon/my_fw.bin. zen-sources, though...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarSoft
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2008
Posts: 5
Location: Москва

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As for me, problem was that I didn't change CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR from "firmware" to "/lib/firmware".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum