Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
host, domain name and name server
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xiaweitang
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:02 am    Post subject: host, domain name and name server Reply with quote

I never get this clear. I am using DHCP. So following the handbook, I only need to specify the host name, and I used "tux". Then what exactly should be in my network related files in /etc? And somewhere in the handbook it need to edit a file which need domain name. But I don't have one. I know host is the name for my machine, what exactly are the other two things?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7711
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xiaweitang,

you do not need hostname nor domainname to get your network going, you do need name server - DNS. Ususal practice for a single computer is to use the DNS your ISP is offering. For networks there is usually a caching DNS in NAT router.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xiaweitang
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think my internet provider provides DNS. But do I need to state it in some config files? I can browser the web with no problem now. But as I said in another post, some times it takes very long to logging into the root user, does it has something to do with DNS? I rembered somebody in this forum said that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2504
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you issued the following command during installation:

Code:

cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/


you copied over DNS settings. Therefore, you should have /etc/resolv.conf, and it should contain the appropriate information. If you are curious about it, please post the contents of that file.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mad Merlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 1155

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When using DHCP, the DNS servers are normally sent along with the initial DHCP lease and /etc/resolv.conf is populated accordingly, so you shouldn't ever need to worry about DNS when using DHCP.
_________________
Game! - Where the stick is mightier than the sword!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum