Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]Alsa not working...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ax0nom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:06 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]Alsa not working... Reply with quote

Hi!

I've just installed gentoo on my pc and I'm having some troubles with the sound.

Here are my settings:

Code:

jacq linux # lspci -k | grep Audio

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)



Code:

linux # cat /proc/asound/cards

 0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xf7400000 irq 43


Code:

cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#0 | head

Codec: Realtek ID 269
Address: 0
AFG Function Id: 0x1 (unsol 1)
Vendor Id: 0x10ec0269
Subsystem Id: 0x15581500
Revision Id: 0x100100
No Modem Function Group found
Default PCM:
    rates [0x560]: 44100 48000 96000 192000
    bits [0xe]: 16 20 24


Code:

aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****


As you see I've got no playback devices, I have built the drivers in kernel and followed the gentoo guide for the installation.

I also researched all the posts with similar problems and none of them helped.

Alsamixer channels are not muted... there are no channels there! :cry:

Any help would be very apreciated!

Thx in advance!


Last edited by ax0nom on Wed Nov 05, 2014 5:52 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54423
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ax0nom,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Please post the output of
Code:
ls -l /dev/snd


What does alsamixer show?
It will be an ASCII image. Post it here between code tags.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ax0nom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey! Thx Neddy

here it is:

Code:
$ ls -l /dev/snd
total 0
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root       60 oct 28 14:29 by-path
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  0 oct 28 14:29 controlC0
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  4 oct 28 14:29 hwC0D0
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  7 oct 28 14:29 hwC0D3
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  1 oct 28 14:29 seq
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116, 33 oct 28 14:29 timer


Code:

┌────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────── AlsaMixer v1.0.28 ───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐
│ Card: HDA Intel PCH                                                                                                                    F1:  Help               │
│ Chip:                                                                                                                                  F2:  System information │
│ View: F3: Playback  F4: Capture  F5: All                                                                                               F6:  Select sound card  │
│ Item:                                                                                                                                  Esc: Exit               │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
│                                                         This sound device does not have any controls.                                                          │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
│                                                                                                                                                                │
└────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RazielFMX
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 835
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting. You seem to missing a kernel module.

Code:
 lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_realtek    50889  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    48327  2 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_intel          12795  4
snd_hda_controller     15497  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_codec          76780  4 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_pcm                69095  3 snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_timer              17647  1 snd_pcm
snd                    54485  14 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_timer,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
soundcore               5034  2 snd,snd_hda_codec


I have a similar sound card:

Code:

┌────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────── AlsaMixer v1.0.28 ───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐
│ Card: HDA Intel PCH                                                                                                                            F1:  Help               │
│ Chip: Realtek ALC221                                                                                                                           F2:  System information │
│ View: F3:[Playback] F4: Capture  F5: All                                                                                                       F6:  Select sound card  │
│ Item: Master [dB gain: -3.00]


Now I might have more than I need, but according to your output you at least need realtek support.
_________________
I am not anti-systemd; I am pro-choice. If being the latter makes you feel that I am the former, then so be it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ax0nom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Raziel!

I built in the kernel drivers. I don't use them as modules.

I'm really new to linux I don't know if that's correct or not...

Code:

 <*> HD Audio PCI                                                                                               │ │ 
  │ │                                        (64) Pre-allocated buffer size for HD-audio driver                                                             │ │ 
  │ │                                        [ ] Build hwdep interface for HD-audio driver                                                                  │ │ 
  │ │                                        [ ] Allow dynamic codec reconfiguration                                                                        │ │ 
  │ │                                        [ ] Support digital beep via input layer                                                                       │ │ 
  │ │                                        [ ] Support jack plugging notification via input layer                                                         │ │ 
  │ │                                        [ ] Support initialization patch loading for HD-audio                                                          │ │ 
  │ │                                        <*> Build Realtek HD-audio codec support                                                                       │ │ 
  │ │                                        <*> Build Analog Device HD-audio codec support                                                                 │ │ 
  │ │                                        <*> Build IDT/Sigmatel HD-audio codec support                                                                  │ │ 
  │ │                                        <*> Build VIA HD-audio codec support                                                                           │ │ 
  │ │                                        <*> Build HDMI/DisplayPort HD-audio codec support                                                              │ │ 
  │ │                                        <*> Build Cirrus Logic codec support                                                                           │ │ 
  │ │                                        <*> Build Conexant HD-audio codec support                                                                      │ │ 
  │ │                                        <*> Build Creative CA0110-IBG codec support                                                                    │ │ 
  │ │                                        <*> Build Creative CA0132 codec support                                                                        │ │ 
  │ │                                        [*]   Support new DSP code for CA0132 codec                                                                    │ │ 
  │ │                                        <*> Build C-Media HD-audio codec support                                                                       │ │ 
  │ │                                        <*> Build Silicon Labs 3054 HD-modem codec support                                                             │ │ 
  │ │                                        -*- Enable generic HD-audio codec parser                                                                       │ │ 
  │ │                                        (0) Default time-out for HD-audio power-save mode



For what I read this should be working, shouldn't it?

I also have seen this warning when emerging and I don't know if it should matter:

Code:

* IMPORTANT: config file '/etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf' needs updating.

Thx.


Last edited by ax0nom on Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 1252

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

enable
Code:
[ ] Build hwdep interface for HD-audio drive│
[ ] Allow dynamic codec reconfiguration
too.
better to choose the module of hardware you have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54423
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ax0nom,

Code:
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  0 oct 28 14:29 controlC0
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  4 oct 28 14:29 hwC0D0
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  7 oct 28 14:29 hwC0D3


You only have a single sound card, C0 and it has devices D0 and D3, whic is a bit odd.

Alsamixer shows that Card: HDA Intel PCH but your codec chip is missing. It just says Chip: with no chip listed.

I'm beginning to think you need to pass model= when the module loads.
Read /usr/src/linux/Documentation/sound/alsa/HD-Audio-Models.txt and build your snd-hda-intel as a module, so you can play wint module parameters without rebooting.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RazielFMX
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 835
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also I have never actually had working Alsa as built-in; I've always built as modules and I let the alsasound boot init script choose which modules to load once I have configured Alsa with alsamixer.
_________________
I am not anti-systemd; I am pro-choice. If being the latter makes you feel that I am the former, then so be it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ax0nom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok! Thank you all for your replies!

I'll try what you said and I'll tell you the results.

Shall I use modules for everything or just for the audio?

If I understand this having modules would result in a lighter kernel? That would be an advantatge when rebuilding kernel and when booting?

Thx!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 1252

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can use only modules, but then you must have initrd.
For multimedia devices I think that modules are preferable as some of them should be loaded with certain parameter to work.


Last edited by Perfect Gentleman on Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RazielFMX
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 835
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't save any build time; you still have to build the modules.

This is my setup:

Code:
$ grep m$ /usr/src/linux/.config  | grep -v ^\# | egrep 'SND|SOUND'
CONFIG_SOUND=m
CONFIG_SND=m
CONFIG_SND_TIMER=m
CONFIG_SND_PCM=m
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER=m
CONFIG_SND_MIXER_OSS=m
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS=m
CONFIG_SND_HRTIMER=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m

_________________
I am not anti-systemd; I am pro-choice. If being the latter makes you feel that I am the former, then so be it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 1252

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's mine, got RealTek soundcard
Code:
$ grep m$ /usr/src/linux/.config  | grep -v ^\# | egrep 'SND|SOUND'
CONFIG_SOUND=m
CONFIG_SND=m
CONFIG_SND_TIMER=m
CONFIG_SND_PCM=m
CONFIG_SND_HWDEP=m
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER=m
CONFIG_SND_HRTIMER=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 796
Location: over here

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RazielFMX wrote:
Also I have never actually had working Alsa as built-in; I've always built as modules and I let the alsasound boot init script choose which modules to load once I have configured Alsa with alsamixer.


I have and it is intel hw, you need:
Code:
                                                                                                                                                                                        │ 
  │ Symbol: FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL [=y]                                                                                                                                                         │ 
  │ Type  : boolean                                                                                                                                                                         │ 
  │ Prompt: Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary                                                                                                                               │ 
  │   Location:                                                                                                                                                                             │ 
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                                                                                                                                   │ 
  │       -> Generic Driver Options                                                                                                                                                         │ 
  │ (8)     -> Userspace firmware loading support (FW_LOADER [=y])                                                                                                                          │ 
  │   Defined at drivers/base/Kconfig:83                                                                                                                                                    │ 
  │   Depends on: FW_LOADER [=y]


If I remember correctly that's how I got it to work.

EDIT: It also works with a deblobbed kernel if that's of any concern.


Last edited by mrbassie on Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:15 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RazielFMX
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 835
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After you have it all configured, you need to 'make && make modules_install', copy your bzImage wherever you keep it, and reboot; I usually disable xdm when doing this and run alsasound right from the console to configure the sound card. Then I add alsasound to boot, re-enable xdm, and reboot.

Good luck!

EDIT:

I was inspired to finally fix my kernel config, it looks like this now and everything works (after running alsamixer post reboot):

Code:
grep m$ /usr/src/linux/.config  | grep -v ^\# | egrep 'SND|SOUND'
CONFIG_SOUND=m
CONFIG_SND=m
CONFIG_SND_TIMER=m
CONFIG_SND_PCM=m
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER=m
CONFIG_SND_MIXER_OSS=m
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS=m
CONFIG_SND_HRTIMER=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m

_________________
I am not anti-systemd; I am pro-choice. If being the latter makes you feel that I am the former, then so be it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ax0nom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried both solutions, Raziel and Mrbassie:

For Mrbassie's solution I already had the same settings and it didn't work.

And then tried Raziel's solution, I built the modules and everything it is also not working,

one thing I noticed is that when emerging it says that /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf needs to be updated.

I googled for it and changed the values I think sould work but I didn't get nothing...

Could someone help me with this?

Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RazielFMX
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 835
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you do an lsmod, are the modules loaded? Also, is alsasound started and in your boot runlevel?

Thanks!
_________________
I am not anti-systemd; I am pro-choice. If being the latter makes you feel that I am the former, then so be it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As i keep saying: if you don't know, ask gentoo forum, if you still don't know, then it's because you don't listen to NeddySeagoon
Your card lack codec, even you have build the codec in your kernel, you aren't using the good kernel you think or the codec need a model. And assuming all realtek cards are named ALCsomething, ALC269 exists in the doc NeddySeaggon point you at (3 models, i think 3 for laptops)

So if you don't know, do what NeddySeagoon said, because NeddySeagoon is just never wrong, even when he is wrong, it's because you read it wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ax0nom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll try everything you told me and I'll do a bit of research to see if I can solve the issue!

Krinn I'm sorry if what I wrote sound rude I didn't want to be that way, of course I take in consideration every advice from everyone,

I'm sure that NeddySeagoon is right and I wouldn't like that you think I'm not taking up his advices, it's just I'm really new to this, learning a lot everyday but there are things that I don't understand or I don't see clearly how to do them.

I also read a lot before asking, before this post I had spent some days researching and trying to do it by myself :wink: .

Again sorry if something I said sounded rude and thanks everybody for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't get it wrong, i was joking, i'm trying to point you to what NeddySeagoon said, as i think he is right (this time only, ps: don't repeat i said that!!!).

So it's me that is sorry as you think my last comment was because you were rude or something, i don't think you were, nor i see what parts you said could be rude to someone.
Just recheck your running kernel have the realtek drivers loaded, and if it doesn't work, look at cards options found in the file NeddySeagoon provide (last time i check they were for laptops, so question would be, are you using a laptop?).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ax0nom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I'm using a laptop!

This is what I found in the HD-Audio-Models.txt

Code:

ALC269/270/275/276/28x/29x
======
  laptop-amic           Laptops with analog-mic input
  laptop-dmic           Laptops with digital-mic input
  alc269-dmic           Enable ALC269(VA) digital mic workaround
  alc271-dmic           Enable ALC271X digital mic workaround
  inv-dmic              Inverted internal mic workaround
  headset-mic           Indicates a combined headset (headphone+mic) jack
  lenovo-dock           Enables docking station I/O for some Lenovos
  dell-headset-multi    Headset jack, which can also be used as mic-in
  dell-headset-dock     Headset jack (without mic-in), and also dock I/O




And kernel modules are not being loaded :(

Code:


lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
x86_pkg_temp_thermal     4535  0



This is what I get from cat:

Code:

 cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#0
Codec: Realtek ID 269
Address: 0
AFG Function Id: 0x1 (unsol 1)
Vendor Id: 0x10ec0269
Subsystem Id: 0x15581500
Revision Id: 0x100100
No Modem Function Group found


So I would have to use the 269 codecs but in HD-Audio-Models I only see the mic inputs.

Which one should I use and how?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54423
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ax0nom,

I don't have all the answers. For this problem, I only have questions. I have not seen half a sound card before. Your Realtech 269 have been knomn to the kernel since May 2012. Here is the patch that added it, so its not new.

Unless you have rebuilt and reinstalled your kernel, then booted into the new kernel, the sound modules will not appear in lsmod.

Look at
Code:
uname -a
This tells the build date and time ot the running kernel antu the build number. e.g.
Code:
uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 3.16.1-gentoo #2 SMP PREEMPT Tue Sep 2 18:13:29 BST 2014 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

So thats 3.16.1-gentoo build #2 at Tue Sep 2 18:13:29 BST 2014.

Can you pastebin the output of dmesg?
wgetpaste is your friend.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ax0nom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I messed up something...

Last things I made were setting the modules of the kernel and then

Code:

make && make modules_install
make install


Then rebooted and now when kernel is loading it freezes there. There is no message or warning,

simply stops.

What should I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54423
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ax0nom,

What is the last message you see on the screen?
The grub menu or Loading Linux ...

If its the grub menu something went wrong updating grub to boot the new kernel.
If you see Loading Linux ... then the kernel was loaded by grub and something is wrong with your kernel
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ax0nom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The last thing is loading Linux the grub seems ok!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54423
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ax0nom,

Please post the output of lspci and put your /usr/src/linux/.config onto a pastebin.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum