Postfixadmin won't create maildirs - even with mail sent [S]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dr. Frankenbox
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:47 pm    Post subject: Postfixadmin won't create maildirs - even with mail sent [S] Reply with quote

I'm new to mail server administration, and I'm trying to set up a mail server with postfix + courier + postfixadmin + squirrelmail. I was able to get the config set so that Courier sees the user database created by postfixadmin and I can log into squirrelmail with accounts created in postfixadmin, but since Postfixadmin won't create the maildirs for new mailboxes, when I log into squirrelmail on a new account, I get this:

ERROR: Could not complete request.
Query: SELECT "INBOX"
Reason Given: Unable to open this mailbox.

and this:

ERROR: Connection dropped by IMAP server.
Query: SUBSCRIBE "INBOX.Sent"

I can see from looking at other threads that postfixadmin won't create the maildir until mail is sent to the new mailbox, but I have it set to send a welcome message when creating a mailbox. However, when I do create a mailbox, I don't get a message telling me that the mailbox was created. I only get:

The mailbox has been added to the mailbox table!
(webmaster@animenebraskon.com

What could be causing this?

Last edited by Dr. Frankenbox on Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
AllenJB
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Postfixadmin doesn't have anything to do with creating mailboxes. That should be done by your mail server software (whatever's handling SMTP - or whatever that hands mals to for local delivery).