Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Flash: no sound
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Basilio
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:59 am    Post subject: Flash: no sound Reply with quote

Probably not a quite fresh question.
So, I have:
firefox 3.5.7
Chromium 4.0.295.0
adobe-flash 10.0.42.34

Sound card: Intel HDA,
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
audio output is coaxial spdif to receiver.

Kernel 2.6.32-gentoo-r1, alsa compiled in.

Videos from youtube work quite fine, but without sound. In both browsers.

Internets suggest (for Ubuntu for example) installing alsa-oss wrapper, setting FIREFOX_DSP=alsa in system-wide config somewhere in /etc/firefox/firefoxrc

I failed to locate right place for these settings.
Reverting to adobe-flash-9 and installing libflashsupport did not help either.

sound from mplayer and mpd works quite fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rexilion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Flash: no sound Reply with quote

Basilio wrote:
Probably not a quite fresh question.
So, I have:
firefox 3.5.7
Chromium 4.0.295.0
adobe-flash 10.0.42.34

Sound card: Intel HDA,
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
audio output is coaxial spdif to receiver.

Kernel 2.6.32-gentoo-r1, alsa compiled in.

Videos from youtube work quite fine, but without sound. In both browsers.

Internets suggest (for Ubuntu for example) installing alsa-oss wrapper, setting FIREFOX_DSP=alsa in system-wide config somewhere in /etc/firefox/firefoxrc

I failed to locate right place for these settings.
Reverting to adobe-flash-9 and installing libflashsupport did not help either.

sound from mplayer and mpd works quite fine.


Try running firefox from a terminal and open a flash page. Sometimes it gives an error or a warning, that should give us a clue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Basilio
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing interesting there:
Code:

basilio@quad ~ $ firefox
(firefox-bin:8758): GLib-WARNING **: g_set_prgname() called multiple times
PluralForm.jsm: Index #2 of 'K; 4>AB83=CB ;8<8B 6C@=0;0 A>>1I5=89 Firebug. 0 2E>645=85 =5 >B>1@0605BAO.;K; 4>AB83=CB ;8<8B 6C@=0;0 A>>1I5=89 Firebug. 5 >B>1@0605BAO 0 2E>645=89.' for value 0 is invalid -- plural rule #7; called by $STRP


IMHO, the main problem is that flash plugin plays sound via oss, not alsa.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2389
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am experiencing the same problem.

1/ Are you running the nspluginwrapper or not ?
If yes, I read in the wiki that rebuilding app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-soundlibs could fix this issue.
It did not for me anyway :evil:

2/ BTW, did you build the 32 version, the 64 or both ?

3/ BTW I do not agree about what you write about flash using OSS.
On the Adobe Flash10 page, one can read :

"Only Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (ALSA) is supported (OSS/ESD will not play audio; audio will silently fail)"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Basilio
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My system runs on 32bits.
nspluginwrapper is used to load 32bit plugins into 64bit browser.
No, I am not using nspluginwrapper.

Flash is using ALSA.. hm.. seems to be I was on a wrong path..

Another guess: flash is using wrong audio output. I need it to use spdif (iec958), how could this be done?
Meanwhile I'm going to test whether it is playing via analog output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2389
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I incidentally managed to sort this out.
At least for my system. As there may be more than one reason for having no sound with flash.
If it can help you :

1/ The pulseaudio way
(I write this like that because... of another thread around... :lol:)
Definitely wanting to get rid of this thing, I dug inside Alsa to find another way.

2/ I read that flash (in absence of pulseaudio) will output sound on the...
Default alsa device !
Having had sound immediately under KDE4, I had not taken care to configure anything about this.
The solution consists in defining this default alsa device, depending on your choice, either as a user preference in $HOME/.asoundrc or system-wide in /etc/asound.conf
Follows the code for my .asoundrc :
Code:
pcm.VirMIDI { type hw; card VirMIDI; }
ctl.VirMIDI { type hw; card VirMIDI; }
pcm.Intel { type hw; card Intel; }
ctl.Intel { type hw; card Intel; }
pcm.M2496 { type hw; card M2496; }
ctl.M2496 { type hw; card M2496; }
pcm.!default pcm.Intel
ctl.!default ctl.Intel

This of course to be adapted to your system. I personally get 2 sound cards.
BTW, regarding what we were looking for, only the pcm.!default line together with the descritpion associated with the label are important.
You can get help for the parameters following the card keyword looking in /proc/asound.
Take the name of symlinks to cardX !

Hope this will help you with this issue !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Basilio
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm...
Setting this:
Code:

pcm.!default cards.pcm.iec958

Turns sound on..
but if the browser is running - it is occupying device. nothing else could be played. mpd complains "problem opening audio device".
mplayer is complaining too:
Code:

[AO_ALSA] Error starting playback: Device or resource busy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2389
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Basilio wrote:

but if the browser is running - it is occupying device. nothing else could be played.

You are absolutely right.
In this mode, flash captures the device !

As far as I understand flash capabilities, if this is a problem for you, I think that the only solution consists in passing through some sound daemon.
And, as far as I can see, the only sound daemon flash seems compatible with is... pulseaudio !
You will loose some audio quality and pay an extra 10% cpu charge (if not more) for this... :twisted:

EDIT : Well, I could be wrong about propulsing pulseaudio as the only solution to this (I agree annoying) problem of device sharing...
there should logically be at least one other through dmix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2389
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, as, at the end of the day, you cannot go far without a sound server somewhere, you can solve your problem that way.
I managed to do this with Jack. (without pulseaudio)
If you are still looking for a solution and following this thread, I can provide details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimmers
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd be interested in hearing the Jack solution.
_________________
I decree today that life is simply taking and not giving. England is mine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2389
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jimmers wrote:
I'd be interested in hearing the Jack solution.

Well, with the following /etc/asound.conf (or $HOME/.asoundrc), the default ALSA device (the one used by flash-player) will be routed to jack.
Code:

pcm.!default {
    type plug
        slave { pcm "jack" }
}
pcm.jackplug {
    type plug
        slave { pcm "jack" }
}
pcm.jack {
    type jack
        playback_ports {
              0 alsa_pcm:playback_1
              1 alsa_pcm:playback_2
        }
        capture_ports {
              0 alsa_pcm:capture_1
              1 alsa_pcm:capture_2
        }
}

QJackctl should show a connection established from a Readable Clients / Output ports of the kind alsa-jack.jackP.... to writable Clients / System / playback_1 and playback_2 as soon as you launch flash from your browser.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See thread.

Run the fuser command that I post everywhere.

fuser -v /dev/snd/* /dev/dsp*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pandora
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Sep 2002
Posts: 93
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
fuser -v /dev/snd/* /dev/dsp*
                     USER        PID ACCESS COMMAND
/dev/snd/pcmC1D0p:   thomas    29679 F...m firefox-bin
When I have Flash running somewhere, I get no sound elsewhere. WHY? WHY THE HELL IS THIS SO DIFFICULT? I JUST WANT SOUND TO WORK. IT'S 2010, FORCHRISTSAKE - I COULD PLAY MULTIPLE SOUNDS ON MY ST IN 1985!

AAAAAAAAAARRRRRGH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pandora wrote:
no sound elsewhere

Stop being uselessly vague. What apps, and are they outputting to OSS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pandora
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Sep 2002
Posts: 93
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
pandora wrote:
no sound elsewhere

Stop being uselessly vague. What apps, and are they outputting to OSS?
Pretty well everything. As soon as Flash is active in any browser, everything else loses sound output including:

Flightgear
ogg123 (-d alsa)
Mythfrontend (Audio output device: ALSA:default)
Pidgin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2389
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@pandora : Did you read posts 7-8-9-10-11 of this thread ?
Did you act accordingly ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pandora
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Sep 2002
Posts: 93
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aCOSwt wrote:
@pandora : Did you read posts 7-8-9-10-11 of this thread ?
Did you act accordingly ?
No, I don't have Jack installed. Are you saying that's the only option? I thought the idea of Alsa was to not need "extras" like that. All my other Alsa programs work together.

I don't have libflashsupport installed, BTW.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had similar problem...
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-825524-highlight-.html

logs being spammed by pulseaudio conflicts. Once conflicts occurred, even killing the second app, spam continue if I keep playing video/sound in the other one.

Did fuser as listed here (with chromium and vlc running) - no sound from vlc:

Code:
fuser -v /dev/snd/* /dev/dsp*
                     USER        PID ACCESS COMMAND
/dev/snd/controlC0:  xtof       4021 F.... pulseaudio
                     xtof       6466 f.... chrome
                     xtof       6657 f.... chrome
/dev/snd/pcmC0D0p:   xtof       6466 F...m chrome
                     xtof       6657 F...m chrome
/dev/snd/timer:      xtof       6466 F.... chrome
                     xtof       6657 F.... chrome


nspluginswrapper is not installed. no OSS. Using alsa/pulseaudio.

not sure what part is at fault here...


[edit] a bit more thinking, as pulseaudio is supposed to know how to merge several sources, i assume it's flash who is trying to use the device directly.... so how do I tell flash to use pulseaudio ?
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7750
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Split off junk
_________________
KDE 4.12 - Get It While It's Hot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikshaar wrote:
i assume it's flash who is trying to use the device directly

No, flash uses PCM "default", IIRC from my tests a while ago - you can prove this by redefining PCM "default".

Edit: Plus, of course, if flash blocked sound, then every man and his dog would be moaning about it. They aren't.

I suggest you try an improved dmix. ALSA obviously has room for improvement :(


Last edited by PaulBredbury on Sat May 01, 2010 1:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
ALSA obviously has room for improvement

Code:
"ERR","pulseaudio[4021]:","","Syslog"," alsa-sink.c: We were woken up with POLLOUT set -- however a subsequent snd_pcm_avail() returned 0 or another value < min_avail."
"ERR","pulseaudio[4021]:","","Syslog"," alsa-sink.c: Most likely this is a bug in the ALSA driver 'snd_hda_intel'. Please report this issue to the ALSA developers."
"ERR","pulseaudio[4021]:","","Syslog"," alsa-sink.c: ALSA woke us up to write new data to the device, but there was actually nothing to write!"

You don't say ;)

Quote:
I suggest you try an improved dmix.

So far I could not make any much sense of dmix. I tried some (as below) but none worked so far.

Code:
pcm.dmix {
        type dmix
        ipc_key 321456  # any unique value
        ipc_key_add_uid true
        slave {
                pcm "hw:0"
        }
}

_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikshaar wrote:
pulseaudio

Get rid of pulseaudio, for it is the Devil's work. The purpose of pulseaudio is to screw up audio, randomly, under the guise of making audio "better". And confusing the Hell out of you in the process.

Quote:
I tried some

Stop trying others. Try the exact dmix method that I ranted about, in the link I just gave you ("pcm.dmixed"). It works, whereas most methods reported on the Internet don't.

Yes, this is a ridiculous situation.

For testing, use speaker-test, e.g.:

Code:
speaker-test -D upmix_20to51_resample -c 2 -t wav
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smithdwsn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can do the following things. In terminal write,
>> sudo apt purge flash*
and then run
>> sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
then again run
>> sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin
I am extremely new to Linux, so I am not sure if this will work. hopefully it does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

smithdwsn wrote:
apt

This is Gentoo - apt isn't used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ReNoiZer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2010 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Аnybody, how about this:
Quote:
Internets suggest (for Ubuntu for example) installing alsa-oss wrapper, setting FIREFOX_DSP=alsa in system-wide config somewhere in /etc/firefox/firefoxrc
?

Settings in file ~/.mozilla/firefox/profiles.ini , don't save, firefox rewrite this file.
Need save next setting globaly in system-wide config:
Code:
[General]
FLASH_FORCE_PULSEAUDIO=1

_________________
сайт (в разработке)
blog
Gentoo Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum