Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
firefox can't find any servers [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jody
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 588
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:34 pm    Post subject: firefox can't find any servers [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi
I'm not sure if this is the correct forum to post this.
If not, please tell me where i shoud post this problem, thank you.

Until recently my firefox worked well.
But now, every page i point it at i get the error message,
for instance "firefox can't find the server at forums.gentoo.org".
But i can successfully ping forums.gentoo.org.

My system:
Code:
Linux enki 2.6.30-gentoo-r6 #1 SMP Fri Jan 1 20:09:49 CET 2010 i686 AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-60 AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

My firefox is 3.5.6 (reemerged it only yesterday)
The same problem occurs for Epiphany 2.26.3-r1 and Seamonkey 1.1.18 (also emerged yesterday)
However, Opera 10.10 (emerge today) works flawlessly.

To me this seems to indicate that some mozilla component has gone bad, but i'm no expert, so ...

Does anybody have an idea what could have gone wrong here?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Jody


Last edited by jody on Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
francofallica
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had the same issue on a friends computer running ubuntu. Never find a solution and just re-installed everything.
I know this is no good answer. In your case I would try to re-emerge gnome. This might help and remember to run revdep-rebuild.

good luck
franco
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7702
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post your /etc/resolv.conf and /etc/hosts?
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jody
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 588
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pilla,
here's the requested files
Code:
jody@enki ~ $ cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Generated by dhcpcd from eth0, wlan0
# /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
nameserver 192.168.1.1
# /etc/resolv.conf.tail can replace this line


Code:
jody@enki ~ $ cat /etc/hosts
# /etc/hosts: Local Host Database
#
# This file describes a number of aliases-to-address mappings for the for
# local hosts that share this file.
#
# In the presence of the domain name service or NIS, this file may not be
# consulted at all; see /etc/host.conf for the resolution order.
#

# IPv4 and IPv6 localhost aliases
127.0.0.1   enki localhost
::1      enki localhost

130.60.XXX.XXX   bio-yeti.xxx.xx       bio-yeti     yeti
130.60.YYY.YYY    bio-plankton.yyy.yy bio-plankton plankton

#
# Imaginary network.
#10.0.0.2               myname
#10.0.0.3               myfriend
#
# According to RFC 1918, you can use the following IP networks for private
# nets which will never be connected to the Internet:
#
#       10.0.0.0        -   10.255.255.255
#       172.16.0.0      -   172.31.255.255
#       192.168.0.0     -   192.168.255.255
#
# In case you want to be able to connect directly to the Internet (i.e. not
# behind a NAT, ADSL router, etc...), you need real official assigned
# numbers.  Do not try to invent your own network numbers but instead get one
# from your network provider (if any) or from your regional registry (ARIN,
# APNIC, LACNIC, RIPE NCC, or AfriNIC.)
#


Thank you
Jody
My hosts file is pretty much out of the box with the exception of the two
machines i entered there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7702
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would you try a /etc/resolv.conf with the following lines, just to test if the issue is not in your router's DNS server?

Code:

nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4


These are Google Public DNS servers.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jody
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 588
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Pilla

I changed the resolv.conf the way you said,
and indeed firefox now works!

But i don't understand why ping and opera worked with the
old nameserver setting (192.168.1.1) and firefox didn't.
Can you explain?

Another problem is that when i (re)start net-eth0, then
dhcp overwrites the contents of resolv.conf.
Is there a way to avoid this?


Thank You very much.
Jody
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7702
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jody,

There is probably something wrong with your router configuration (the 192.168.1.1 one). I don't know why your router would not deal with firefox requests but would answer ping requests.

To avoid overwriting of the resolv.conf, if you are not using openrc you may want to add the "nodns" to your network configuration as in the following manual:

Gentoo Networking Manual
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jody
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 588
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pilla - Thanks a lot!
Jody
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elexorien
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also had the exact same problem. Thank you for helping both of us fix it.

I don't have physical access to the router as a neighbor is letting me connect to his, and he is out of town...

For the life of me, I could not figure out why all my apps could not connect to the internet at all, but I could still ping google. I was trying to update my system, had already sync'd my portage tree, but then the next day I could not download any of the packages to emerge them. Finally I had one package download and after investigating it, it seems that one mirror was in that one package that wasn't in all the others. So then I had to manually wget everything from that one mirror (ftp://ftp.snt.utwente.nl to be exact).

I think I even tried to edit my resolv.conf file yesterday to the openDNS servers, but that didn't work (probably because I restarted net.wlan0 after the edit and before I tested it, so dhcp overwrote it).

Anyway, thanks again :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum