Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Error code at boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
paintchip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:27 pm    Post subject: Error code at boot Reply with quote

Hi, guys this is my first attempt at installing gentoo and of course I proceeded to mess it up. Upon trying to boot to my kernel from the grub menu I get the following error message:

Root-NFS: no NFS server available, giving up.
VFS: Unable to mount root fs via NFS, trying floppy
VFS: Cannot open root device "hda3" or unknown-block(2,0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option; here are the available partitions:
sda driver: sd
It then lists some numbers next to sda1 sda2 sda3 sr0 and sr1

I found a few other topics on this and they said to make sure I had all of the hardware support for scsi or sata enabled so I went back in and turned all of the options that had scsi or sata on and still get this. I am not sure if i recompiled it right. I changed the options, then ran the make install and then copied the image to the /boot/kernel.

To be honest I am pretty confused as to what I need to enable in the menuconfig and am pretty sure I'm missing something.

here is my lspci:

host bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev02)
PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P PCI to AGP Controller (rec02)
USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller x4 also 1 EHCI
PCI bridge: Intel ... PCI bridge(revc2)
ISA bridge: Intel ... LPC Interface Bridge(rev02)
IDE interface: Intel ... IDE Controller (rev02)
IDE interface intel... SATA Controller (rev02)
SMbus: Intel.. SMBus Controller (rev02)
Multimedia audio controller: Intel.. AC'97 Audion controller rev02
VGA Compatible controller: nVidia GeForce FX53200
Multimedia audio controller:creative labs SB Live
Input device controller: creative labs SB Live Input device controller
Ethernet controller: Intel.. 10/100

My grub.conf is:

title Gentoo Linux 2.6.31-r6
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.31-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/hda3

the recovery is the same except with init=/bin/bash at the end. My partitioning is the same as the one in the guide with hda1 for boot hda2 for swap and hda3 for root. The only difference is it made me use hda instead of sda then using fdisk. This is all new to me and I would like to learn what options I should have enabled. unless of course it is that my grub.conf is set up incorrectly. Sorry for the long post, but I wanted to make sure any necessary info was there. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7478
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

title Gentoo Linux 2.6.31-r6
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.31-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/sda3

The new libata drivers use sd nomenclature for all hard drives, sr for cd/dvd.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try with grub.conf like this:
Code:
default 0
timeout 10

title Gentoo Linux 2.6.31-r6
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.31-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/sda3


Also check that your fstab contains /dev/sd... devices.

Reboot the install CD and mount your partitions:
Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot

and edit /mnt/gentoo/etc/fstab and /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paintchip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, guys. i just changed my fstab and grub to sda and it originally gave me another weird error at first giving me the option of control D. i did that and it booted up. Weird how one makes me use hda while another requires sda. I guess they just wanted to make sure I messed up. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum