Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Managed Host with Gentoo in San Jose,Japan or Hong Kong
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pyrotek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:13 am    Post subject: Managed Host with Gentoo in San Jose,Japan or Hong Kong Reply with quote

Hello,

I now have a need for a managed server in another country.

In order of preference :-
1)San Jose
2) Japan
3) Hong Kong

I need to be able to use SSL VPN and ssh with GPG keys.
100gb per month transfers.

I would like it to run gentoo. :)

Can anyone suggest me some good hosts?
I would like to keep the cost down but I must have good stability since ALL my connections will be going via this host.
This cost will be on top of my already high ISP cost.

Thanks everyone
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArmorSuit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

By "managed" do you mean having the provider manage the OS/software for you, or just the hardware? Is a VPS an option for you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pyrotek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ArmorSuit:-

Managed Hardware, VPS is an option as long as it will meet my requirements.
I've never had to use a service like this, so I am not sure what I need to look(out) for when selecting a VPS and or managed hardware vendor.

I don't want the provider to mange the box...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArmorSuit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I do recommend VPS over dedicated, especially Linode -- good support, fast machines and they provide Gentoo, their current image is 2008.0, but you can do a stage3 quickly from latest tarballs using a recovery profile. They have a selection of datacenters to chose from, no San Jose but Freemont (close enough?).

As for your requirements, you get of course root access -- you actually install and manage whole OS yourself -- and can install anything, VPN included. Check their ToS though, I don't know what else you might require.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pyrotek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ArmorSuit:

I am guessing you have person expreance with linnode?

I don't think Freemont will be an issue.
My ISP internation connections that end in San Jose so Freemont is close enough.

If you do have expreance with lin node, whats the speed like of the host and teh network.
I have a 20mbit out going pipe.

Will lin node support 20mbits throughput, I understand I will get less going over seas but lets not worry about that just now.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rgk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 140
Location: ny

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pyrotek wrote:
ArmorSuit:

I am guessing you have person expreance with linnode?

I don't think Freemont will be an issue.
My ISP internation connections that end in San Jose so Freemont is close enough.

If you do have expreance with lin node, whats the speed like of the host and teh network.
I have a 20mbit out going pipe.

Will lin node support 20mbits throughput, I understand I will get less going over seas but lets not worry about that just now.

Thanks


linode is a great host i also use them
for the most part the connection is great, but i can't find the exact details maybe you could email them?
_________________
MadGizmo.com is awesome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArmorSuit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I don't know the bandwidth caps either. I have a 360 MB node (weakest) on the east coast and I rarely get more than 1Mbit traffic, but that could likely be for other reasons (most of the visitors are from Europe). Yeah, better email the support and see.

I seriously doubt you can get a 10Mbit or better even with a dedicated machine, in the vicinity of that price range ($20 - $100). Except maybe some really cheap host, that also happens to have a datacenter on the west coast, and that also happens to support Gentoo (or out of band access for you to do a stage3 manually). But such hosts usually translate to worst possible quality of support.

Slicehost has, iirc, 10Mbit on their cheapest slices, but I can't remember where their datacenters are. Their slices are slower than Linode's, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pyrotek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rgk,
thanks for the info on linnode.

ArmorSuit,

So 1mbit is not common speed for you?
I will need to send them off an E-mail.
Eather way my internet will be slow

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum