Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Does anyone else change DEs or WMs often?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
phlux
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:35 pm    Post subject: Does anyone else change DEs or WMs often? Reply with quote

I feel like ever since I began my *nix venture (~2001) I've swapped back and forth between DEs and WMs way too often. I'll get hung up on one for a while, and then move on to something on the opposite end of the spectrum.

I started out with KDE back then (FreeBSD 4.3) and I've enjoyed watching them change over the years, but I always end up finding something else and giving it a try. So far with Gentoo (I've been using Gentoo as a primary OS for roughly 2 years now) I've been through GNOME3, KDE, XFCE, fluxbox, openbox, and I'm currently using i3wm.

I've been using i3 for the longest time now, and I honestly don't see myself changing again (although I've said that before.) I think I've really been looking for a tiling WM this entire time, but never even entertained the idea for whatever reason. Now that I'm used to it, I really enjoy being able to watch youtube on one half of my screen, and IRC on the other. I'll attach a link containing a screenshot for those interested.

So honestly, just out of curiosity, do any of you find yourselves trying out new DEs or WMs just for the heck of it? Do you give it a fair chance (a week or so of regular use) or do you immediately move on after starting it up for an hour? Do you think you've finally landed on that DE or WM that you'll use as long as its in development?
phlux
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forgot to post the screenshot!

http://imgur.com/u6PVHjO
smartass
Apprentice
Apprentice

Location: right behind you ... (you did turn around, didn't you?)