Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
QT installation issues.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
manu_leo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2014
Posts: 513
Location: India

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:52 am    Post subject: QT installation issues. Reply with quote

Hi Experts, I am trying to install QT on my gentoo box since RStudio needs it. However when I try doing that, I get the below warning messages :-

Code:
 # emerge --ask @qt5-essentials @qt5-addons
WARNING: One or more repositories have been ignored due to duplicate
  profiles/repo_name entries:

  /, gentoo, /var/lib/layman/gentoo overrides
    /usr/portage

  All profiles/repo_name entries must be unique in order to avoid having
  duplicates ignored. Set PORTAGE_REPO_DUPLICATE_WARN="0" in
  /etc/portage/make.conf if you would like to disable this warning.



 * IMPORTANT: 15 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news read to view new items.


 * IMPORTANT: 3 config files in '/etc/portage' need updating.
 * See the CONFIGURATION FILES section of the emerge
 * man page to learn how to update config files.

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "dev-qt/qtlocation:5" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- dev-qt/qtlocation-5.9999::qt (masked by: EAPI 6)
- dev-qt/qtlocation-5.8.9999::qt (masked by: EAPI 6)
- dev-qt/qtlocation-5.7.9999::qt (masked by: EAPI 6)
- dev-qt/qtlocation-5.7.0::gentoo (masked by: EAPI 6)
- dev-qt/qtlocation-5.6.9999::qt (masked by: EAPI 6)
- dev-qt/qtlocation-5.6.1::gentoo (masked by: EAPI 6)

The current version of portage supports EAPI '5'. You must upgrade to a
newer version of portage before EAPI masked packages can be installed.
(dependency required by "@qt5-addons" [argument])
For more information, see the MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge
man page or refer to the Gentoo Handbook.


I installed layman and qt layman repo using
Code:
layman -a qt
, and then trying @qt5-essentials @qt5-addons. Please help me if these are the correct qt packages which I am trying to install. If its correct, please help me with the installation and how to get rid of these messages.

Appreciate your quick response and thanks for all your help.
Quote:
uname -a
4.1.15-gentoo-r1 #2 SMP Sat May 14 20:18:03 IST 2016 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2643 v3 @ 3.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Quote:
vim /etc/portage/make.conf
13 USE="bindist mmx sse sse2 qt"
14 PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
15 DISTDIR="${PORTDIR}/distfiles"
16 PKGDIR="${PORTDIR}/packages"
17 source /var/lib/layman/make.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30915
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have installed gentoo overlay but this is already present in /usr/portage, try
Code:
# layman -d gentoo

but I'm not sure is the only problem
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 8936

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
The current version of portage supports EAPI '5'. You must upgrade to a
newer version of portage before EAPI masked packages can be installed.
(dependency required by "@qt5-addons" [argument])
For more information, see the MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge
man page or refer to the Gentoo Handbook.

When did you last sync (and update) portage?

Code:
WARNING: One or more repositories have been ignored due to duplicate
  profiles/repo_name entries:

  /, gentoo, /var/lib/layman/gentoo overrides
    /usr/portage

  All profiles/repo_name entries must be unique in order to avoid having
  duplicates ignored. Set PORTAGE_REPO_DUPLICATE_WARN="0" in
  /etc/portage/make.conf if you would like to disable this warning.



 * IMPORTANT: 15 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news read to view new items.


 * IMPORTANT: 3 config files in '/etc/portage' need updating.
 * See the CONFIGURATION FILES section of the emerge
 * man page to learn how to update config files.

Please read news items, update your configuration files and restore sanity in your repositories.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manu_leo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2014
Posts: 513
Location: India

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks asturm and fedeliallalinea for the feedback.

I got the point of layman -d gentoo, so I will go ahead and comment this entry out.

Regarding the emerge sync, it was done sometime back, I think 170 days back, I will definitely go ahead and do an emerge --sync and let you know how it goes.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manu_leo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2014
Posts: 513
Location: India

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apologies for the delay in getting back. I did the emerge-webrsync and now when I try to emerge qt, get the below info :-

Code:
emerge --ask @qt5-essentials @qt5-addons
setlocale: unsupported locale setting
setlocale: unsupported locale setting
emerge: There are no sets to satisfy 'qt5-essentials'. The following sets exist:

    changed-deps
    downgrade
    installed
    live-rebuild
    module-rebuild
    preserved-rebuild
    profile
    rebuilt-binaries
    security
    selected
    selected-packages
    selected-sets
    system
    unavailable
    unavailable-binaries
    world
    x11-module-rebuild


Please suggest would would be the next course of action here to get this resolved.

Thanks for all the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 8708
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

Those sets are available only through the qt overlay.
Did you install this overlay?

What documentation do you follow that need it?
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30915
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@qt5-essentials @qt5-addons are available on kde overlay.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 8936

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

These sets were gone the moment you removed qt overlay. Do you know which Qt packages are required by 'RStudio'? You could create your own set of Qt packages and only pick those that are needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manu_leo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2014
Posts: 513
Location: India

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks all for valuable feedback, so here is what I did :-

I tried installing layman using
emerge layman

Then I did
Code:
layman -S
and
Code:
layman -a qt
and
Code:
layman -a gentoo
, in order to add qt overlay.

Once this completed, I tried installing qt using
Code:
 emerge --ask @qt5-essentials @qt5-addons



Please suggest if I am missing something or doing something incorrectly.

Thanks for all the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30915
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
layman -a gentoo

is not needed.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manu_leo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2014
Posts: 513
Location: India

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I just added this. I can go ahead and remove it, however the emerge for qt is still not happening.

Please suggest how to get this resolved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30915
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

manu_leo wrote:
Please suggest how to get this resolved.

Your procedure is correct (apart add gentoo overlay). indeed
Code:
# layman -a qt

 * Adding overlay...
 * Running Git... # ( cd /var/lib/layman  && /usr/bin/git clone git://anongit.gentoo.org/proj/qt.git /var/lib/layman/qt )
Cloning into '/var/lib/layman/qt'...
remote: Counting objects: 33845, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (14542/14542), done.
remote: Total 33845 (delta 21123), reused 30245 (delta 18704)
Receiving objects: 100% (33845/33845), 5.96 MiB | 5.55 MiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (21123/21123), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
 * Running Git... # ( cd /var/lib/layman/qt  && /usr/bin/git config user.name "layman" )
 * Running Git... # ( cd /var/lib/layman/qt  && /usr/bin/git config user.email "layman@localhost" )
 * Successfully added overlay(s) qt.
# emerge @qt5-essentials @qt5-addons

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] dev-qt/qtcore-5.6.1:5/5.6::gentoo  USE="icu -debug -systemd {-test}" 0 KiB
....


You have configured layman?
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manu_leo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2014
Posts: 513
Location: India

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I installed layman and the qt overlay using layman -a qt. It says that qt is added now. Now when I do emerge for qt5 , I get the below output

emerge --ask @qt5-essentials @qt5-addons
setlocale: unsupported locale setting
setlocale: unsupported locale setting
emerge: There are no sets to satisfy 'qt5-essentials'. The following sets exist:

changed-deps
downgrade
installed
live-rebuild
module-rebuild
preserved-rebuild
profile
rebuilt-binaries
security
selected
selected-packages
selected-sets
system
unavailable
unavailable-binaries

Not sure where to go from here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Josef.95
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 4553
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm, for rstudio is not needed using overlays and Sets from overlay.
All needed Qt Dependencies is in the rstudio ebuild already set.
grep -e QT_ -e dev-qt `equery w rstudio`:
QT_VER=5.4
QT_SLOT=5
                >=dev-qt/qtcore-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtdeclarative-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtdbus-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtgui-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtnetwork-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtopengl-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtpositioning-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtprintsupport-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtsingleapplication-2.6.1_p20150629[qt5]
                >=dev-qt/qtsensors-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtsql-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtsvg-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtwebkit-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtwidgets-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtxml-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}
                >=dev-qt/qtxmlpatterns-${QT_VER}:${QT_SLOT}

Just
Code:
emerge -av sci-mathematics/rstudio
should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum