Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Use microphone from USB webcam
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Yuu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 223
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:24 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Use microphone from USB webcam Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I want to use the microphone which is on my USB webcam :
Code:
root@laptop ~ # lsusb | grep -i cam
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 05a9:2640 OmniVision Technologies, Inc. OV2640 Webcam


I have activated the kernel module for USB audio/midi :
Code:
Device Drivers  --->
    <*> Sound card support  --->
        <*>   Advanced Linux Sound Architecture  --->
            [*]   USB sound devices  --->
                <M>   USB Audio/MIDI driver


Only the video part of my webcam is currently working, because I have activated this on the kernel :
Code:
Device Drivers  --->
    Multimedia devices  --->
    <*> Video For Linux
    [*]   Enable Video For Linux API 1 (DEPRECATED)
    [*] Video capture adapters  --->
        [*]   V4L USB devices  --->
            <M>   USB Video Class (UVC)
            [*]     UVC input events device support
            <*>   OmniVision Camera Chip support


So, I've got theses modules loaded :
Code:
root@laptop ~ # lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_usb_audio          91280  0
snd_usb_lib            16384  1 snd_usb_audio
snd_rawmidi            20992  1 snd_usb_lib
acpi_cpufreq            9296  0
nvidia               8113016  30
ieee80211_crypt_tkip     9280  0
wl                   1262624  0
uvcvideo               54216  0
thermal                19232  0
processor              45048  4 acpi_cpufreq,thermal
button                  7712  0


I have added this to my /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf :
Code:
alias snd-card-1 snd-usb-audio
alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
options snd-usb-audio index=1
# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=2


I have also run update-modules, rebooted my computer or alsasound.

But I couldn't get my webcam's microphone working. It seems that the microphone is not even detected :
Code:
root@laptop ~ # arecord --list-devices
**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
  Subdevices: 2/2
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1

Code:
root@laptop ~ # arecord --list-pcms
default:CARD=Intel
    HDA Intel, STAC92xx Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, STAC92xx Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, STAC92xx Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, STAC92xx Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, STAC92xx Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, STAC92xx Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, STAC92xx Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)

Code:
root@laptop ~ # cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [Intel          ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
                      HDA Intel at 0xfebfc000 irq 21

Code:
root@laptop ~ # cat /proc/asound/pcm
00-00: STAC92xx Analog : STAC92xx Analog : playback 1 : capture 2
00-01: STAC92xx Digital : STAC92xx Digital : playback 1




Any ideas ?

Thank you, and sorry for my bad english :wink:
_________________
Main laptop : T8300 cpu | 200 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | 8600M GT | Gentoo x86_64
Server : Celeron 220 cpu | 250 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | SiS 662 VGA | Gentoo x86_64


Last edited by Yuu on Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:57 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yuu,

Your Englisg is much better than my French, so lets stick to English.
In /dev/snd you should have one controlCX when X is a digit for each sound card.

If thats there try
Code:
alsamixer -c 0
and
Code:
alsamixer -c 1
to see the controls on your two sound cards. One of them should only have a single slider - thats your webcam.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yuu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 223
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your fast reply NeddySeagoon :)


It seems that I have only one controlC in /dev/snd :
Code:
root@laptop ~ # ls /dev/snd
controlC0  hwC0D0  hwC0D1  pcmC0D0c  pcmC0D0p  pcmC0D1p  seq  timer


For the control of my cards, "alsamixer -c 0" is working, but showing the same output as "alsamixer" without arguments.
So, i assume that alsamixer is displaying the information of the first soundcard when no arguments are given.

But with argument "-c 1", it seems that alsamixer cannot manage the "second card".. I mean the microphone's webcam.
Code:
root@laptop ~ # alsamixer -c 1
wrong -c argument '1'



I'm wondering why the microphone is not detected. Maybe a bad configuration ?

(PS : i have used this guide to only get video working)
_________________
Main laptop : T8300 cpu | 200 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | 8600M GT | Gentoo x86_64
Server : Celeron 220 cpu | 250 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | SiS 662 VGA | Gentoo x86_64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yuu,

You have the /dev node missing for your webcam sound. Its not likely to be the USB subsystem as the video works.

Please post your entire /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yuu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 223
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again,

Here is my /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf :

Code:
# Alsa kernel modules' configuration file.

# ALSA portion
alias char-major-116 snd
# OSS/Free portion
alias char-major-14 soundcore

##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
##  ALSA portion
## alias snd-card-0 snd-interwave
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
##  OSS/Free portion
## alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
## alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##

# OSS/Free portion - card #1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
##  OSS/Free portion - card #2
## alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
## alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
## alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss

alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss

alias snd-card-1 snd-usb-audio
alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
options snd-usb-audio index=1


# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=2


Thank you :)
_________________
Main laptop : T8300 cpu | 200 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | 8600M GT | Gentoo x86_64
Server : Celeron 220 cpu | 250 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | SiS 662 VGA | Gentoo x86_64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yuu,

You need to uncomment
Code:
## alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
## alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
## alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss
so you get the controls

and uncomment and fix ## alias snd-card-0 snd-interwave
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
for your two sound cards. The second one is already done further down the file here
Code:
alias snd-card-1 snd-usb-audio
alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1


I don't think the
Code:
options snd-usb-audio index=1
is actually obeyed any more.
Sometimes snd-usb-audio loads before my real sound card, then sound doesn't work. After all, playing sounds via a webcam isn't very good.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yuu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 223
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm.. It still does not work :/

I modified my /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf like this :
Code:
# Alsa kernel modules' configuration file.

# ALSA portion
alias char-major-116 snd
# OSS/Free portion
alias char-major-14 soundcore

##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
##  ALSA portion
## alias snd-card-0 snd-interwave
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
##  OSS/Free portion
## alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
## alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##

# OSS/Free portion - card #1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
##  OSS/Free portion - card #2
alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss

alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss

alias snd-card-1 snd-usb-audio
alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1

# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=2


Then, I did a "update-modules", recompiled my kernel to have the Intel HDA audio as module :
Code:
Device Drivers  --->
  <*> Sound card support  --->
    <*>   Advanced Linux Sound Architecture  --->
      [*]   PCI sound devices  --->
        <M>   Intel HD Audio
        [*]     Build hwdep interface for HD-audio driver
        [ ]     Support digital beep via input layer
        [*]     Build Realtek HD-audio codec support
        ...etc


Then, i rebooted with my new kernel and my new module:
Code:
root@laptop ~ # lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_usb_audio          91280  0
snd_usb_lib            16384  1 snd_usb_audio
snd_rawmidi            21056  1 snd_usb_lib
acpi_cpufreq            9296  0
nvidia               8113016  30
ieee80211_crypt_tkip     9280  0
wl                   1262624  0
snd_hda_intel         488480  0
uvcvideo               54216  0
thermal                19296  0
snd_hwdep               8008  2 snd_usb_audio,snd_hda_intel
processor              45048  4 acpi_cpufreq,thermal
button                  7712  0



There's still no microphone around there:
Code:
root@laptop ~ # arecord --list-devices
**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
  Subdevices: 2/2
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
root@laptop ~ # cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [Intel          ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
                      HDA Intel at 0xfebfc000 irq 21
root@laptop ~ # cat /proc/asound/pcm
00-00: STAC92xx Analog : STAC92xx Analog : playback 1 : capture 2
00-01: STAC92xx Digital : STAC92xx Digital : playback 1
root@laptop ~ # alsamixer -c1
wrong -c argument '1'

root@laptop ~ #



Thank you :)
_________________
Main laptop : T8300 cpu | 200 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | 8600M GT | Gentoo x86_64
Server : Celeron 220 cpu | 250 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | SiS 662 VGA | Gentoo x86_64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yuu,

Please post your /proc/bus/usb/devices ... all of it. I would like to look at your USB device tree.
You can
Code:
emege usbview
if you would like to see what I will see
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yuu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 223
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Here it is :
Code:
yuu@laptop ~ $ cat /proc/bus/usb/devices

T:  Bus=07 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#=  1 Spd=12  MxCh= 2
B:  Alloc=  0/900 us ( 0%), #Int=  0, #Iso=  0
D:  Ver= 1.10 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1d6b ProdID=0001 Rev= 2.06
S:  Manufacturer=Linux 2.6.28-tuxonice-r10 uhci_hcd
S:  Product=UHCI Host Controller
S:  SerialNumber=0000:00:1d.2
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=  0mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   2 Ivl=255ms

T:  Bus=06 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#=  1 Spd=12  MxCh= 2
B:  Alloc= 29/900 us ( 3%), #Int=  2, #Iso=  0
D:  Ver= 1.10 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1d6b ProdID=0001 Rev= 2.06
S:  Manufacturer=Linux 2.6.28-tuxonice-r10 uhci_hcd
S:  Product=UHCI Host Controller
S:  SerialNumber=0000:00:1d.1
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=  0mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   2 Ivl=255ms

T:  Bus=06 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#=  2 Spd=1.5 MxCh= 0
D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS= 8 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=046d ProdID=c521 Rev=57.01
S:  Manufacturer=Logitech
S:  Product=USB Receiver
C:* #Ifs= 2 Cfg#= 1 Atr=a0 MxPwr= 98mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=03(HID  ) Sub=01 Prot=02 Driver=usbhid
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   8 Ivl=10ms
I:* If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=03(HID  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=usbhid
E:  Ad=82(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   8 Ivl=10ms

T:  Bus=05 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#=  1 Spd=12  MxCh= 2
B:  Alloc=  0/900 us ( 0%), #Int=  0, #Iso=  0
D:  Ver= 1.10 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1d6b ProdID=0001 Rev= 2.06
S:  Manufacturer=Linux 2.6.28-tuxonice-r10 uhci_hcd
S:  Product=UHCI Host Controller
S:  SerialNumber=0000:00:1d.0
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=  0mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   2 Ivl=255ms

T:  Bus=04 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#=  1 Spd=12  MxCh= 2
B:  Alloc=  0/900 us ( 0%), #Int=  0, #Iso=  0
D:  Ver= 1.10 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1d6b ProdID=0001 Rev= 2.06
S:  Manufacturer=Linux 2.6.28-tuxonice-r10 uhci_hcd
S:  Product=UHCI Host Controller
S:  SerialNumber=0000:00:1a.1
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=  0mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   2 Ivl=255ms

T:  Bus=03 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#=  1 Spd=12  MxCh= 2
B:  Alloc=  0/900 us ( 0%), #Int=  0, #Iso=  0
D:  Ver= 1.10 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1d6b ProdID=0001 Rev= 2.06
S:  Manufacturer=Linux 2.6.28-tuxonice-r10 uhci_hcd
S:  Product=UHCI Host Controller
S:  SerialNumber=0000:00:1a.0
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=  0mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   2 Ivl=255ms

T:  Bus=02 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#=  1 Spd=480 MxCh= 6
B:  Alloc=  0/800 us ( 0%), #Int=  1, #Iso=  0
D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1d6b ProdID=0002 Rev= 2.06
S:  Manufacturer=Linux 2.6.28-tuxonice-r10 ehci_hcd
S:  Product=EHCI Host Controller
S:  SerialNumber=0000:00:1d.7
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=  0mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   4 Ivl=256ms

T:  Bus=02 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=05 Cnt=01 Dev#=  3 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=ef(unk. ) Sub=02 Prot=01 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=05a9 ProdID=2640 Rev= 1.00
S:  Manufacturer=OmniVision Technologies, Inc. -2640-07.07.20.3
S:  Product=Laptop Integrated Webcam
C:* #Ifs= 2 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=500mA
A:  FirstIf#= 0 IfCount= 2 Cls=0e(video) Sub=03 Prot=00
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=0e(video) Sub=01 Prot=00 Driver=uvcvideo
E:  Ad=83(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   8 Ivl=4096ms
I:* If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 0 Cls=0e(video) Sub=02 Prot=00 Driver=uvcvideo
I:  If#= 1 Alt= 1 #EPs= 1 Cls=0e(video) Sub=02 Prot=00 Driver=uvcvideo
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=05(Isoc) MxPS=1020 Ivl=125us

T:  Bus=01 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#=  1 Spd=480 MxCh= 4
B:  Alloc=  0/800 us ( 0%), #Int=  0, #Iso=  0
D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1d6b ProdID=0002 Rev= 2.06
S:  Manufacturer=Linux 2.6.28-tuxonice-r10 ehci_hcd
S:  Product=EHCI Host Controller
S:  SerialNumber=0000:00:1a.7
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=  0mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   4 Ivl=256ms



Thank you :)
_________________
Main laptop : T8300 cpu | 200 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | 8600M GT | Gentoo x86_64
Server : Celeron 220 cpu | 250 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | SiS 662 VGA | Gentoo x86_64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yuu,

I don't think the microphone is a part of the webcam.
Your /proc/bus/usb/devices shows that the webcam belongs entirely to
Code:
Name: uvcvideo


I suspect that your microphone is attached to the mic input of your normal sound card. Run alsamixer and press F4 to see only the capture controls.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yuu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 223
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aww.. I'm sorry.
I was sure it was a part of my webcam, because the microphone is near the webcam's CMOS sensor.

Here is a capture of my capture controls in alsamixer : http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/6092/alsamixer.png

Now, I should learn how to configure my softwares to use the microphone...

--
Edited : the link is fixed and the image is now in real size
_________________
Main laptop : T8300 cpu | 200 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | 8600M GT | Gentoo x86_64
Server : Celeron 220 cpu | 250 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | SiS 662 VGA | Gentoo x86_64


Last edited by Yuu on Sat Oct 17, 2009 5:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yuu,

Its an easy mistake to make - I've learned something too - I did not ask the questions in the right order.
Not to worry.

I can't read your image. Its far too small but I have an Intel-HDA so I expect its the same as mine. The mic is probably connected as Front Mic (the left capture control), so set that control up. Recording cannot mix sources so choose Front Mic from Sources, the rightmost conrol.
At the top left of alsamixer, you should see
Code:
Item: Input Source [Front Mic] 


Now try a simple recording application, like Sound Recorder if you are a Gnome user.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yuu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 223
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, i have raise all the volume bars, but I have no sound yet.

Here is a capture from all "views" in alsamixer : http://img240.imageshack.us/img240/5323/screenshot2009101719551.png
And here is the "capture view" : http://img61.imageshack.us/img61/3500/screenshot2009101719582.png

For the source, I don't have "Item: Input Source [Front Mic]", I have only theses items in the capture view :
- Capture [dB gain=22.50, 22.50]
- Capture 1 [dB gain=13.50, 13.50]
- Digital [dB gain=30.00, 30.00]
- Input Source [Mic] (whith no bar)
- Input Source 1 [Mic] (whith no bar)
- Mux [dB gain=40.00, 40.00]
- Mux 1 [dB gain=40.00, 40.00]

And since I'm a Xfce user i only have arecord, aplay and Skype. For testing, I've used :
Code:
yuu@laptop ~ $ arecord -d 10 -f cd -t wav sample.wav
Recording WAVE 'sample.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Stereo


But when I try to read the file, I don't hear any sound from my speakers.
Code:
yuu@laptop ~ $ aplay sample.wav
Playing WAVE 'sample.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Stereo


PS : I don't hear my voice from skype test call too.
_________________
Main laptop : T8300 cpu | 200 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | 8600M GT | Gentoo x86_64
Server : Celeron 220 cpu | 250 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | SiS 662 VGA | Gentoo x86_64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yuu,

Try different Input Sources for your recording
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yuu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 223
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi and thank you for your reply.

Unfortunately, I forgot to mark this topic as "[Solved]", because it's solved since about eight months ago.

Here is a screenshot of my working setup, if anyone has the same issue.

---
By the way, I think that one moderator/admin can close this subject
_________________
Main laptop : T8300 cpu | 200 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | 8600M GT | Gentoo x86_64
Server : Celeron 220 cpu | 250 GB hard drive | 2 GB of ram | SiS 662 VGA | Gentoo x86_64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 620
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All of these images have been magically converted to 57 second radio shack commercials....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum