Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
The new OpenRC networking script
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Etal
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 1692

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:15 pm    Post subject: The new OpenRC networking script Reply with quote

The new OpenRC (0.5.1) got this new flag:
Code:
oldnet: Install the old type of network init-scripts with a symlink net.IFACE for each interface


So apparently now, instead of the usual net.eth0, net.wlan0, etc., there is a new way to do things; however, I can not find anything about it except the 0.5 announcement and announcement of the networking change...

Is there any any actual documentation on how to migrate to and use the new network script (aside for the comments in the file)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pdw_hu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 200
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:29 pm    Post subject: Re: The new OpenRC networking script Reply with quote

AM088 wrote:
The new OpenRC (0.5.1) got this new flag:
Code:
oldnet: Install the old type of network init-scripts with a symlink net.IFACE for each interface


So apparently now, instead of the usual net.eth0, net.wlan0, etc., there is a new way to do things; however, I can not find anything about it except the 0.5 announcement and announcement of the networking change...

Is there any any actual documentation on how to migrate to and use the new network script (aside for the comments in the file)?


Wondering myself...
Anyway the good old, wpa_supplicant -Dwext -B -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -i wlan0 + dhcpcd wlan0 works as always but it really seems this openrc update was a bit rushed without any proper info to get it working.
Why would you want to stick with anything that has "old" in it's name after an update? :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ziggysquatch
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 172
Location: /USA/Minnesota

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Over at Funtoo there is some documentation on it. Not sure if it applies to Gentoo but i would think it's the same.

http://www.funtoo.org/en/funtoo/networking/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Follow this thread: (openRC support thread - there is some information there)

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-790100-postdays-0-postorder-asc-start-25.html
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact, it's time to have an official migration guide or something that we can read more about it officially.

The Funtoo doc is good, but we need a Gentoo guide too here :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Etal
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 1692

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
In fact, it's time to have an official migration guide or something that we can read more about it officially.

The Funtoo doc is good, but we need a Gentoo guide too here :P


Yeah, an official guide is really needed.

The Funtoo guide, though, is actually different from openrc - they're trying to get rid of the networking configuration "infrastructure" entirely, and just use the tools like ifconfig directly. Which actually sounds really nice, except there does not seem to be a comprehensive guide so that I could learn how to do what I want without ending up with no internet.

Here's what I currently have and what I want to keep: netplug manages which interface is used based on whether the ethernet is plugged in, wpa_supplicant manages the wireless, and the IP addresses are acquired via dhcpcd. How to start it all up manually, I have no clue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact, I have no clue too.

Roy wrote:

But what about the other DHCP clients - I want to use dhclient with ifplugd/wpa_supplicant. You have two options here - keep on using the exiting network modules or script ifplugd/wpa_supplicant yourself. Or use something else like NetworkManager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe if you use the use flag that disable the new stuff from OpenRc, then maybe you will be able to run like you are used to do.

If you find something, just post here :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Etal
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 1692

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Maybe if you use the use flag that disable the new stuff from OpenRc, then maybe you will be able to run like you are used to do.

If you find something, just post here :P


I am running with oldnet, so it is working fine. The reason I'm posting here is because I want to learn a new way :D

I guess I'll have to wait until I have a few days of free time and read some docs on how all the components fit together. Can't do it now because losing the Internet connection would be a big no-no for me. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact, testing some network stuff can be pretty hard if you actually crash your internet connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Until the release of an official guide, I will mask the 0.5 version or at least I will use new the use flag that remove all the new stuff.

Last edited by d2_racing on Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
... at least I will use new the use flag that remove all the new stuff.


What does that mean?
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JC99
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 782
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Until the release of an official guide, I will mask the 0.5 version or...


What if we already installed 0.5.1?

I installed it yesterday, THEN read about all this stuff. I am afraid to reboot my system fearing my network/internet will no longer work.

Do you have a general idea about when an official guide will be released? I would like to learn the new way of doing things too.

Update: I see openrc has the "oldnet" useflag set, does this mean my net.ethx will work and I can reboot without any problems?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

EvilEye wrote:
Update: I see openrc has the "oldnet" useflag set, does this mean my net.ethx will work and I can reboot without any problems?


As far as I know, yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rahulthewall wrote:
d2_racing wrote:
... at least I will use new the use flag that remove all the new stuff.


What does that mean?


I mean the new use flag oldnet

Code:

# quse -D oldnet
local:oldnet:sys-apps/openrc: Install the old type of network init-scripts with a symlink net.IFACE for each interface
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huckabuck
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 110
Location: Bronx, NY

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have openrc 0.5.1 installed now for a few days, and oldnet useflag was set by default profile. Reboot has not been a problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sylware
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 159
Location: European Union (Paris / France)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:07 pm    Post subject: bloody hell! Reply with quote

Come on, drop ifconfig support for good in the new openrc!
What is this mess with bsd kernel tools and linux kernel tools?? Have specific scripts for each kernel, bloody hell!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6741
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:15 pm    Post subject: Re: bloody hell! Reply with quote

sylware wrote:
Come on, drop ifconfig support for good in the new openrc!


iproute2 only exists in Linux, so no.

Quote:
What is this mess with bsd kernel tools and linux kernel tools?? Have specific scripts for each kernel, bloody hell!


Again no, scripts should be portable across kernels and tools where possible.
I see no benefit in ignoring ifconfig for this :)
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sylware
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 159
Location: European Union (Paris / France)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:59 pm    Post subject: Re: bloody hell! Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
sylware wrote:
Come on, drop ifconfig support for good in the new openrc!


iproute2 only exists in Linux, so no.


I forgot to add for the Linux kernel.

UberLord wrote:
Quote:
What is this mess with bsd kernel tools and linux kernel tools?? Have specific scripts for each kernel, bloody hell!


Again no, scripts should be portable across kernels and tools where possible.
I see no benefit in ignoring ifconfig for this :)


I do not agree, I think that anything which is too intimate with a kernel should have specific code and scripts (and I see BSD code as a threat so it does not help). Moreover bsd ifconfig is different from linux ifconfig (which has been meant to be replaced by iproute2 for years), that's why you have many switches in the script to handle the 2 ifconfig differently.

Well Roy Marple choices are different and I don't have time to allocate in order to maintain a lean and clean GPL linux version of openrc, then I shut up and sharpen my anger silentely.

What's up with initng and upstart for gentoo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sera
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Feb 2008
Posts: 1017
Location: CET

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:32 pm    Post subject: Re: bloody hell! Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:

Again no, scripts should be portable across kernels and tools where possible.
I see no benefit in ignoring ifconfig for this :)


Across kernels I agree, if Gentoo want's pure linux init scripts it can provide them itself. But across tools is exactly the old net.lo approach. So I was wondering myself why the current script "network" doesn't come as three different scripts. As net.loopback, net.ifconfig, net.iproute2 for example. This would also allow neater configuration files I guess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the new setup. It works quietly, and quite well. My only question/suggestion is perhaps the next version might be intuitive enough to not change things back once you get the new script setup. This change might inspire me to put baselayout-2/openrc on another of my machines.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sheepish head slap! I suppose using -oldnet is a good way to get that done. Who needs intuitive? hehehe

Good work on this one. I have it set up properly now. Love it!

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So right now, do you have a working lan card and what about your Wifi card ?

Can you tell us more about your experiment ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sera
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Feb 2008
Posts: 1017
Location: CET

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
So right now, do you have a working lan card and what about your Wifi card ?

Can you tell us more about your experiment ?


For the wlan card.

Build the wpa_supplicant init script as described in post: 6008568.
Add it to the boot or default runlevel.
Put something like:
Code:
wpa_supplicant_conf="/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf"
wpa_supplicant_if="wlan0"
into /etc/conf.d/wpa_supplicant.
Done.

If it does not exactly what you want edit the init script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use a wired connection to the internet (net.eth0).
Reading this thread I got scared because I updated openrc to 5.1-r1.
I checked /etc/conf.s/net and it had oct 15th datestamp.
The emerge had copied the contents of my previous file into it!
The same happened to /etc/conf.d/network.
I've rebooted and no problems.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 1 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum