Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[overlay] Pro audio production applications, Part 2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 17, 18, 19  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7702
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I will try to do it in the next days.
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evermind
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jan 2004
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

long time silence but I try to update the overlay once again:)
I will pull all updates into the overlay I will find -- thx for helping -- I will look through the bug reports
and post a list of open issues here and on the proaudio mailnglist

after that plz have a look which packages needed to be updated

thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7702
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you evermind !
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evermind
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jan 2004
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,

I've included recentlly posted fixups from audiodef.com and
bumped some ebuild -- NOT tested

I'd like to update the whole overlay, but thats a huge task
so I need the help you all.

############
# bugtracker
############
First have a look at the bugtracker and look which bugs are
still opened. If you can fix it plz create a diff for the
files you modified thats quite simple when u are using the svn
repo directly
see http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki/index.php?title=New_Developer/Maintainer_guide#generate_patches_to_review_some_change

all bugs are here:
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/bugs/view_all_bug_page.php

############
# ebuilds need update
############
some things about this packaes: If someone is willing to contribute here
calf -- more useflags are possible
arpage -- dependencies are missing -- also bugs



###########
# repoman
###########
you could also run repoman within the proaudio directory or just for a specific
ebuild -- you will get lots of errors:)

eg: You want to check for errors in the rosegarden ebuilds,
go into its dir on my box this looks like this
cd /home/evermind/overlays/proaudio/trunk/overlays/proaudio/media-sound/rosegarden
repoman *

now you get some output about all QA related problems -- most of the time the package
still compiles but does not comply with the gentoo ebuild standard quality.


######################
Once again, I'd really like to have diff files against everything in the overlay.
That includes:
* if modified Manifest
* if patches added into files/
* the new/bumped/modified ebuild

ok, if you still not able to produce diffs, so you can also send me the whole files, but I really
prefer diffs

thx for your help and send all patches to my email directly
evermind attttt tuxfamily ddddddddddoooooooootttttttt org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezzieyguywuf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, is it me or does the jack ebuild not install a jack daemon. I do get jack_control and a bunch of other jack_* stuff. But I don't see jackd! and when I jack_control start, nothing happens! Whats going on this is driving me crazy! Oh, this is for the masked and svn builds, not for the stable (old!) build.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ezzieyguywuf wrote:
ok, is it me or does the jack ebuild not install a jack daemon. I do get jack_control and a bunch of other jack_* stuff. But I don't see jackd! and when I jack_control start, nothing happens! Whats going on this is driving me crazy! Oh, this is for the masked and svn builds, not for the stable (old!) build.

You don't have jackd but have jackdbus. And that's a good thing. It seems you emerged jack with dbus useflag. To control jack use media-sound/qjackctl (which is emerged with dbus useflag) or use media-sound/laditools and media-sound/ladish from ladi overlay.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7702
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, but how do you start jack 2 through DBUS with qjackctl ? I cannot find which options to set...
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

XavierMiller wrote:
OK, but how do you start jack 2 through DBUS with qjackctl ? I cannot find which options to set...

Hi, XavierMiller. I am using laditools for starting jack. I tried with qjackctl and it could not start jackdbus here, too. But after I start jackdbus with laditools, qjackctl can connect to it. Anyway I suggest emerging laditools and ladish from ladi overlay. You start jack with laditray (comes with laditools) and connect apps with ladish. Ladish is a session manager and does connections like qjackctl.
Actually from console "jackdbus auto" must work, but does not. So I think it is something wrong with jack. I don't know how laditray can start it right. Maybe qjackctl-9999 will work fine.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I created a live svn qjackctl ebuild by modifing the one in proaudio which was using cvs. And it is working fine with jackdbus. Here it is:
qjackctl-9999.ebuild
Code:

# Copyright 1999-2010 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $

EAPI=1

inherit eutils qt4 subversion

DESCRIPTION="A Qt application to control the JACK Audio Connection Kit and ALSA sequencer connections."
HOMEPAGE="http://qjackctl.sourceforge.net/"

ESVN_REPO_URI="https://qjackctl.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/${PN}/trunk"
SRC_URI=""

LICENSE="GPL-2"
SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS=""

IUSE="alsa debug dbus jackmidi portaudio"

DEPEND="alsa? ( media-libs/alsa-lib )
   || ( (
         x11-libs/qt-core:4
         x11-libs/qt-gui:4
      ) >=x11-libs/qt-4.1:4 )
   dbus? ( x11-libs/qt-dbus )
   portaudio? ( media-libs/portaudio )
   media-sound/jack-audio-connection-kit"

S="${WORKDIR}/${PN}"

src_compile() {
   make -f Makefile.svn || die
   econf \
      $(use_enable jackmidi jack-midi) \
      $(use_enable alsa alsa-seq) \
      $(use_enable debug) \
      $(use_enable dbus) \
      $(use_enable portaudio) \
      || die "econf failed"

   # Emulate what the Makefile does, so that we can get the correct
   # compiler used.
   eqmake4 ${PN}.pro -o ${PN}.mak || die "eqmake4 failed"

   emake -f ${PN}.mak || die "emake failed"
}

src_install() {
   emake DESTDIR="${D}" install || die "make install failed"

   rm "${D}/usr/share/applications/qjackctl.desktop"

   # Upstream desktop file is invalid, better stick with our for now.
   make_desktop_entry "${PN}" "QjackCtl" "${PN}"

   dodoc README ChangeLog TODO AUTHORS
}

In qjackctl setup -> misc, be sure to enable "Enable D-Bus interface". and in the "setup server path" select "jackdbus auto". Then restart qjackctl. It all must be fine now.
Anyway maybe the one in portage has these options, too. I did not checked. (Edit: qjackctl-0.3.5 which is in portage did not worked.)

I wish more people could have commit access to pro-audio overlay, to update the ebuilds.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezzieyguywuf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that keenblade I'll see if I can make that work. Also, why should I use jack2 instead of the old, functioning jack?

update:

Code:
12:40:56.590 Startup script terminated with exit status=32512.
12:40:56.590 JACK is starting...
12:40:56.591 /usr/bin/jackdbus auto -v -R -P2 -dalsa -dhw:0 -r44100 -p1024 -n2 -s
12:40:56.593 JACK was started with PID=13146.
jackdbus should be auto-executed by D-Bus message bus daemon.
If you want to run it manually anyway, specify "auto" as only parameter
12:40:56.599 JACK was stopped successfully.
12:40:56.599 Post-shutdown script...
12:40:56.600 killall jackd
jackd: no process found
12:40:57.010 Post-shutdown script terminated with exit status=256.
12:40:58.774 Could not connect to JACK server as client. - Overall operation failed. - Unable to connect to server. Please check the messages window for more info.
Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server socket
jack server is not running or cannot be started


Still doesn't seem to work. I tried it with puttting "jackdbus" and "jackdbus auto" in the server path thing, and neither worked. I did check the "use dbus" thing is misc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ezzieyguywuf wrote:
Thanks for that keenblade I'll see if I can make that work. Also, why should I use jack2 instead of the old, functioning jack?

jack2 is C++ SMP-aware implementation. Look at the Jack2 page for more information.
Quote:

Still doesn't seem to work. I tried it with puttting "jackdbus" and "jackdbus auto" in the server path thing, and neither worked. I did check the "use dbus" thing is misc.

If you used "emerge -va1 qjackctl", then you emerged the qjackctl provided by pro-audio overlay. So you need to do this in the ebuild dir:
Code:

ebuild qjackctl-9999.ebuild manifest
ebuild qjackctl-9999.ebuild merge

Also I use jack2 from ladi overlay : "jack-audio-connection-kit-2.9999". Their one use git instead of subversion. They may not be in sync. My qjackctl-9999 says it is Version: 0.3.5.22 in about tab.
I checked again, and everthing works fine here.
Edit: Uppps, I've forgotten to mention creating manifest for the ebuild. Added it. Thanks to XavierMiller.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"


Last edited by keenblade on Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:27 pm; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7702
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, can't we put all that stuff in the pro-audio overlay ? This sounds more logical at my ears ;)
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

XavierMiller wrote:
OK, can't we put all that stuff in the pro-audio overlay ? This sounds more logical at my ears ;)

That would be great. I hope pro-audio maintainers will give commit access to some people like you, audiodef and me who really use this stuff for music creation.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7702
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have write access to the overlay. I will find some free time this week (tuesday for example) to do it.
You can also open bugs on the pro-audio bugtracker, with requests for new ebuilds, and when you have them, the ebuilds.

The overlay is awaken from a long lethargy, the main developers are back !
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

XavierMiller wrote:
I have write access to the overlay. I will find some free time this week (tuesday for example) to do it.
You can also open bugs on the pro-audio bugtracker, with requests for new ebuilds, and when you have them, the ebuilds.

The overlay is awaken from a long lethargy, the main developers are back !

That's great. So we wait for you or other devs to update the overlay. I'll try pro-audio bugtracker, for my later ebuild works if I have time.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezzieyguywuf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keenblade wrote:
If you used "emerge -va1 qjackctl", then you emerged the qjackctl provided by pro-audio overlay. So you need to do this in the ebuild dir:



Code:
Abi qjackctl # ebuild qjackctl-9999.ebuild merge
Disabling noauto in features... merge disables it. (qmerge doesn't)
 * Digest verification failed:
 * /usr/local/portage/layman/pro-audio/media-sound/qjackctl/qjackctl-9999.ebuild
 * Reason: Filesize does not match recorded size
 * Got: 1523
 * Expected: 1272


help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7702
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

You need to create the manifest for the ebuild
Code:
ebuild path/to/ebuild manifest

_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ezzieyguywuf wrote:

Code:

 * Digest verification failed:
 * /usr/local/portage/layman/pro-audio/media-sound/qjackctl/qjackctl-9999.ebuild

help?

Hmm you changed the ebuild in the pro-audio overlay in your layman. I suggest you creating a local overlay for the ebuild here.
Anyway as XavierMiller said you need to create manifest file:
Code:

ebuild qjackctl-9999.ebuild manifest
ebuild qjackctl-9999.ebuild clean
ebuild qjackctl-9999.ebuild merge

clean phase only needed if the compilation failed and you want to try again.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mikkl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I noticed today the pro-audio ebuild of qjackctl-9999 brings in version 0.3.6 which can now start jackdbus.
However, i have two sound cards in my system. Configuring qjackctl the old way (with jackd) and setting hw:0 or hw:1 just as needed does not work anymore. Does anyone know how to tell jackdbus which device to use? It always uses my first device (hw:0) which i don't want to and my settings in qjackctl are ignored.
Also, there's always a "/usr/bin/jackdbus auto"-process running when stopping jack, which isn't terminated when stopping jack via qjackctl. So i always have to kill it manually before being able to start jack with a new configuration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mikkl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, got it working myself at last.
Before i had a .jackdrc file for audio device 2:
Code:
/usr/bin/jackdbus -dalsa -r44100 -p64 -n2 -D -Chw:1 -Phw:1

which had set input and output device in qjackctl setup separately, because by the time i set it up i had to do it this way (although I don't remember why that was).
The one for device 1 looked like:
Code:
/usr/bin/jackdbus -dalsa -dhw:0 -r44100 -p128 -n2

So i tried something like:
Code:
/usr/bin/jackdbus -dalsa -dhw:1 -r44100 -p64 -n2

and now it works again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mikkl wrote:
...
and now it works again.

Nice to see that works for you, too.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7702
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the latest qjackctl (today) works really fine now with dbus 8)
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taurus101
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Location: Russia, Samara

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello everybody.

How do you think, maybe we should exert every effort to clean up the overlay from the old ebuilds and all kinds of old things, such as `inherit kde-functions`, `need-qt`, and `need-kde` and the like? And how we can organize this process? I, for one, am able to devote most evenings for this. First I have sent patches to Evermind. But recently there was no response from him. Probably he is very busy and have no time to deal with this. Whom can I send patches? Or is it better to send ones to the mailing list?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7702
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see some cleanup activity in the overlay : thinks go slowly, but this is from far better than nothing :)
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taurus101
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Location: Russia, Samara

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

XavierMiller wrote:
this is from far better than nothing :)

You are undoubtedly right. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 17, 18, 19  Next
Page 4 of 19

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum