Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
NVIDIA + Compiz-Fusion Refresh problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mythos
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 953
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 5:19 pm    Post subject: NVIDIA + Compiz-Fusion Refresh problem Reply with quote

Hi there i have installed gentoo again and i am using compiz-fusion with nvidia drivers.

I have one small problem, sometimes my images don't refresh or refresh too slow for example from firefox or gnome-terminal...

Is there any problem with compiz and nvidia?

here is my conf:

nvidia:
Code:
[ebuild   R   ] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-180.51  USE="acpi gtk (multilib) -custom-cflags" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] x11-wm/compiz-fusion-0.8.2  USE="emerald gnome -kde -unsupported" 0 kB


xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
#    Option          "AIGLX" "true"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    ModulePath      "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/dejavu/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "glx"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "record"
    Load           "xtrap"
    Load           "wfb"
    Load           "dejavu"
    Load           "freetype"

EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"

# Removed Option "Xinerama" "1"
    Option         "AutoAddDevices" "False"
#    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
    Option     "XkbModel"      "pc105"
    Option     "XkbLayout"     "pt"

EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "CMO"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 75.0
    VertRefresh     60.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "SAMSUNG"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 61.0
    VertRefresh     60.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Card0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName      "Quadro NVS 135M"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "Quadro NVS 135M"
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals"     "True"
    Option         "AllowGLXWithComposite" "True"
    Option         "NoLogo"                "True"
    Option         "DynamicTwinView"       "False"
    Option         "Coolbits"      "1"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
 BoardName      "Quadro NVS 135M"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "UseEvents" "false"
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "enable"
EndSection

_________________
Best Regards,
Sérgio Henrique
Linux dune 3.0.6-gentoo #1 SMP Thu Oct 27 16:47:29 WEST 2011 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7500 @ 2.20GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaximeG
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Apr 2008
Posts: 722
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

What do you mean "too slow" ?

Regards,
Maxime
_________________
Future is wide open.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mythos
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 953
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi sorry, the problem is that when i use compiz-fusion and run application like gnome-terminal or firefox sometime the image freeze and don't refresh ... it's a litle bit anoying ...
_________________
Best Regards,
Sérgio Henrique
Linux dune 3.0.6-gentoo #1 SMP Thu Oct 27 16:47:29 WEST 2011 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7500 @ 2.20GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisJumper
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2234
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, i know there was an issue with the nvidia-drivers (96.43.x).

If the issesue looks like this, i am wondering. Thought it was/is just the same issue in the "old" drivers with "old" cards. Maybe some other chip-sets have this problem too.

Try to downgrade and wait for some "new" drivers which will work for you.

Why do you mark this as compiz issue? Have you try to disable compize, and the issue gone?

Please check if you move the window which "picture-freeze", if the "dirty part" will be repaint.
Tips to debug: use a terminal with top/htop and check the cpu/memory usage.

And or start and stop Compize from a gnome-terminal.. maybe you got some error-messages.
But before you try all this, try a downgrade of the drivers.

Is this freeze "a fullscreen-freeze" or just some special windows?

OT: Sorry i am tired and my english is not really well without spellcheck :)

Regards,

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaximeG
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Apr 2008
Posts: 722
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

It is indeed caused by Compiz. See my other thread : https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-761621-highlight-.html

Regards,
Maxime
_________________
Future is wide open.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mythos
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 953
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Iep it is only with compiz, it's strange because with opensuse 11.1 gnome 2.24.1 and not 2.24.3 in gentoo works like a charme, different nvidia card but ir works!
_________________
Best Regards,
Sérgio Henrique
Linux dune 3.0.6-gentoo #1 SMP Thu Oct 27 16:47:29 WEST 2011 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7500 @ 2.20GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaximeG
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Apr 2008
Posts: 722
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2009 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Well, I have the issue (again) with my new machine, while I don't have with my old one. Same xorg/kde/nvidia-driver configuration but different nVidia card.
So either it's depending on the card, or some other program/config file is involved and triggers the issue.

[EDIT] Compiz works ok with nvidia-drivers 180.51, but not with 185.13 on both my cards.

Ideas anybody ?

Thanks,
Maxime
_________________
Future is wide open.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Serchio
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 May 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somebody found solution for this small problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sike420
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

don't know but i had refresh problems until i did switched on the "Force synchronisation between X and GLX" - option on the workaround tab in the CompizConfig Settings Manager. Maybe this helps...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nobert1975
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a small problem I happen to have...waiting for the solution...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BrummieJim
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 642

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks sooooooo much, the Force syncronization fix has solved this for me. Been bugging the hell out of me for about 3 months.
_________________
Intel 2.2 Core 2 Duo, 4Gb Ram, 320GB Sata Drive and Nvidia card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum