Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
http-replicator does not start anymore *SOLVED*
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lomaxx
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Nov 2004
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:36 am    Post subject: http-replicator does not start anymore *SOLVED* Reply with quote

Since ~2 weeks or so http-replicator is not starting anymore. Unfortunately i do not find any information what might be causing this. I didn't change anything. My guess is that it broke with some world-update.

Code:

/etc/init.d/http-replicator start
 * Starting Http-Replicator ...
 * Failed to start Http-Replicator                                        [ !! ]


/var/log/messages shows nothing but "Aug 12 10:30:23 serum rc-scripts: Failed to start Http-Replicator".
/var/log/http-replicator show nothing but "12 Aug 2009 10:30:21 INFO: HttpReplicator started".

Reemerging does not solve it. Any idea what might be causing this or where else i might find information?

Thanks in advance.


Last edited by Lomaxx on Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:02 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Junkyboy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jul 2002
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, this happened to me too after python 2.6 was marked stable. The app runs fine but it seems its returning 1 when launched which causes the init script to think it has failed. So I just run it manually for now..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lomaxx
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Nov 2004
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed too that it starts when i run it manually. However i didn't manage to connect from my other machine then ("connection rejected"). But maybe i didn't collect the right parameters from /etc/conf.d/http-replicator when running it. I didn't try for long. Perhaps i will again later.

Thanks for the answer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit /etc/init.d/http-replicator and add "--oknodo" to the start stanza

start-stop-daemon --help

BillK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lomaxx
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Nov 2004
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That seems to work nicely - at least for a workaround.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trainwreck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 24
Location: HR

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

billk wrote:
Edit /etc/init.d/http-replicator and add "--oknodo" to the start stanza

start-stop-daemon --help

BillK


-o works for me as well. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dahoste
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do we have any idea what changed that caused this?

After browsing through both the http-replicator source file itself, and the start-stop-daemon man page, I don't see any reason why start-stop-daemon wouldn't be satisified that http-replicator starts successfully, i.e. why it would think no actions were taken and therefore needs --oknodo to keep the init.d script happy.

I don't even see how the python2.6 upgrade would have any effect here. http-replicator starts just fine. Unless there's some kind of quirky change in how os.fork() or signal.signal() behave. Or a race condition got exposed that makes start-stop-daemon fail to see something it expects to see which would indicate an action was taken to start the process.

Hard to tell without looking at the start-stop-daemon source itself (which I haven't done).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quincy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 193
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here and i dont really understand why this happens. the workaround for the init script helps to continue working, but isn't a real solution.

Perhaps it waits for some return value from http-replicator (i have no idea about python, so please dont blame me if this doesn't apply to the http-replicator <-> startstopdaemon interaction)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Condex
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Nov 2005
Posts: 95
Location: 42'24ºN/8'74ºW - Sol III - Sol System

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the tip, I was facing the same problem here...
Junkyboy wrote:
Yeah, this happened to me too after python 2.6 was marked stable. The app runs fine but it seems its returning 1 when launched which causes the init script to think it has failed. So I just run it manually for now..

I'm still runing Python 2.5 and it fails as well. :?
_________________
Carpe diem quam minimum credula postero.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum