Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Failed to start X server
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nedman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:05 pm    Post subject: Failed to start X server Reply with quote

The booting screen resolution is messed, then it turns to normal like you load
the live cd, it is trying to load local but flashes three times and comes out
to an error that looks like this:

failed to load module "synaptics" (module does not exist, 0)
Intel: No matching device section for instance (BusID PCI:0:3:1) found
Module already built-in
GARTInit: Unable to open /dev/agpgart (No such file or directory)
Intel(0): Failed to allocate framebuffer. Is your VideoRAM set too low?
Intel(0): Couldn't allocate video memory

Fatal server error:
AddScreen/ScreenInit failed for driver 0

Failed to start the X server (your graphical interface). It is likely that it
is not set up correctly. You will need to log in on a console and reconfigure
the X server. Then restart GDM.

It leaves me with a local host terminal which I don't know the commands to fix this problem..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gankfest
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Aug 2007
Posts: 932
Location: Fort Collins, CO

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I take it this is your system if so then it is telling you that your video configuration is bad. Check your Xorg.conf and your kernel parameters. Do you have AGP-support!
_________________
Gankfest™ (>")> ~*

Everyone has to start somewhere, it depends on where you end up that counts! (>")>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check your kernel config. When you run make menuconfig (Chapter 7 of the Handbook), look at
Code:
Device Drivers ->
   Graphics Support ->
      <M or *> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support)  ->
         <M or *>Your chipset support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nedman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this error came up after i went through the installation from the Live CD, which then i attempted to boot up the newly installed system and this error came.
Now when i boot system, i only have the terminal from a local host or root, I have nothing else. Unless I want to boot the live CD but the changes do not count. What are the steps that I need to fix this problem? I kinda of experimented and got to the Xorg configuration for monitor, etc but I do not have all the information, is there a command that could tell me my system specs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slackline
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 1313
Location: /uk/sheffield

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There actually appears to be a second problem in addition to the AGPgart issues.

If you're trying to load the synaptics module and its failing try re-emerging it, since the installed version could be built against an old Xorg version.

As root

Code:

emerge -1av x11-drivers/xf86-input-synaptics


slack
_________________
"Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.  Art is everything else we do." - Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nedman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is stating that there no ebuilds to satisfy the code you told me to type
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slackline
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 1313
Location: /uk/sheffield

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nedman wrote:
It is stating that there no ebuilds to satisfy the code you told me to type


Assuming that you are simply using chronology to indicate who you are responding to and therefore that you are referring to what I wrote (N.B. the "Quote" function is very handy to avoid such ambiguities :wink: ).....

Strange, when I search portage (using eix, which if you haven't installed yet I would strongly recommend as its a very useful tool) I get teh following hits on 'synaptics'...

Code:

 $ eix synaptics
* gnome-extra/gsynaptics
     Available versions:  0.9.10 (~)0.9.13-r1 (~)0.9.14 (~)0.9.14-r1 {debug test}
     Homepage:            http://gsynaptics.sourceforge.jp/
     Description:         A GTK+ based configuration utility for the synaptics driver

* kde-misc/ksynaptics
     Available versions:  (~)0.2.2 (~)0.2.3 (~)0.3.1 0.3.3 {arts debug elibc_FreeBSD xinerama}
     Homepage:            http://qsynaptics.sourceforge.net/
     Description:         synaptics touchpad configuration tool

* x11-drivers/synaptics
     Available versions:  0.14.5-r1 0.14.6 (~)0.14.6-r1 (~)0.14.6-r2 (~)0.14.6-r3 (~)0.14.6_p20070706-r1 {hal}
     Homepage:            http://w1.894.telia.com/~u89404340/touchpad/
     Description:         Driver for Synaptics touchpads

* x11-drivers/xf86-input-synaptics
     Available versions:  1.0.0 (~)1.1.2 {debug hal}
     Homepage:            http://cgit.freedesktop.org/xorg/driver/xf86-input-synaptics/
     Description:         Driver for Synaptics touchpads

* x11-libs/libsynaptics
     Available versions:  0.14.6c-r1
     Homepage:            http://qsynaptics.sourceforge.net/
     Description:         library for accessing synaptics touchpads

* xfce-extra/gsynaptics-mcs-plugin
     Available versions:  1.0.0 {debug}
     Homepage:            http://goodies.xfce.org/projects/mcs-plugins/gsynaptics-mcs-plugin
     Description:         a simple MCS plugin that starts gsynaptics and launches gsynaptics-init

Found 6 matches.


...and I don't appear to have made any typographical errors, perhaps you have? If you haven't then please copy and paste exactly what you are typing in the terminal window and what portage is telling you, statements like "It doesn't work" are not very informative or useful when it comes to trouble shooting (worth bearing in mind many of the points made here as you find you're way with Gentoo and Open-Source/GNU/Linux in general).

slack
_________________
"Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.  Art is everything else we do." - Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nedman wrote:
Now when i boot system, i only have the terminal from a local host or root, I have nothing else.
At least you got your new system to boot, that is already very good.
Now re-check your kernel graphics support configurations -see Chapter 7 of the Handbook. to rebuild and re-install your kernel.

Also look at the very good desktop configuration documentation

Also please post the output of emerge --info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum