distcc talks
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bircoph
Developer
Developer

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:54 am    Post subject: distcc talks Reply with quote

Hello,
it would be nice if we'll share experience on distcc usage here.

I personally encountered some features not mentioned in any gentoo-related distcc howto's I found, so this may be useful to another people. Also I would gladly hear suggestions about my current setup, I'm still relatively new to distcc. There are some distcc-related posts on this forums, but they are discussions of specific problems, not some general/cumulative discussion.

The main reason for me to try it out was gentoo installation on EeePC, but I was amazed by power and speedup of this utility, so I currently use it for my desktop too.

0) Setup:

I have the following network setup:

EeePC <--> desktop <--> server <=> outside world
All connections are wired through 100 MBit ethernet without any third-party hardware, host A acts as a bridge.
EeePC is Atom N270,
desktop is Athlon-XP,
server is Celeron D in 64-bit mode.

All hosts are checked via ip/mac in the iptables rules, thus there is no need in encrypted (e.g. tunneled via ssh) distcc; this gives some speedup (according to well known howtos it is ~25%).

1) Distcc setup:

Current distcc logical setup:
eeepc -- client only;
desktop -- server for eeepc, client ;
server -- server for eeepc, desktop.

In the iptables you should open tcp port for your distcc (3632 by default) and, as usual, you should accept RELATED, ESTABLISHED connections.

Network is fast in my setup (direct 100 MBit/s FD line), max bursts by distcc are ~ 3 MB/s, so there is no slowdown due to network. However, I use the following in /etc/distcc/hosts (on my eeepc):
Code:

desktop/3 server/3 localhost/2