Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Unable to emerge xfree binaries on very basic install.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
quip
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 7:47 pm    Post subject: Unable to emerge xfree binaries on very basic install. Reply with quote

I am having difficulty installing xfree using the pre-compiled binaries. I am new to Gentoo, but have successfully installed a basic system.

(I understand that I can choose to rebuild everything from source; but I'd rather leave that for when my system is otherwise idle for a few days.)

[1] I have a booted Gentoo system, based on a stage3 install and 'emerge sync'. X11 is not installed. 'emerge sync' has been completed successfully.

[2] Since I'm not sure emerge knows how to "span" multiple CDs with PKGDIR (perhaps its a simple as defining PKGDIR to be multiple paths), I copy all the packages from both ISOs into /tmp/packages (See below for details, in case I did something stupid.)

[3] OK, we want to rely on the binaries during our emerge
Code:
export PKGDIR=/tmp/packages
emerge -k -f xfree

But, stuff gets downloaded from the Internet, including X430src-*.tgz, comic32.exe, etc. I also see XFree86-4.3.0-patches-1.1.7, which I'm assuming is going to cascade into a full build of the xfree server from sources.

What am I doing wrong folks? I'd be grateful if someone would help me figure this out.

-----------

The ISO cdroms were fetched from
ftp://ftp.gtlib.cc.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo/releases/
/pub/gentoo/releases/x86/1.4/livecd/i686/
i686-1.4-20030806-cd1.iso
i686-1.4-20030803-cd2.iso

I downloaded these to my other stable box (running Debian, sorry)
mounted them, and copied the packages locally...

mount nfs.box:/iso /mnt/net
mount -t iso9660 nfs.box:/iso -o ro,loop /mnt/net/i686-1.4-20030806-cd1.iso /mnt/net1