Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Sensors output script for 2.6 kernels
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mafteah
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 265
Location: IL

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:27 pm    Post subject: Sensors output script for 2.6 kernels Reply with quote

This script will print your i2c sensors data from /sys like lm-sensors does,
It configured to mine board (GA-7VTX-P) with it87.

Btw: I patched the kernel to show good CPU temp.

Lm-sensors output on 2.4 kernel:
Code:
# sensors
it87-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
Algorithm: ISA algorithm
VCore 1:   +1.64 V  (min =  +1.53 V, max =  +1.87 V)
VTT:       +1.23 V  (min =  +1.18 V, max =  +1.29 V)
+3.3V:     +3.26 V  (min =  +3.13 V, max =  +3.45 V)
+5V:       +4.94 V  (min =  +4.50 V, max =  +5.48 V)
+12V:     +11.76 V  (min = +11.36 V, max = +13.80 V)
5VSB:      +4.94 V  (min =  +4.50 V, max =  +5.48 V)
Volcano 9:3552 RPM  (min = 3000 RPM, div = 2)
MB Temp:     +36°C  (min =  +20°C, max =  +60°C)
CPU Temp:    +46°C  (min =  +20°C, max =  +60°C)


My script output on 2.6 kernel:
Code:
# sensors
VCore 1:        +1.64 V         (min = +1.53, max = +1.87)
VTT:            +1.23 V         (min = +1.12 V, max = +1.37 V)
+3.3V:          +3.26 V         (min = +2.96 V, max = +3.60 V)
+5V:            +4.93 V         (min = +4.50 V, max = +5.47 V)
+12V:           +11.76 V        (min = +11.36 V, max = +13.80 V)
5VSB:           +4.93 V         (min = +4.50 V, max = +5.47 V)
Volcano 9:      4821 RPM        (min = 3000 RPM, div = 2)
MB Temp:        +38.0°C         (min = +20°C, max = +60°C)
CPU Temp:       +48.0°C         (min = +20°C, max = +60°C)


The code:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

# From /sys num to good num
function s2n
{

        if [ $3 ]; then
                cut=$3
        else
                cut=4
        fi

        if [ $2 ]; then
                echo `echo "$2*$1/1000"|bc -l|cut -c1-$cut`
        else
                echo `echo "$1/1000"|bc -l|cut -c1-$cut`
        fi
}


# Get Sensors From /sys
dev="/sys/bus/i2c/devices/1-0290"
temp1=`cat $dev/temp_input1`
temp2=`cat $dev/temp_input2`
fan1=`cat $dev/fan_input1`
in0=`cat $dev/in_input0`
in1=`cat $dev/in_input1`
in2=`cat $dev/in_input2`
in3=`cat $dev/in_input3`
in4=`cat $dev/in_input4`
in7=`cat $dev/in_input7`
temp1max=`cat $dev/temp_max1`
temp2max=`cat $dev/temp_max2`
in0max=`cat $dev/in_max0`
in1max=`cat $dev/in_max1`
in2max=`cat $dev/in_max2`
in3max=`cat $dev/in_max3`
in4max=`cat $dev/in_max4`
in7max=`cat $dev/in_max7`
in0min=`cat $dev/in_min0`
in1min=`cat $dev/in_min1`
in2min=`cat $dev/in_min2`
in3min=`cat $dev/in_min3`
in4min=`cat $dev/in_min4`
in7min=`cat $dev/in_min7`
fan1div=`cat $dev/fan_div1`
fan1min=`cat $dev/fan_min1`
temp1max=`cat $dev/temp_max1`
temp2max=`cat $dev/temp_max2`
temp1min=`cat $dev/temp_min1`
temp2min=`cat $dev/temp_min2`

# Edit Sensors Data
in3edit="((6.8/10)+1)"
in4edit="((30/10)+1)"
in7edit="((6.8/10)+1)"

#Print the Data
echo "VCore 1:    +`s2n $in0` V    (min = +`s2n $in0min`, max = +`s2n $in0max`)"
echo "VTT:        +`s2n $in1` V    (min = +`s2n $in1min 1/2` V, max = +`s2n $in1max 1/2` V)"
echo "+3.3V:      +`s2n $in2` V    (min = +`s2n $in2min 2` V, max = +`s2n $in2max 2` V)"
echo "+5V:        +`s2n $in3 $in3edit` V    (min = +`s2n $in3min $in3edit` V, max = +`s2n $in3max $in3edit` V)"
echo "+12V:       +`s2n $in4 $in4edit 5` V   (min = +`s2n $in4min $in4edit 5` V, max = +`s2n $in4max $in4edit 5` V)"
echo "5VSB:       +`s2n $in7 $in7edit` V    (min = +`s2n $in7min $in7edit` V, max = +`s2n $in7max $in7edit` V)"
echo "Volcano 9:  $fan1 RPM  (min = $fan1min RPM, div = $fan1div)"
echo "MB Temp:    +`s2n $temp1`°C    (min = +`s2n $temp1min 1 2`°C, max = +`s2n $temp1max 1 2`°C)"
echo "CPU Temp:   +`s2n $temp2`°C    (min = +`s2n $temp2min 1 2`°C, max = +`s2n $temp2max 1 2`°C)"


The patch for the kernel:
Use it if your 2nd temp is wrong.
Code:
--- drivers/i2c/chips/it87.c        2003-08-25 14:25:49.000000000 +0300
+++ drivers/i2c/chips/it87.c    2003-08-25 14:25:32.000000000 +0300
@@ -56,7 +56,7 @@
 /* Enable Temp1 as thermal resistor */
 /* Enable Temp2 as thermal diode */
 /* Enable Temp3 as thermal resistor */
-static int temp_type = 0x2a;
+static int temp_type = 0x38;

 /* Many IT87 constants specified below */



Edit: I need to add here the Alarm thing!
_________________
http://www.mafteah.co.il
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
water
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 387
Location: Zierikzee, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice, but some questions:

1) Doesn't Lm-sensors work with a 2.6-kernel?
2) Wich kernel did you patch? (2.6, i guess?)
3) How to patch the patch? (just edit?)
4) How do i know if my 2nd temp is wrong?
_________________
Groeten uit Holland


Last edited by water on Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smiler.se
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Aug 2003
Posts: 115
Location: Sweden - Europe - Earth

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

water wrote:
Nice, but some questions?

1) Doesn't Lm-sensors work with a 2.6-kernel?
2) Wich kernel did you patch? (2.6, i guess?)
3) How to patch the patch? (just edit?)
4) How do i know if my 2nd temp is wrong?


1. Not in current state
2. ;)
3. cd /usr/src/linux/ && cat /patch/to/patch | patch -p1
4. Dunno :?
_________________
Christian

Sig out of date. Please upgrade to a newer one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mafteah
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 265
Location: IL

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) No, Because the /proc/... is now /sys/
2) 2.6.0-test4-bk2-mm1 but i think its good for all 2.6.0 (need testers)
3) cd /usr/src/linux; patch -p0 < /path/to/patch
4) if you get something like 18 or -10

Btw you can compile it as a module and load it with:
Code:
insmod it87 temp_type = 0x38"

_________________
http://www.mafteah.co.il
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
water
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 387
Location: Zierikzee, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As soon as i have some time, i'll give it a try. :) (with some 2.6.0-test3 kernel)

BTW: i thougth 2.6.0-kernels still have also /proc/..? At least, i don't have seen an error on mounting /proc (wich is still in my fstab)
_________________
Groeten uit Holland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mafteah
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 265
Location: IL

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

water wrote:
BTW: i thougth 2.6.0-kernels still have also /proc/..? At least, i don't have seen an error on mounting /proc (wich is still in my fstab)


Yes and No.

They have proc.

but.....


The i2c is in /sys.
_________________
http://www.mafteah.co.il
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlterEgo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 1619

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gkrellm-2.1.16 shows correct readings for me @ kernel 2.6-test4 and test 2; NOT test 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mafteah
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 265
Location: IL

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AlterEgo wrote:
gkrellm-2.1.16 shows correct readings for me @ kernel 2.6-test4 and test 2; NOT test 3.


How ?
_________________
http://www.mafteah.co.il
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlterEgo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 1619

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How?
It just does for me. In the configuration tab, I just select the sensors I want to see. I can see my sensors readings in /sys, and I presume gkrellm reads them from there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mafteah
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 265
Location: IL

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not to me
maybe it becaue the lm-sensors installed?
_________________
http://www.mafteah.co.il
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlterEgo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 1619

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not have lm-sensors or i2c installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funkmankey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 304
Location: CH

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gkrellm2 will not work for everyone in 2.6 (yet) because the sensor namespace that gets put by i2c into sysfs is not consistent for all types of sensors.

I happen to be one of those who can't use gkrellm because of that issue, so this script is very welcome (with a few tweaks, in my particular case...)

sooner or later libsensors will support sysfs, sigh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apolonius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2003
Posts: 325

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can get Gkrellm2 working with a 2.6-test4-mm1 without lmsensors. I had to modprobe via686a i2c-isa lm75. Note that I had to use the generic isa bus instead of i2c-viapro.
Relevant part of lsmod:
Code:

lm75                    6788  0
i2c_isa                 1792  0
via686a                18568  0
i2c_sensor              2624  2 lm75,via686a
i2c_core               21320  4 lm75,i2c_isa,via686a,i2c_sensor


lmsensors (sensors, sensors-detect...) don't work because i2c-proc does not exist anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mafteah
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 265
Location: IL

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2003 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

funkmankey wrote:
gkrellm2 will not work for everyone in 2.6 (yet) because the sensor namespace that gets put by i2c into sysfs is not consistent for all types of sensors.

I happen to be one of those who can't use gkrellm because of that issue, so this script is very welcome (with a few tweaks, in my particular case...)

sooner or later libsensors will support sysfs, sigh.


I think i have it too :(
What tweaks??
_________________
http://www.mafteah.co.il
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funkmankey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 304
Location: CH

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2003 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mafteah wrote:
What tweaks??


I also have it87, but on ecs l7s7a2... temp_type is 0x31 in my case. also, cpu and mb temps are reversed, and then just compensating some of the voltage readouts a little bit. nothing special ;-]

thanks for this script! (sez the lazy guy that is me)
now I can see that I'm not getting over 50dC in this hot weather and full load, which is good enough for me!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mafteah
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 265
Location: IL

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2003 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the value sould be in the .config file
maybe someone send mail and ask from kerlen-devs ?
_________________
http://www.mafteah.co.il
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qubex
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 133
Location: Portland

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2003 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mafteah, couldn't get your code to work.. For some reason it gave me errors every other line - even simple if statements were errors! I am no bash expert so I rewrote it in perl. I hope you don't mind. I changed the formatting a bit back towards the orginial sensors output. Until gkrellm gets fixed, I have this in a transparent eterm window in the corner, updating on a 15 second timer.

Thanks Mafteah!!!!!!!
Code:

#!/usr/bin/perl


 $dev="/sys/bus/i2c/devices/1-0290";
 $temp1=(`cat $dev/temp_input1` / 100);
 $temp2=(`cat $dev/temp_input2` / 100);
 $fan1=`cat $dev/fan_input1`;
 $in0=`cat $dev/in_input0`;
 $in1=`cat $dev/in_input1`;
 $in2=`cat $dev/in_input2`;
 $in3=`cat $dev/in_input3`;
 $in4=`cat $dev/in_input4`;
 $in7=`cat $dev/in_input7`;
 $temp1max=`cat $dev/temp_max1`;
 $temp2max=`cat $dev/temp_max2`;
 $in0max=`cat $dev/in_max0`;
 $in1max=`cat $dev/in_max1`;
 $in2max=`cat $dev/in_max2`;
 $in3max=`cat $dev/in_max3`;
 $in4max=`cat $dev/in_max4`;
 $in7max=`cat $dev/in_max7`;
 $in0min=`cat $dev/in_min0`;
 $in1min=`cat $dev/in_min1`;
 $in2min=`cat $dev/in_min2`;
 $in3min=`cat $dev/in_min3`;
 $in4min=`cat $dev/in_min4`;
 $in7min=`cat $dev/in_min7`;
 $fan1div=`cat $dev/fan_div1`;
 $fan1min=`cat $dev/fan_min1`;
 chomp $fan1div;    #get rid of newlines
 chomp $fan1min;
 chomp $fan1;
 $temp1max=(`cat $dev/temp_max1` / 100);
 $temp2max=(`cat $dev/temp_max2` / 100);
 $temp1min=(`cat $dev/temp_min1` / 100);
 $temp2min=(`cat $dev/temp_min2` / 100);

 # Edit Sensors Data
 $in3edit=1.68;
 $in4edit=4;
 $in7edit=1.68;

 ###############s2n##############
  sub s2n {
    my @vars = @_;
    my $val;
    if ( @vars[1] )
    {
   $val = ( @vars[1]* @vars[0] / 1000 );
    }
     else
     {
   $val = ( @vars[0] / 1000 );
     }
    chomp $val;
    return $val;
}


  ###############MAIN###############
 $curr=s2n($in0);
 print  'VCore 1:     +', s2n($in0) , ' V  (min = +', s2n($in0min), ', max = +', s2n($in0max), ")\n";
 print  'VTT:         +', s2n($in1) , ' V  (min = +', s2n($in1min,.5), 'V, max = +', s2n($in1max.5), " V)\n";
 printf("+3.3V:       +%.2f V  (min = +%.2f V, max = +%.2f V)\n", s2n($in2), s2n($in2min),  s2n($in2max));
 printf("+5V:         +%.2f V  (min = +%.2f V, max = +%.2f V)\n", s2n($in3, $in3edit), s2n($in3min, $in3edit),  s2n($in3max, $in3edit));
 printf("+12V:       +%.2f V  (min = +%.2f V, max = +%.2f V)\n", s2n($in4, $in4edit, 5), s2n($in4min, $in4edit, 5),  s2n($in4max, $in4edit, 5));
 printf("5VSB:        +%.2f V  (min = +%.2f V, max = +%.2f V)\n", s2n($in7, $in7edit), s2n($in7min, $in7edit),  s2n($in7max, $in7edit));
 print "Volcano 9:  ", $fan1 , " RPM  (min = ", $fan1min , " RPM, div = ", $fan1div , ")\n";
 printf("MB Temp:     +%.1f C  (min = +%.1f C, max = +%.1f C)\n", $temp1, $temp1min,  $temp1max);
 printf("CPU Temp:    +%.1f C  (min = +%.1f C, max = +%.1f C)\n", $temp2, $temp2min,  $temp2max);



--
Matt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mafteah
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 265
Location: IL

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

qubex wrote:
Mafteah, couldn't get your code to work.. For some reason it gave me errors every other line - even simple if statements were errors! I am no bash expert so I rewrote it in perl. I hope you don't mind. I changed the formatting a bit back towards the orginial sensors output. Until gkrellm gets fixed, I have this in a transparent eterm window in the corner, updating on a 15 second timer.

Thanks Mafteah!!!!!!!


No Problem

Try to look on the files in /sys/... and see if they are there... and show me the errors
_________________
http://www.mafteah.co.il
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qubex
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 133
Location: Portland

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2003 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

matt@madcat bash $ ./sensors2
cat: /sys/bus/i2c/devices/1-0290/in_input1: No such file or directory

I don't have this one, but all the rest are present and accounted for.
Code:

./sensors2: line 7:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 8:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 9:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 10:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 11:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 13:  : command not found
(standard_in) 1: parse error
./sensors2: line 14:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 15:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 16:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 17:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 7:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 8:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 9:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 10:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 11:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 13:  : command not found
(standard_in) 1: parse error
./sensors2: line 14:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 15:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 16:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 17:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 7:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 8:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 9:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 10:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 11:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 13:  : command not found
(standard_in) 1: parse error
./sensors2: line 14:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 15:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 16:  : command not found
./sensors2: line 17:  : command not found
VCore 1:    + V    (min = +, max = +)

(standard_in) 1: parse error

OK, so the errors are not every other line, it's ever line.. That happens pretty much every time s2n is called. It's probably something really obvious and stupid, but I cut and pasted your code exactly and I've verified it too (visually.) Then again, I'm not a bash-er.. ;-)

--
Matt
_________________
Yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funkmankey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 304
Location: CH

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

building as modules, don't have to edit anything in the kernel code...

Code:
%grep temp_type /etc/modules.d/aliases
options it87 temp_type=0x31


this also makes sense b/c in the 2.4 past, you always had to build i2c as modules anyway since the latest versions were external.

qubex' errors sound more like cut-n-paste got screwed up vs. linebreaks than problems with the script itself. nice perl script tho, got to love that perl motto and all!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bibi[M]
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works!!!!!!
Thank you so much for the script, on my machine reads:
Quote:

VCore 1: +1.77 V (min = +1.53, max = +1.87)
VTT: +2.62 V (min = +1.12 V, max = +1.37 V)
+3.3V: +3.34 V (min = +2.96 V, max = +3.60 V)
+5V: +4.90 V (min = +4.50 V, max = +5.47 V)
+12V: +12.28 V (min = +11.36 V, max = +13.80 V)
5VSB: +4.90 V (min = +4.50 V, max = +5.47 V)
CPU Fan: 0 RPM (min = 3000 RPM, div = 2)
MB Temp: +39.0°C (min = +20°C, max = +60°C)
CPU Temp: +61.0°C (min = +20°C, max = +60°C)

I know, cpu temp. is a bit high, i should buy a new fan, or simply change cputemp into cputemp - 20 ;D
joking...
anyway, it is an ecs k7s6a, the correct modules are it87 (temp_type=0x31) and i2c-isa.
The fans infos aren't read, they didn't worked even on 2.4.20+lm_sensors 2.8.0! And the VTT seem to be wrong, D'oh!
BTW, <ot mode on> what about hlt and cpu temp? Shouldn't the temperature be lesser then in the bios, after a long time of idling?
Instead is just, say, ~3° less, i had the same "problem" on winxp, the unique way to see the temp lowering was using programs like "waterfall", they were able to lower the temp of about 10 degrees, though i've used them only for testing, as those programs seem to be _really_ aggressive on halting (audio problems, and the cpu fan noise changes when the cpu's idle... O_o)
Maybe that -3° it's normal with a non-aggressive "hlt" use... just curious... But i'd like to test even aggressive halting on linux.
How they say? "If it works... tweak it till it brokes" ;D
_________________
jazz lives!
For the italians: evitate: "ke", "xké", "qlc", "nn"...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qubex
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 133
Location: Portland

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doh - due to my bungling of the forums, my previous post was deleted. At any rate, there are ways to enable aggressive HLT/cpu idle cooling. I've submitted an ebuild for a program called athcool (AMD cpus only!) - here is the link for the ebuild.

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=23732

It autodetects your chipset/CPU. Some chipsets cause noise corruption, though on mine it works flawlessly with a 10degree+ drop in temp (up to 15degree+ on cool days). Mandatory disclaimer: use at your own risk.


Last edited by qubex on Tue Sep 02, 2003 7:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funkmankey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 304
Location: CH

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

good recommendation on athcool, there are some other threads where similar stuff (e.g. direct setpci calls) has helped a lot of ppl.

personally I have found no discernable benefit (again, on SiS746) from athcool or the relevant setpci commands -- it seems like mostly people with VIA boards that will be helped by this...but I still think it's pretty cool to give it a try.

I think it may also not be a question of SiS chips, but that the mobo maker (e.g. corner-cutting ECS, heh) actually in the ACPI part of their BIOS has to support some advanced levels of cpu halt state in addition to the northbridge disconnect, otherwise the NB disconnect has no effect (which seems to be my case...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mafteah
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 265
Location: IL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

qubex wrote:
Doh - due to my bungling of the forums, my previous post was deleted. At any rate, there are ways to enable aggressive HLT/cpu idle cooling. I've submitted an ebuild for a program called athcool (AMD cpus only!) - here is the link for the ebuild.

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=23732

It autodetects your chipset/CPU. Some chipsets cause noise corruption, though on mine it works flawlessly with a 10degree+ drop in temp (up to 15degree+ on cool days). Mandatory disclaimer: use at your own risk.


Mine athcool ebuild
is in portage
_________________
http://www.mafteah.co.il
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bibi[M]
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With Athcool the cpu temp. went from 58°C to 38°C O__________o Is this a new record? ;D
Thanks for the good hinting, though it seems i can't use that program, heard an mp3, it cracked as hell >.<
:/
Uh, i haven't tryed those bios tweak yet though, i'll try them.
I'll even read that other thread... I'll let you know. ;)
Uh, regarding the FANs sensors a friend of mine (Hellraiser), who also started a similar thread on the italian section of the forum, pointed that on ecs (we both have ecs with sis 7xx) the it87 module is able to scan just a small range of RPMS, from the MIN size to <dunno>.
As I have a 2 low noise fans (fixed at 2.5kRPMs), and he has a thermocontrolled one, Ican't ever see the values, while he sees it only when the rpms go above that min. level, d'oh :P
We both tryed manually changing MIN e DIV values, but with no luck :/ The min seems fixed at...
cat /sys/bus/i2c/devices/0-0290/fan_min1
2657
So... if anyone has any ideas... tnx =)
Edit: Ok, the DIV value does the trick! I changed it into "4" and now all the rpms form 1.8K to 2.6K on my 2nd fan are correctly "read", no matter the "MIN" value, oh, and of course even the 2.5 of my 1st one is read aswell. But i'm still wondering what those DIV and MIN actually do, and if a DIV of 4 can "read" greater excursions of RPMS... :?:
_________________
jazz lives!
For the italians: evitate: "ke", "xké", "qlc", "nn"...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum