Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub cannot find kernel. minimal bash-like...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DXM1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:38 am    Post subject: Grub cannot find kernel. minimal bash-like... Reply with quote

i just completed my first gentoo install. I used the general kernel and followed the handbook as close as i could. when i try to boot i get an error saying "minimal bash-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible completions of a device/filename".

What do i do ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
orez
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Dec 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

post your grub.conf....
and are you sure your grub was installed properly ?
_________________
找个明媚的日子,出去乞讨吧...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DXM1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright. and how do i do that ? i do not know where it is located or with what command i should access it. my options seem limited in this grub screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DXM1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do i look up the grub.conf ? I am done with the installation, i really want to try and use my computer, can anyone help out?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peje
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you have to boot from cd mount your partitions and then you can see your grub.conf
cu peje
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45620
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DXM1,

Boot with the CD you used to install, then mount your filesystems as you did when you installed.
grub.conf will then be at /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf

Post the content of that file.

Also post the output of
Code:
fdisk -l
and tell us what each partition is used for
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7412

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try that else: enter <(hd> then use TAB completion within grub shell (<> are just to help you, so don't put <> in grub), and grub will help you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DXM1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

im still trying to get to grub.conf, as im unsure how to remount the partitions. Im consulting the handbook. however i followed the handbook the closest i could so my partitions are what is described there.

If i write fdisk -l i get:

Device Boot Blocks ID System
/dev/sda1 * 40131 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 530145 82 Linux Swap/Solaris
/dev/sda3 155718045 83 Linux


I will post grub.conf as soon as i get the partitions mounted.

EDIT: Finally did it ! Grub.conf looks like this;

-----------------------
default 0
timeout 0
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo Linux 2.6.29-r5
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.29-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda3
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.29-gentoo-r5

# vim:ft=conf:
-----------------------
In the middle of writing this i have realized that I HAVE NOT COMMENTED OUT the grub.conf changes that i made. Once i removed the #, the grub appears and my kernel is visible. I can select it but run into another problem:

fsck.ext3 no such file or directory while trying to open /dev/Root/dev/Root:
The superblock couldn't be read or does not describe the correct ex2 filesystem. if the device is valid and it really contains an ext2 filesystem (and not swap or something else), then the superblock is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock :
e2fsck -b 8193 <device>

Filesystem couldn't be fixed :(
Give root password for maintenance or type Control-D to continue.

---------------

Thank you for sticking with me during this process, im certainly learning a lot about how Gentoo works. Any ideas how to fix this (hopefully) last snag guys?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7607
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your /etc/fstab file is also wrong/
the /dev/ROOT and /dev/BOOT were intended to be replaced by /dev/sda3 and /dev/sda1(for example) not to be left as written.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DXM1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

where is the fstab located? If i can edit it im certain i can fix it now. Sorry for being such a noob, im trying to find it, but having no success.

EDIT: I have found it and am trying to update it. I hope this will fix it ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DXM1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think i am in !? The whole process went fine and the machine booted sort of. It asked me for a username and password so ill assume thats true. I dont have anything installed yet so i guess ill be trying to do that now.

Thanks to everyone who helped out ! Cant believe im actually in. Now just to get KDE working. Looks like quite a task from the handbook. But once again thanks everyone !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentilGentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2015
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone, I bump this old thread because it's the only one I found with that sentence: "Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible completions of a device/filename"

I have just tried to install and this is now grub2.

So is that solution still good?
NeddySeagoon wrote:
Boot with the CD you used to install, then mount your filesystems as you did when you installed.
grub.conf will then be at /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf


If it is, can I mount the partition with that code?
Code:
mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo


and
Code:
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/gentoo/boot


I just want to be sure. Thanks for helping. And sorry for strange english.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7607
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you said
Quote:
I have just tried to install and this is now grub2.
Grub2 is entitrely different. For grub2 see https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GRUB2 and/or https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GRUB2_Quick_Start .
Code:
emerge grub-static
will provide the current version of the original grub discussed in this thread. For legacy grub see https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GRUB .
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentilGentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2015
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey DONAHUE, thanks for your help.

I set it as simply as I made the BIG mistake : i togle the boot partition :-/ It was not marked with *... My mistake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum