Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub and Ext3 problems I think???
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Spow
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2002 4:04 am    Post subject: Grub and Ext3 problems I think??? Reply with quote

k, went through the install on the webpage and everything worked fine, when I try to reboot without the CD, Grub returns an Error #2 after stage 1.5

Then I notice when I use the CD and try to mount /dev/hda3 I get:
ext3: No journal on filesystem on ide0(3,3)

could this be the problem? I can still get into it and look at the fstab file, which I think is correct. Never setup the HD like this manually before, but having fun [:)]
Back to top
Spow
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2002 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

k, now I went and checked fstab and fixed the noauto for /boot but now I'm getting an error 15 in grub??
Back to top
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16090
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2002 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I doubt I can help, but posting your fstab and menu.lst files may help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dArkMaGE
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2002 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you did remember to format the filesystem by running
mke2fs -j
maybe you forgot the '-j' and have just a normal ext2 filesystem when it is expecting to find a ext3 filesystem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spow
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2002 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fstab except for the comments

/dev/hda1 /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 1
/dev/hda3 / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/hda2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,ro 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0

menu.lst:
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=A sample title
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda3


************************************

On line 1 of the fstab file, if I have it at ext2 I get a grub error 2, ext3 grub error 15.
Back to top
Spow
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2002 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can the /boot partition be a ext3 filesystem? That's what mine is, but when I manually mount it, it says there is no journaling.
Back to top
Spow
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2002 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Used tune2fs -j to convert them, still a Grub Error 2. Think I'm posting enough on here tonight??
Back to top
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2002 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The way I see it, since /boot stays normally unmounted for everyday use, there isn't much point in having a journal in there. It will turn out to be just a waste of disk space. My suggestion is to stick with ext2.
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2002 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let me find what those errors mean...
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2002 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, found them here: http://www.gnu.org/manual/grub-0.90/html_chapter/grub_13.html

It can also help if you post the results of fdisk -l /dev/hda.
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2002 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like it's a bug involving grub: http://www.mail-archive.com/bug-grub@gnu.org/msg05278.html

Still, I believe that if you use ext2 you'll be fine.
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spow
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disk /dev/hda: 64 heads, 63 Sectors, 1023 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 4032 * 512 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 50 100768 83 Linux
/dev/hda2 51 83 66528 82 Linux Swap
/dev/hda3 84 1023 1895040 83 Linux


So is there a way to convert a ext3 filesystem back to ext2 ? Also, does emerge grub recompile grub?
Back to top
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spow wrote:
So is there a way to convert a ext3 filesystem back to ext2 ?


I found the following when searching google.com for "downgrade ext3 to ext2":

http://www.redhat.com/mailing-lists/ext3-users/msg02954.html

There were also many other results that looked like they could be pertinent. Might check there.
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spow
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

should the /boot and root partitions be extended ones or primary ones? Or would this be giving me problems?
Back to top
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spow wrote:
should the /boot and root partitions be extended ones or primary ones? Or would this be giving me problems?


Technically, it doesn't matter. For more information, see the Linux Partition HOWTO. (specifically, section 4)

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 6:19 am    Post subject: Re: Grub and Ext3 problems I think??? Reply with quote

Spow wrote:
k, went through the install on the webpage and everything worked fine, when I try to reboot without the CD, Grub returns an Error #2 after stage 1.5

Then I notice when I use the CD and try to mount /dev/hda3 I get:
ext3: No journal on filesystem on ide0(3,3)

could this be the problem? I can still get into it and look at the fstab file, which I think is correct. Never setup the HD like this manually before, but having fun [:)]


you know that hda3 is not hd3,3 but hd0,2
you must have done wrong when you made your grub
does it boot at all?
Back to top
st0w
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 4
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another thought -- did you remember to enable ext3 support in the kernel? I'm switching over from the BSD camp, but it seems to me that support for the type of file system you're trying to boot off would be a useful thing to have. :) And I noticed while building mine that ext3fs support was *not* enabled in the kern by default.
_________________
"A computer without a Micro$oft operating system on it is like a dog without a pile of bricks tied to its head"
- A wise man
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spow
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, did a total re-install, re-did the disk paritions, made both root and boot partitions ext2, changed the fstab file for ext2 paritions, and.....

still a GRUB error.....

So, I've had experience with LILO, so I "emerge lilo". Installs LILO fine, configure lilo.conf, run LILO, and .....

LI

that's right, lilo hangs at boot after just displaying LI. I read about making the boot parition below the magical 1024 cylinder limit, mine ends at cylinder 26.

anyone else frustrated?
Back to top
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try adding
LBA32
to the top of your lilo.conf (and don't forget to run /sbin/lilo again :))
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spow
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did that and also tried linear, no luck...
Back to top
Spow
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2002 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another complete reinstall, no luck. Anyone else having these problems?
Back to top
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2002 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, let's try harder then... List your hardware here. Everything: motherboard, bios version, hard disk manufacturer/model etc.
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyevee99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2002 7:43 am    Post subject: I have exactly the same issue Reply with quote

hda - missing at the moment
hdb - dvd
hdc - drive with linux
hdd - cdrw




hdc1 /boot
hdc2 swap
hdc3 /


grub installed
root (hd0,0) because hd2,0 (what I thought it should be) is reported as non existant
setup (hd0)


menu.lst

default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/hdc3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyevee99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2002 10:06 am    Post subject: Make sure you have completed code listing 25 Reply with quote

in my excitment I never actual compiled the kernel.

:P

I'm betting that why I get file not found.

duh!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2002 6:09 am    Post subject: Re: Grub and Ext3 problems I think??? Reply with quote

Anonymous wrote:
Spow wrote:
k, went through the install on the webpage and everything worked fine, when I try to reboot without the CD, Grub returns an Error #2 after stage 1.5

Then I notice when I use the CD and try to mount /dev/hda3 I get:
ext3: No journal on filesystem on ide0(3,3)

could this be the problem? I can still get into it and look at the fstab file, which I think is correct. Never setup the HD like this manually before, but having fun [:)]


you know that hda3 is not hd3,3 but hd0,2
you must have done wrong when you made your grub
does it boot at all?




I see the same message and have the same problem!!!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum