Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Which forum Alt. Arch or Portage & Prog. when emerge fails?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jlpoole
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 10:48 pm    Post subject: Which forum Alt. Arch or Portage & Prog. when emerge fai Reply with quote

I've built Gentoo on a SheevaPlug (arm) and I am emerging various packages.

I'm new to working on a non standard platform and do not know if I should post problems with an emerged package in the forum Gentoo on Alternative Architectures, or in the forum Portage and Programming.

And should I also (or only) log a bug when a package fails to emerge, or does that depend on whether it is masked or not?

For example, I'm trying
Code:
emerge rpm
and it fails with:

Code:
make: *** [all] Error 2
  *  ERROR: app-arch/rpm-4.4.6-r6 failed.
  *  Call stack:
  *                ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile
  *              environment, line 3524:  Called die
  *  The specific snippet of code:
  *        emake || die "emake failed"
  *   The die message:
  *    emake failed
  *  If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
  *  A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/app-arch/rpm-4.4.6-r6/temp/build.log'.
  *  The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/app-arch/rpm-4.4.6-r6/temp/environment'.
Kulfaangaren!
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

This is a help-forum, not a bug-reporting-forum :)
If you think you have found a bug in an ebuild, your best bet is to report it on Gentoo Bugzilla after reading the Gentoo Bug Reporting Guide.
If you think you have found a bug in the code of the program you are trying to compile then you should probably report it to upstream.