Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
What kernel modules do i select at startup? [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:47 am    Post subject: What kernel modules do i select at startup? [solved] Reply with quote

on command
Code:
# find /lib/modules/<kernel version>/ -type f -iname '*.o' -or -iname '*.ko'

i see a HUGE list of modules, spanning longer than my screen displays (i dont even know how i can scroll up).

i am supposed to add modules by hand by typing them into:
Code:
# nano -w /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6


my question is how do i know WHICH ONES from the TOO MANY i see i have to select. i dont even know what they pertain to.

any help?


Last edited by h2sammo on Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you used genkernel, didn't you.

Configure a kernel yourself, and put stuff you know you need in-kernel (rather than as a module). Then, disable what you know you will never need. What's left is modules that *could* be loaded, but not automatically (for example, a USB dongle that you only plug in sometimes).

besides, it's a learning experience (about your hardware in particular).
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i started the manual config but i stopped when it got to that options page...

i am not familiar with what all the options mean. what happens if i leave deselected something i need for gentoo to boot properly. how can i know what to select and what to leave deselected. is there a tutorial for that?

so, what happens in my current condition now...having used genkernel, do i get any advice from here on or its just "bite the concrete son!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

h2sammo wrote:
i started the manual config but i stopped when it got to that options page...

i am not familiar with what all the options mean. what happens if i leave deselected something i need for gentoo to boot properly.
keep you old kernel around. Although the reading material supplied by hitting "?" should be enough to avoid that (in most cases)... we've all had our share of unbootable kernels :P
Quote:
how can i know what to select and what to leave deselected. is there a tutorial for that?
ask pappy because he is the king. Basically, read the documentation for the generic stuff, and make sure you select the right drivers for your hardware (lspci + google + that magic debian website = your friends)
Quote:
so, what happens in my current condition now...having used genkernel, do i get any advice from here on or its just "bite the concrete son!"
genkernel is like turning your kernel into a broken puzzle that can put itself together again. Configure it yourself and you'll have a working puzzle (bad analogy, but who cares?). genkernel is bad, manual configuration will give you a streamlined, fast, space-efficient kernel, and some knowledge to boot.
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what happens if i dont put any modules in the autoload file?

will it load whatever it needs by default?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

h2sammo wrote:
what happens if i dont put any modules in the autoload file?

will it load whatever it needs by default?
Hopefully - but do remember that some stuff - especially disk controllers - must be in-kernel in order to boot.

I'd recommend not actually using modules beyond any usb or firewire device.

Then, there are no modules you must autoload :P
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah there are none i must autoload, thats good to know.

how will i be able to load them later on if and when i need to?

will i be prompted to do it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you haven't blacklisted any module (by putting the module name in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist), your kernel should automatically load the needed modules as and when the need arises.

For example, if you have a usb mouse, then as soon as you plug it in the kernel (udev? hal?) should automatically load the hid, usbhid, etc modules. You can verify this by running "lsmod" before and after inserting such a usb mouse if you have one.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde5 | e is unstable :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

h2sammo wrote:
ah there are none i must autoload, thats good to know.

how will i be able to load them later on if and when i need to?

will i be prompted to do it?
well...

let's take a look at my module situation. Most of my hardware is builtin to the kernel, so it is never a module (and therefore is never loaded - it is just there).

output of modprobe -l: http://omploader.org/vMWQ5NQ

Yeah, I know, half that stuff I could enable in-kernel, and the other half could be eliminated (but the middle half still needs to be modules - paride stuff, for example).

I autoload ppdev, lp, parport, parport_pc, loop, and kvm_amd (again - all things I should have in-kernel, but have been too lazy to fix) - none of these will autodetect hardware and load automagically.

Some other stuff (usbserial, sound card stuff, hwmon) gets loaded automatically - whether on hardware plugin or on boot by other processes.

A few things (paride) needs to be loaded by modprobe when I want to use it...

sorry if it's not really clear - I'm very tired right now :P
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, thx for the info, i begin to understand.

next question:

what if i decide to recompile my kernel manually later on, will that disrupt my files or the way i have the systems setup up to that point? what will the implications of recompiling the kernel manually lets say 1 month from now, after having been using the system for 1 month.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

h2sammo wrote:
ok, thx for the info, i begin to understand.

next question:

what if i decide to recompile my kernel manually later on, will that disrupt my files or the way i have the systems setup up to that point? what will the implications of recompiling the kernel manually lets say 1 month from now, after having been using the system for 1 month.
if you change modules, it'll take some work to get your autoload files correct.

You'll have to recompile nvidia-drivers or ati-drivers, and anything else that has modules (not much)... other than that, no issues.
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minor_prophets
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2007
Posts: 281

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

poly_poly-man

Quote:
ask pappy because he is the king.


pappy_mcfae, that is.

True, true. That was like saying you can get hotdogs at RutsHut. That is, the statement is an understatement, for those that don't get it.

h2sammo,

Nothing will every replace the experience of being in the /usr/src/linux directory, issuing a
Code:
make menuconfig
and looking at every single item, line by line, reading each "help" description of what the kernel option is all about. You will become far more familiar with the kernel this way.

-MP-

ps-keep at it, h2sammo. You're on the right track and asking the right questions and doing a good job. With patience and time, you will come to learn more about computing than you knew there was to learn.

pps-About recompiling messing up your system:

The wonderful thing about bootloaders lilo and grub is that you can compile new kernels, recompile existing kernels and not touch your original working kernel simply by adding new entries into your grub.conf file(if your using grub) or lilo.conf file(if your using lilo). You can have all sorts of kernel around to boot at a whim. Flexibility, huh?

Do search out the Gentoo Linux Kernel Guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok , i know i will want to mess with this later on, i will ask the questions then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h2sammo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so how do i go about updating/changing my kernel hacking file?
i need to make some changes for my ati-drivers

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-746270-highlight-.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum