Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Samsung NC10 - what (not) works
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hrnick
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2002
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help blubbi, it works now!

It seems like the problem with the brightness up/down buttons has been solved. I'm using gentoo-sources-2.6.29-gentoo-r1 and by using xmodmap I can now control the brightness. The display on/off button also works and I guess xbacklight can be used for this as well.

Does anyone use cpufreqd with their NC10? I get the following error message when I run /etc/init.d/cpufreqd start:
Code:
cpufreqd requires the kernel to be configured with CONFIG_CPU_FREQ
Make sure that the appropiate driver for your CPU are available.

And yes, I've enabled CONFIG_CPU_FREQ. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
And yes, I've enabled CONFIG_CPU_FREQ. :)


maybe your /usr/src/linux link isn´t pointing to the right kernel sources or your .config file or proc interface isn´t available for some reason ?
Can we have a look to the relevant kernel configuration section ?

cheers
_________________
Error: Failing not supported by current locale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hrnick
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2002
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gringo wrote:
Quote:
And yes, I've enabled CONFIG_CPU_FREQ. :)


maybe your /usr/src/linux link isn´t pointing to the right kernel sources or your .config file or proc interface isn´t available for some reason ?
Can we have a look to the relevant kernel configuration section ?

cheers

The symlink points to the right kernel source.

I've used the config blubbi originally posted:
Code:
#
# CPU Frequency scaling
#
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_POWERSAVE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y

#
# CPUFreq processor drivers
#
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=m
# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K6 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K7 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_GX_SUSPMOD is not set
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO is not set
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_ICH is not set
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_SMI is not set
# CONFIG_X86_P4_CLOCKMOD is not set
# CONFIG_X86_CPUFREQ_NFORCE2 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_LONGRUN is not set
# CONFIG_X86_LONGHAUL is not set
# CONFIG_X86_E_POWERSAVER is not set


I don't really know what to look for but:
Code:
$ find /proc -iname *cpu*
/proc/cpuinfo
/proc/acpi/processor/CPU0
/proc/acpi/processor/CPU1
/proc/sys/kernel/sched_domain/cpu0
/proc/sys/kernel/sched_domain/cpu1
/proc/sys/vm/percpu_pagelist_fraction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe it´s because you don´t have the driver loaded ?

Quote:
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=m


try again after loading it ( if it isn´t already) and if it works just compile it into the kernel next time and meanwhile tell the gentoo script to autoload the module when the system boots.

cheers
_________________
Error: Failing not supported by current locale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hrnick
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2002
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gringo wrote:
try again after loading it ( if it isn´t already) and if it works just compile it into the kernel next time and meanwhile tell the gentoo script to autoload the module when the system boots.

cheers

Oh, it was that easy. I'm sorry I didn't think of that myself... :oops:

Thanks for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Oh, it was that easy. I'm sorry I didn't think of that myself... :oops:
Thanks for your help!


no worries, you are welcome :-)

cheers
_________________
Error: Failing not supported by current locale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hrnick wrote:
Thanks for your help blubbi, it works now!

It seems like the problem with the brightness up/down buttons has been solved. I'm using gentoo-sources-2.6.29-gentoo-r1 and by using xmodmap I can now control the brightness. The display on/off button also works and I guess xbacklight can be used for this as well.


Could you paste you xmodmap settings?
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2496
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed that in your initial post you said HAL didn't work for you. Does that mean that you had to have keyboard, mouse, and synaptics listed in your INPUT_DEVICES section of /etc/make.conf? I've been trying, but to no avail, to get evdev to work. I'm recompiling xorg-server-1.5.3-r3 with keyboard, mouse, synaptics, and evdev right now.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Kalos, if you need help to fix your Xorg-Server 1.5, we can help you with that :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2496
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just had some bad luck with the whole evdev aspect. I've started another thread about it here, so I will stop hijacking this one. ;) Come to think of it, I posted that it isn't working on my NC10, but that it seemed fine on my other machines. However, those machines already have the keyboard and mouse driver, so I'm not sure if it is working on those ones either. Thanks for the offer my friend.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hrnick
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2002
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blubbi wrote:
Could you paste you xmodmap settings?

Sure, here it is:
Code:
keycode 101 = XF86KbdBrightnessDown
keycode 159 = XF86KbdLightOnOff
keycode 160 = XF86AudioMute
keycode 174 = XF86AudioLowerVolume
keycode 176 = XF86AudioRaiseVolume
keycode 212 = XF86KbdBrightnessUp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hrnick wrote:
blubbi wrote:
Could you paste you xmodmap settings?

Sure, here it is:
Code:
keycode 101 = XF86KbdBrightnessDown
keycode 159 = XF86KbdLightOnOff
keycode 160 = XF86AudioMute
keycode 174 = XF86AudioLowerVolume
keycode 176 = XF86AudioRaiseVolume
keycode 212 = XF86KbdBrightnessUp


Tack så mycket, och hälsa Linköping. Jag har släktingar som bor i Linköping. :-)
obs. domainname i signaturen.
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minor_prophets
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2007
Posts: 281

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blubbi wrote:

Code:
mode_wlan0="managed"
preferred_aps_wlan0=( "YourSSID1" "YourSSID2" )
associate_order_wlan0="forceany"


- startup wlan0 (/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start)
- start wpa_gui and scan for your WLAN
- the rest is self explaining

kind regards
blubbi


I don't even have that in my /etc/conf.d/net file. ath5k seems rock solid to me. No performance or stability issues for me on zen-2.6.29_r1. Overall, atheros is a far more pleasant experience compared to, say, wrangling with broadcom chipsets like my 4311. :roll:
_________________
*Courtesy reminder* Prepend [SOLVED] to the title of your thread, if applicable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

minor_prophets wrote:
blubbi wrote:

Code:
mode_wlan0="managed"
preferred_aps_wlan0=( "YourSSID1" "YourSSID2" )
associate_order_wlan0="forceany"


- startup wlan0 (/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start)
- start wpa_gui and scan for your WLAN
- the rest is self explaining

kind regards
blubbi


I don't even have that in my /etc/conf.d/net file. ath5k seems rock solid to me. No performance or stability issues for me on zen-2.6.29_r1. Overall, atheros is a far more pleasant experience compared to, say, wrangling with broadcom chipsets like my 4311. :roll:


You are right, you don't need that stuff, but feels better to have something in there :-) But yes, when you use DHCP you need not to edit net.

And again, yes :-) Atheros rocks *G*
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hrnick
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2002
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

blubbi wrote:
Tack så mycket, och hälsa Linköping. Jag har släktingar som bor i Linköping. :-)

Hehe, jag ska göra det när jag kommer hem, jag är ute och reser (med min NC10:a) nu. :)

Any news on battery, wlan on/off, bluetooth and the rest of the Fn-* buttons?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2496
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For anyone that is using Openbox, you have an alternative to using xbindkeys. I emerged xbacklight and alsa-utils (for alsamixer), and then I wrote these keybindings and placed them in the keybinding section of .config/openbox/rc.xml:

Code:

    <!-- MY KEYBINDINGS START -->

    <!-- Keybinding for exiting Openbox with prompt -->
    <keybind key="A-Escape">
      <action name="Exit">
        <prompt>yes</prompt>
      </action>
    </keybind>

    <!-- Keybinding for showing the menu -->
    <keybind key="Super_L">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>root-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>     

    <!-- Keybinding for increasing screen brightness by 10% -->
    <keybind key="XF86MonBrightnessUp">
      <action name="execute">
        <command>xbacklight -inc 10</command>
      </action>
    </keybind>

    <!-- Keybinding for decreasing screen brightness by 10% -->
    <keybind key="XF86MonBrightnessDown">
      <action name="execute">
        <command>xbacklight -dec 10</command>
      </action>
    </keybind>

    <!-- Keybinding for increasing PCM volume by 2% -->
    <keybind key="XF86AudioRaiseVolume">
      <action name="execute">
        <command>amixer set PCM 2%+</command>
      </action>
    </keybind>

    <!-- Keybinding for decreasing PCM volume by 2% -->
    <keybind key="XF86AudioLowerVolume">
      <action name="execute">
        <command>amixer set PCM 2%-</command>
      </action>
    </keybind>

    <!-- Keybinding for muting/unmuting volume -->
    <keybind key="XF86AudioMute">
      <action name="execute">
        <command>amixer set Master toggle</command>
      </action>
    </keybind>

    <!-- MY KEYBINDINGS STOP -->


I found that these settings worked out the best for my needs, but feel free to tweak them to your liking. :) Also, has anyone noticed a huge amount of processor usage when using xbacklight commands? Htop is reporting anywhere between 8% and 20% processor usage as I use my xbacklight keybindings. I'm wondering if anyone sees this type of usage when using the xbindkeys method instead of the Openbox keybindings, or if the cpu usage is simply due to xbacklight.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1174
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, here I am at the end of nearly a week's installing fun. Despite the duration, it felt pretty painless (distcc and 2 other computers FTW!) and everything's working pretty nicely, even kwin compositing which drives me mad on my old 855GM machine. A couple of things:

1) I tried keytouch and it does work, but doesn't seem to load my configfile on boot despite the initscript being successful. I also dislike its reliance on acpid and old /proc/acpi stuff. Keytouch-editor is handy for finding the keycodes though. xmodmap works for the volume keys, but not for brightness using the info above (the keymappings do work using keytouch). Here's my current .Xmodmap:
Code:
keycode 159 = XF86KbdLightOnOff
keycode 160 = XF86AudioMute
keycode 174 = XF86AudioLowerVolume
keycode 176 = XF86AudioRaiseVolume
keycode 136 = XF86MonBrightnessUp
keycode 137 = XF86MonBrightnessDown

So do I need to use some additional app to translate the XF86... items to xbacklight commands?

2) Really impressed that the webcam works in Skype with ZERO setup hell. However, the embedded mic has no sound pickup. Is this to be expected, or is there something else I need to do or install? I don't have any microphone controls in kmix, which I think I did have on my old box.

3) As I have powerdevil installed, is there anything to be gained by using cpufreqd too? My old box didn't support cpufreq so this is all a bit new to me!

4) From Powertop I see that the bluetooth device is causing wakeups 100% of the time. This is true even if I unload the bluetooth and btusb modules. Is there anything else I can do that's not permanent?

5) It seems if I want to change from an Infrastructure to an ad-hoc wifi connection I have to stop and change "ap_scan=2" to "ap_scan=1" (or is it vice versa?) in wpa_supplicant.conf. Is there an easier way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1174
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A few people have asked about bluetooth. I've just started delving into this myself, and the results are not just unhappy but devastating :(

It seems any attempt to connect to another device causes a panic. In my case, I setup an .asoundrc file to create a device from my Nokia BH-503 headset, and tested it by running "mplayer -ao alsa:device=bluetooth foo.ogg" and following the unsuccessful attempt to play to the headset (this was expected), my screen froze and Caps Lock and Scroll Lock LEDs started blinking (not expected). This was a hard lock which even SysReq couldn't rescue me from. I got the same result from an rfcomm connect command, and I don't fancy trying any other stunts until I know more.

I hope this is just some poor config on my part, but it certainly is worrying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1174
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seem to have (sorta) improved things with the bluetooth situation. I did a BIOS upgrade, and also unmasked bluez-4, and one of these has made it possible to do an rfcomm connect or try mplayer using the bluetooth device without causing the panic. They still don't work, but at least they don't hose the system :S

Of course the problem probably has a lot to do with having apparently no means to pair with the headset. I set "security auto" and "pairing multi" and supplied the correct PIN in hcid.conf but it doesn't seem to be enough to pair the device automatically.

I didn't really want to do this, but I reluctantly emerged kdebluetooth and all its kde3 deps (and downgraded back to bluez-*-3) but this didn't help because it didn't "see" my adapter.

So, what next? Should I merge the whole frickin' Gnome stack to see if their bluetooth tools will work? Or is kde4bluetooth going to magically appear later this afternoon? Along with xorg-server-1.6, Duke Nukem Forever and Shergar?

...

On a more constructive note, I'm still wondering about the whole Fn-keys thing. Instead of using xbacklight, is there a dbus command you could send to Powerdevil to make it change the brightness?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1174
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2009 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whooargh. Just had a very scary experience with mine, tell me what you make of this...

I've been working on an Intel driver bug that's affecting my old laptop, and was advised to change from EXA to UXA in my xorg.conf. This didn't solve the problem, but I thought I'd see how UXA worked on the NC10 as a "control subject". With kernel modesetting enabled it failed just like it did on the older machine, but without it it seemed okay.

However, on my next reboot I found the wireless wasn't working. The dmesg output showed an error saying "failed to reset hardware (-11)" repeatedly. This persisted across reboot even after going back to EXA.

I rebooted into Windows, and things were even worse: not only was the wireless still non-functional (the device didn't show any errors but it didn't see any nearby APs, of which there are many), but the touchpad movement was jerky, sound output stuttering badly, and possibly a bit more disk activity than usual.

I did manage to get things back to normal by enabling the boot-time diagnostic in the BIOS, which let out a nice loud beep the first time it rebooted (not on subsequent reboots). But what does this mean? It's got me more than a little spooked.

Could the UXA code have actually screwed up the whole PCI bus in some way? Is anyone else already running UXA and/or KMS enabled on the NC10, if so have you had any similar experiences?

(Sidenote: it could be unrelated, but my ath5k performance seems to have been going steadily downhill over the last week or two. Any idea about this?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tolstoi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 678

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2009 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which driver could I use for the 10/100 ethernet controller. Lspci's output is Marvell Technologies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1174
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2009 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tolstoi wrote:
Which driver could I use for the 10/100 ethernet controller. Lspci's output is Marvell Technologies.


You want the 'sky2' one, it's actually under 10/100/1000 (Gigabit) ethernet devices in the kernel config menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tolstoi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 678

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2009 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hrnick
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2002
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to acpi up and running but it doesn't generate the button/lid event. Has anyone had any luck with this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1174
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hrnick, not sure what you may need to do in your case, but both lid and buttons are exposed to KDE's power manager (PowerDevil) for me. I don't use acpid, just hal and dbus, and I haven't had to do any specific steps to make them work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 2 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum