Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
An awesome app called Qingy (Part 1)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 28, 29, 30  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zietbukuel wrote:
Nothing has changed, I can't move the damn mouse :?


You also forgot to mention about the kind of mouse you have...
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zietbukuel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 606
Location: /dev/peru/lima

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a microsoft intellimouse usb and ps2 compatible mouse, is that enough?

This is the output of lsusb:

Code:
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 045e:0040 Microsoft Corp. Wheel Mouse Optical

_________________
AMD FX 8350 8-core CPU
16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM
ASUS M5A97 Motherboard
1TB (Gentoo) + 500GB (Windows 7 for games) HDDs
Nvidia 550 GTX Ti 1Gb Ram DDR5
Cooler Master CM690 Case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tane_stelzer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 263
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland and Kempen, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK have emerged qingy but have some problems, firstly i have no mouse and yes i have
mouse-protocol=IMPS/2
in my directfbrc and yes i have got the gpm useflag. So does any body have any ideas for this? another problem is that the resolution si well very very low. My framebuffer is set to 1024x768 and i have alsa set that as a mode in my directfbrc? Can anybody help me out on this?
Tane
_________________
Quick Quide to Linux Commands!
MINI HOWTO Get Planeshift working
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joebel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 119
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Qingy keeps dropping me into text mode. I hope someone over here understands what's happening.

I'm already using vesafb-tng: My boot rule in grub.conf works like
Code:
  kernel (hd0,4)/boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda7 video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr:0,1400x1050
-24@60 splash=verbose,theme:emergence CONSOLE=/dev/tty1
  initrd = /boot/fbsplash-emergence-1400x1050


That works fine. I get a nice 1400x1050 screen, with a nice splash image and all. --> vesafb-tng seems to work fine.

Using fbset I get an output, which I save into /etc/fb.modes:
Code:

mode "1400x1050-60"
    # D: 122.339 MHz, H: 65.213 kHz, V: 59.993 Hz
    geometry 1400 1050 1400 2800 24
    timings 8174 238 88 33 1 150 3
    vsync high
    rgba 8/16,8/8,8/0,0/0
endmode


I create /etc/directfbrc
Code:

mode=1400x1050-60
depth=24


When I boot up the bootsplash and all works fine. But qingy returns me to text mode. If i use qingy-DirectFB --verbose i get:
Code:
*) Direct/Thread: Running 'Keyboard Input' (INPUT, 9506)...
 (!!!)  *** UNIMPLEMENTED [fusion_reactor_set_lock] *** [reactor.c:797]
(*) DirectFB/Input: Keyboard 0.9 (convergence integrated media GmbH)
(!) DirectFB/FBDev: Could not mmap MMIO region (offset 0, length 0)!
    --> Invalid argument
(!) DirectFB/Core: Could not initialize 'gfxcard' core!
    --> General I/O error!
Unrecoverable error: reverting to text mode!


DAMN! On my other old laptop qingy is working fine, but here I can't get it to work. Since this "new" laptop has an ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R250 Lf card (ATI Mobility), I tried the radeonfb instead of the vesafb-tng framebuffer driver in the kernel. Issueing qingy-DirectFB --verbose with radeonfb gives me:
Code:
*) Direct/Thread: Running 'Keyboard Input' (INPUT, 9490)...
 (!!!)  *** UNIMPLEMENTED [fusion_reactor_set_lock] *** [reactor.c:797]
(*) DirectFB/Input: Keyboard 0.9 (convergence integrated media GmbH)
(*) DirectFB/RADEON: found Radeon R250 Lf [FireGL 9000]
(*) DirectFB/Graphics: ATI Radeon 0.2 (Michel Dänzer)
(*) DirectFB/Core/WM: Default 0.2 (Convergence GmbH)
(!) DirectFB/DirectFBCreate: Setting desktop buffer mode failed!
     -> No virtual resolution support or not enough memory?
        Falling back to system back buffer.
(!) DirectFB/DirectFBCreate: Setting system memory desktop back buffer failed!
     -> Using front buffer only mode.
(!) DirectFB/core/layers: Could not set primary region config!
    --> Not supported!
Unrecoverable error: reverting to text mode!
(!) [ 9486:    0.000] --> Caught signal 11 (at (nil), invalid address) <--
Killed


So now I'm lost as to what to do to get Qingy to work on this laptop. Anyone have a clue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joebel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 119
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joebel wrote:
Qingy keeps dropping me into text mode. I hope someone over here understands what's happening.

{SNIPPED}

So now I'm lost as to what to do to get Qingy to work on this laptop. Anyone have a clue?


Never mind: got it working using radeonfb. :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
groovec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you tell me how?
i have the same problem. allready tryed redeonfb, but it still goes into text mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joebel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 119
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

groovec wrote:
can you tell me how?
i have the same problem. allready tryed redeonfb, but it still goes into text mode.


Assuming that you are refering to my previous post:
- first I compiled the kernel with radeonfb ( and no other fb - no vesafb-tng).
- Then I added the correct rule and an initrd in grub.
- after booting up and seeing the correct framebuffer working, i ran recompiled DirectFB, Qingy and fbset.
- ran fbset and entered the returned info into fb.modes. directfbrc adresses that mode. set qingy theme to non-default.
- rebooted --> working graphics for qingy.

The key for me this time was: first get radeonfb working, regardless of qingy or Directfb.

When radeonfb worked, I startdd the Directfb en qingy work from scratch on, ensuring that I was working with fbset-values valid for radeonfb.

If you need grub entries of any other file-stuff, just ask.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joebel wrote:
Joebel wrote:
Qingy keeps dropping me into text mode. I hope someone over here understands what's happening.

{SNIPPED}

So now I'm lost as to what to do to get Qingy to work on this laptop. Anyone have a clue?


Never mind: got it working using radeonfb. :oops:


I will always like problems that solve themselves :-)
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
groovec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you for the info, but it seems i have another problem :

Code:
added keybinding: 'win' will switch to left tty...
added keybinding: 'menu' will switch to right tty...
added keybinding: 'ALT-p' will poweroff machine...
added keybinding: 'ALT-r' will reboot machine...
added keybinding: 'ALT-s' will activate screen saver...
added keybinding: 'ALT-z' will put machine to sleep...
added keybinding: 'CTRL-ESC' will revert to text mode...
Session locking is NOT enabled.

       ---------------------- DirectFB v0.9.24 ---------------------
             (c) 2000-2002  convergence integrated media GmbH
             (c) 2002-2004  convergence GmbH
        -----------------------------------------------------------

(*) DirectFB/Core: Single Application Core. (2006-07-17 10:26)
(*) Direct/Memcpy: Using SSE optimized memcpy()
(*) Direct/Thread: Running 'VT Switcher' (CRITICAL, 21434)...
(*) Direct/Thread: Running 'Keyboard Input' (INPUT, 21435)...
 (!!!)  *** UNIMPLEMENTED [fusion_reactor_set_lock] *** [reactor.c:797]
(*) DirectFB/Input: Keyboard 0.9 (convergence integrated media GmbH)
(*) DirectFB/Genefx: MMX detected and enabled
(!) DirectFB/FBDev: Could not mmap MMIO region (offset 0, length 0)!
    --> Invalid argument
(!) DirectFB/Core: Could not initialize 'gfxcard' core!
    --> General I/O error!
Unrecoverable error: reverting to text mode!


i had qingy running for a long time. but months ago after a update i only get into text mode.
i tryed anything, also deleting alle config files and begin from scratch.

EDIT:
i had still vesafb-tng compiled in the kernel. i removed that and the error is gone. but still not working :

Code:
(*) DirectFB/Core: Single Application Core. (2006-07-17 10:26)
(*) Direct/Memcpy: Using SSE optimized memcpy()
(*) Direct/Thread: Running 'VT Switcher' (CRITICAL, 11946)...
(*) Direct/Thread: Running 'Keyboard Input' (INPUT, 11947)...
 (!!!)  *** UNIMPLEMENTED [fusion_reactor_set_lock] *** [reactor.c:797]
(*) DirectFB/Input: Keyboard 0.9 (convergence integrated media GmbH)
(*) DirectFB/Genefx: MMX detected and enabled
(*) DirectFB/RADEON: found RV350 [Mobility Radeon 9600 M10]
(*) DirectFB/Graphics: ATI Radeon 0.2 (Michel DXnzer)
(*) DirectFB/Core/WM: Default 0.2 (Convergence GmbH)
(!) [11943:    0.000] --> Caught signal 11 (at 0x247c8910, invalid address) <--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joebel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 119
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

groovec wrote:
thank you for the info, but it seems i have another problem :

Code:
 (!!!)  *** UNIMPLEMENTED [fusion_reactor_set_lock] *** [reactor.c:797]
(*) DirectFB/Input: Keyboard 0.9 (convergence integrated media GmbH)
(*) DirectFB/Genefx: MMX detected and enabled
(!) DirectFB/FBDev: Could not mmap MMIO region (offset 0, length 0)!
    --> Invalid argument
(!) DirectFB/Core: Could not initialize 'gfxcard' core!
    --> General I/O error!
Unrecoverable error: reverting to text mode!


Aah. That was the one I got from using vesafb-tng instead of radeonfb on an ATI-based laptop. The fact that you see this error disappear after using radeonfb (and dumping vesa from the kernel shows that going for radeonfb in this is indeed a prudent course of action.

groovec wrote:

EDIT:
i had still vesafb-tng compiled in the kernel. i removed that and the error is gone. but still not working :

Code:
(*) DirectFB/Core: Single Application Core. (2006-07-17 10:26)
(*) Direct/Memcpy: Using SSE optimized memcpy()
(*) Direct/Thread: Running 'VT Switcher' (CRITICAL, 11946)...
(*) Direct/Thread: Running 'Keyboard Input' (INPUT, 11947)...
 (!!!)  *** UNIMPLEMENTED [fusion_reactor_set_lock] *** [reactor.c:797]
(*) DirectFB/Input: Keyboard 0.9 (convergence integrated media GmbH)
(*) DirectFB/Genefx: MMX detected and enabled
(*) DirectFB/RADEON: found RV350 [Mobility Radeon 9600 M10]
(*) DirectFB/Graphics: ATI Radeon 0.2 (Michel DXnzer)
(*) DirectFB/Core/WM: Default 0.2 (Convergence GmbH)
(!) [11943:    0.000] --> Caught signal 11 (at 0x247c8910, invalid address) <--


That looks a lot like the stuff I had when initially going for radeonfb, but without setting up everything up again. Is the framebuffer stuff itself (without DirectFB apps) working allright? Do you now have a higher resolution in console mode?

If not, you might wanna consider arranging that first. That'll ensure that the radeonfb stuff is set correctly, before entering the DirectFB-realm. It that's correct, then recompiling and starting the fbset stuff might work. It did for me!

hey, I know it sounds a bit tredious. But in that sequence I finally succeeded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
groovec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

framebuffer itself is working, i have the console running in 1024x768-32@85.

fbset :
Code:

mode "1024x768-85"
    # D: 98.902 MHz, H: 70.243 kHz, V: 85.454 Hz
    geometry 1024 768 1024 768 32
    timings 10111 192 32 34 14 160 6
    rgba 8/16,8/8,8/0,0/0
endmode


exact the same is in /etc/fb.modes

recompiling DirectFB fbset and qingy also did not solve the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

groovec wrote:
framebuffer itself is working, i have the console running in 1024x768-32@85.

fbset :
Code:

mode "1024x768-85"
    # D: 98.902 MHz, H: 70.243 kHz, V: 85.454 Hz
    geometry 1024 768 1024 768 32
    timings 10111 192 32 34 14 160 6
    rgba 8/16,8/8,8/0,0/0
endmode


exact the same is in /etc/fb.modes

recompiling DirectFB fbset and qingy also did not solve the problem.


Note that I'm running DirectFB 0.9.24 (not the latest - it gives me issues).
Try putting the following in /etc/directfbrc:
mode=1024x768
depth=32
no-hardware
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
groovec
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running the same version
i created that config with the settings but still the same problem :/
when i get home i will try to downgrade DirectFB to a version where qingy worked for me. maybe 0.9.24 is just f**ked up with my hardware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sachankara
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 696
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a pity that Qingy does not work with the hardened glibc. :( It just terminates and returns to the normal text login. Someday in the future, I'll try to do a backtrace and a bugfix, and then submit it. But that'll have to wait for now... :/
_________________
Gentoo Hardened Linux 2.6.21 + svorak (Swedish dvorak)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paczesiowa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 593
Location: Oborniki Śląskie, Poland

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I try to create theme with that default gentoo wallpaper. ( http://www.gentoo.org/images/backgrounds/gentoo1024x768.jpg ) and it looks like this: http://img107.imageshack.us/img107/193/qingy2mr6.png
(I switched background in dragonfly theme) why does this look so poor? ( looks almost like 16 colours and it't not 'sharp' ) when I view that jpg file with dfbsee it looks ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paczesiowa wrote:
I try to create theme with that default gentoo wallpaper. ( http://www.gentoo.org/images/backgrounds/gentoo1024x768.jpg ) and it looks like this: http://img107.imageshack.us/img107/193/qingy2mr6.png
(I switched background in dragonfly theme) why does this look so poor? ( looks almost like 16 colours and it't not 'sharp' ) when I view that jpg file with dfbsee it looks ok.


I would say that you are running DirectFB in 16bit color depth. Try setting it to 32 bit by putting depth=32 in /etc/directfbrc
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paczesiowa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 593
Location: Oborniki Śląskie, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

big thx!! that worked, but it's kinda strange that i could view it properly with dfbsee which uses directfb. anyway tx:]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paczesiowa wrote:
big thx!! that worked, but it's kinda strange that i could view it properly with dfbsee which uses directfb. anyway tx:]


Well, DirectFB allows a program to override its default settings; maybe dfbsee manages color depth directly...
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paczesiowa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 593
Location: Oborniki Śląskie, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wanted default gentoo theme but there was only picture on ur site (no theme download link) so here it is:

http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/9324/qingycf3.png

http://two.xthost.info/Paczesiowa/gentoo.rar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paczesiowa wrote:
I wanted default gentoo theme but there was only picture on ur site (no theme download link) so here it is:

http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/9324/qingycf3.png

http://two.xthost.info/Paczesiowa/gentoo.rar


I can see the screenshot and it looks nice, but I cannot download the theme from the link you provided. Can you check it please?
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paczesiowa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 593
Location: Oborniki Śląskie, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry, crappy free file hosting:/

try this: http://rapidshare.de/files/30600231/gentoo.rar.html


btw these buttons are great because they are png with transparent background so they will work with any background ( my friend did them)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paczesiowa wrote:
sorry, crappy free file hosting:/

try this: http://rapidshare.de/files/30600231/gentoo.rar.html


btw these buttons are great because they are png with transparent background so they will work with any background ( my friend did them)


Got it. Looks very nice :-)
I'm interested in making it (with minor modifications) the default theme for Gentoo; do you have anything against that? Of course you will get due credits. Also, are you aware of any copyright issues with the theme graphic and font?
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paczesiowa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 593
Location: Oborniki Śląskie, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't care that much for licenses:D I'm sure that whoever did that wallpaper, he will agree to use it in gentoo program:] and font isn't that important, I choosed it because it's the only font I know (windows user, I use desktop linux for few weeks)

and I dont want any credit, I just took already created theme, switched wallpaper and asked friend to create buttons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paczesiowa wrote:
I don't care that much for licenses:D I'm sure that whoever did that wallpaper, he will agree to use it in gentoo program:] and font isn't that important, I choosed it because it's the only font I know (windows user, I use desktop linux for few weeks)

and I dont want any credit, I just took already created theme, switched wallpaper and asked friend to create buttons.

Unfortunately, we cannot publish / make available items those license we cannot be sure of... The arial font, for example, afaik can only be used on a machine with a valid MS windows license...
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babrodtk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see a lot of people have gotten help in this thread, and I too have some difficulties getting qingy and DirectFB to talk to each another.

I have set up DirectFB to log to /var/log/directfb.log. It uses radeonfb, and works correctly

Code:

# dfbsummon
(*) DirectFB/config: Parsing config file '/etc/directfbrc'.(*)


cat /var/log/directfb.log shows no errors, and I get the framebuffer to work (even mouse and keyboard :)) ). If I however delete /var/log/directfb.log, and run qingy (which then should run DirectFB which should create the logfile again), the log file is not created.

Right before qingy reverts to text mode I get the following

Code:

TERM environment variable not set


This is also what I get when switching between the tty's.

I am using DirectFB 0.9.24 and qingy 0.9.1.

Does anyone have an idea of what might be wrong?
_________________
gah!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 29 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum