Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
An awesome app called Qingy (Part 1)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29, 30  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
baldeante
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 498
Location: Caldas da Rainha, Portugal

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I have qingy 0.6 installed running with only one problem i can't use the mouse on the login ... the mouse pointer is at the center of the screen, at least i thing that is the mouse pointer since i never managed to move it.

I'm only using qingy in one tty.

Code:

#etc/inittab
c1:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty1 linux
c2:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty2 linux
c3:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty3 linux
c4:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty4 linux
c5:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty5 linux
c6:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty6 linux
c7:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty7


I search this tread and no solution, since i had GPM i removed but still no luke ... the mouse works after the login but can't seem to put it working on the login.

I have a old mouse (using /dev/ttyS1) it runs ok for Xorg or GPM, i removed GPM but since it still don't work i guess i miss something, i checked my kernel and the mouse driver is compiled there what did i miss ???

[EDITED]
I forgot to mentioned that i’m using kernel 2.4, i just read the kernel 2.6 upgrade manual and i try /dev/tts/1 instead of /dev/ttyS1 and still no luke mouse only works after login ….
_________________
Never Quit, Never Get Mad, Get Even
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

baldeante wrote:
Hello,

I have qingy 0.6 installed running with only one problem i can't use the mouse on the login ... the mouse pointer is at the center of the screen, at least i thing that is the mouse pointer since i never managed to move it.
I have a old mouse (using /dev/ttyS1) it runs ok for Xorg or GPM, i removed GPM but since it still don't work i guess i miss something, i checked my kernel and the mouse driver is compiled there what did i miss ???


You have to tell DirectFB that you are using a serial mouse... Try putting the following in your /etc/directfbrc:
Code:

mouse-protocol=MS


If that doesn't work, try using MS3, MouseMan or MouseSystems as protocol. See 'man directfbrc' for more details.
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baldeante
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 498
Location: Caldas da Rainha, Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply ...

I had mouse-protocol=MM, i try to replaced it with MS3, MouseMan, MouseSystems, MM3, Microsoft, MMSeries, Logitech, BusMouse,SysMouse and WSMouse and no luck.

Between every try i did env-update, i also try them with /dev/ttyS1 and /dev/ttyS1 on xorg.conf i guess i will have to forget the mouse i can't remember nothing else :cry::cry: thanks any way.
_________________
Never Quit, Never Get Mad, Get Even
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

baldeante wrote:
Thanks for the reply ...

I had mouse-protocol=MM, i try to replaced it with MS3, MouseMan, MouseSystems, MM3, Microsoft, MMSeries, Logitech, BusMouse,SysMouse and WSMouse and no luck.

Between every try i did env-update, i also try them with /dev/ttyS1 and /dev/ttyS1 on xorg.conf i guess i will have to forget the mouse i can't remember nothing else :cry::cry: thanks any way.

Leave xorg.conf alone, it has nothing to do with DirectFB ;-)
Try setting
Code:

mouseport=ttyS1

in your /etc/directfbrc

This is not documented in 'man directfbrc', but it might work...
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baldeante
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 498
Location: Caldas da Rainha, Portugal

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In last post i mean /dev/tts/1 and /dev/ttyS1 but now i know i don't have to touch xorg.conf ...... ;)

With mouseport=ttyS1 or mouseport=/dev/ttyS1 i get :

Code:

Unrecoverable error: reverting to text mode!


I'm use to have something breaking my head on my gentoo box this is just one more, i will solve it some how just like every other .... just maybe not today ...



Thanks again.
_________________
Never Quit, Never Get Mad, Get Even
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luser99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:41 pm    Post subject: no /etc/directfb :( Reply with quote

hi,

I have this problem I don't have this file

Quote:

/etc/directfbrc


But I do have man directfbrc and also DirectFB IS installed. What's wrong?

thanks
_________________
I am a luser :'-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baldeante
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 498
Location: Caldas da Rainha, Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 8:05 am    Post subject: Re: no /etc/directfb :( Reply with quote

luser99 wrote:
hi,

I have this problem I don't have this file

Quote:

/etc/directfbrc


But I do have man directfbrc and also DirectFB IS installed. What's wrong?

thanks


I didn't had the file to you just have to create it with nano vi or any editor of your choice and set any parameters you need on it.
_________________
Never Quit, Never Get Mad, Get Even
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luser99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 4:22 pm    Post subject: Re: no /etc/directfb :( Reply with quote

baldeante wrote:
luser99 wrote:
hi,

I have this problem I don't have this file

Quote:

/etc/directfbrc


But I do have man directfbrc and also DirectFB IS installed. What's wrong?

thanks


I didn't had the file to you just have to create it with nano vi or any editor of your choice and set any parameters you need on it.


Nano or vi? What's that? I thought files are created with Mocrosoft Office. WHY can't I crate /etc/directfbrc with Microsoft Office like this directfbrc.doc??

thanks
_________________
I am a luser :'-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
01mf02
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 1070
Location: Innsbruck, Austria

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you joking or are you mad?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baldeante
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 498
Location: Caldas da Rainha, Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think you will have office after installing gentoo .... :roll: :roll:

I have read some forums that it is possible to run office on Linux but i never really try it woud break the ideia of free software in my case ..... :wink: :wink:

If you are on graphical interface (linux graphical like gnome kde fluxbox etc) you can use any editor you wish as long as you save the file on text format and with the name directfbrc no extension like doc xls or any other just directfbrc.
_________________
Never Quit, Never Get Mad, Get Even
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koara
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Location: Portland, Maine

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After I installed the stable version and all dependencies I rebooted and received the following error:

Code:
init: Id "c1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes


The terminal section of my inittab is as follows:

Code:
# TERMINALS
c1:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty1
c2:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty2
c3:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty3
c4:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty4
c5:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty5
c6:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty6 linux


Does anyone know what would be causing this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baldeante
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 498
Location: Caldas da Rainha, Portugal

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

koara wrote:
After I installed the stable version and all dependencies I rebooted and received the following error:

Code:
init: Id "c1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes


The terminal section of my inittab is as follows:

Code:
# TERMINALS
c1:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty1
c2:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty2
c3:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty3
c4:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty4
c5:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty5
c6:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty6 linux


Does anyone know what would be causing this?


had that problem right after
Code:

emerge --depclean


It removed my devfsd package without i see it ..... re-emerging the package solve my problem.
_________________
Never Quit, Never Get Mad, Get Even
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koara
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Location: Portland, Maine

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

baldeante wrote:
koara wrote:
After I installed the stable version and all dependencies I rebooted and received the following error:

Code:
init: Id "c1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes


The terminal section of my inittab is as follows:

Code:
# TERMINALS
c1:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty1
c2:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty2
c3:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty3
c4:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty4
c5:12345:respawn:/sbin/qingy tty5
c6:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty6 linux


Does anyone know what would be causing this?


had that problem right after
Code:

emerge --depclean


It removed my devfsd package without i see it ..... re-emerging the package solve my problem.


I am using udev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baldeante
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 498
Location: Caldas da Rainha, Portugal

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think i have both packages installed but i'm not at my linux box, i can't say for sure, i will confirm tomorrow.
_________________
Never Quit, Never Get Mad, Get Even
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baldeante
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 498
Location: Caldas da Rainha, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have both packages installed.

I can't say it will solve your problem but devfsd is less than 50 kb try it i don't think it will break your machine in worst case you will have to remove it again.
_________________
Never Quit, Never Get Mad, Get Even
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brazzmonkey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 372
Location: between azerty keyboard and chair

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

qingy seems to offer a nice login manager, but the themes that come with are, well, a matter of taste...
i also notice that qingy-themes in portage doesn't seem to be up-to-date, it doesn't include gentoo login screens which are part of the theme pack on qingy's website... nevermind. it's probably interesting for designing your own login screen, but i'm no artist...

a part from nice eye-candy, i haven't been convinced by qingy : too many things to reconfigure (mouse and key maps...) some logoff options no longer available in kde (probably because kdm is no more used) - i find qingy having more drawbacks than advantages...

it would be nice to get similar stuff integrated into usual DE, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
el.phantasmo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got Qingy installed and running, everything is great.. except that the mouse pointer disappears when I try to move it.

It's not that the mouse doesn't work; I can blindly move it around and will eventually stumble upon a button. I just can't see the cursor.

It's a somewhat old laptop (Acer TravelMate 210T). Mouse works in X and in framebuffer (links2 -g with gpm enabled). I've tried with gpm enabled and disabled, same thing both times. Kernel is Gentoo 2.6.16-r7, only real 'extras' that are compiled in are the framebuffer and bootsplash stuff (as in http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_gensplash).

Anyone know what I can do to fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zietbukuel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 606
Location: /dev/peru/lima

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

el.phantasmo wrote:
Got Qingy installed and running, everything is great.. except that the mouse pointer disappears when I try to move it.

It's not that the mouse doesn't work; I can blindly move it around and will eventually stumble upon a button. I just can't see the cursor.

It's a somewhat old laptop (Acer TravelMate 210T). Mouse works in X and in framebuffer (links2 -g with gpm enabled). I've tried with gpm enabled and disabled, same thing both times. Kernel is Gentoo 2.6.16-r7, only real 'extras' that are compiled in are the framebuffer and bootsplash stuff (as in http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_gensplash).

Anyone know what I can do to fix it?


I have the same problem but i can see the mouse, but it doesnt move at all...
_________________
AMD FX 8350 8-core CPU
16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM
ASUS M5A97 Motherboard
1TB (Gentoo) + 500GB (Windows 7 for games) HDDs
Nvidia 550 GTX Ti 1Gb Ram DDR5
Cooler Master CM690 Case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zietbukuel wrote:
I have the same problem but i can see the mouse, but it doesnt move at all...


After updating DirectFB to 0.9.25.1 I had the same problem. This reminded me that, when you emerge DirectFB, you must tell Portage what input drivers should be built. I emerged DirectFB as follows:
Code:
INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard ps2mouse" emerge DirectFB

This made my keyboad, PS/2 and USB mouse work in DirectFB, and thus in qingy.
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zubzub
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 91
Location: ::1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm experiencing some problems with qingy, whenever I try to start it I just get a black screen and nothing works (I can't switch to other tty's, I have to press the reset button). I followed the gentoo wikis, compiled my kernel correctly, made sure no extra options were enable, tried both vesa and vesa-tng. Emerged the packages with the right useflag. Same problem over and over again. My system boots fine in 1280x1024-24@75 just as I tell it to, but qingy just refuses to work (it does work in textmode).

Any ideas what I should try or look out for? I use the latest genkernel (2.6.16-r9)

some extra info:
my additional kernel line in grub
Code:
video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr:2,1280x1024-24@75


fbset gives me:
Code:
mode "1280x1024-75"
    # D: 135.007 MHz, H: 79.981 kHz, V: 75.029 Hz
    geometry 1280 1024 1280 2457 16
    timings 7407 248 16 38 1 144 3
    hsync high
    vsync high
    rgba 5/11,6/5,5/0,0/0
endmode

and the vesa lines in dmesg:
Code:
vesafb: NVidia Corporation, NV25 Board, Chip Rev    (OEM: NVidia)
vesafb: VBE version: 3.0
vesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:e350
vesafb: pmi: set display start = c00ce395, set palette = c00ce41a
vesafb: pmi: ports = b4c3 b503 ba03 c003 c103 c403 c503 c603 c703 c803 c903 cc03 ce03 cf03 d003 d103 d203 d303 d403 d503 da03 ff03
vesafb: VBIOS/hardware supports DDC2 transfers
vesafb: monitor limits: vf = 75 Hz, hf = 83 kHz, clk = 140 MHz
vesafb: scrolling: ywrap using protected mode interface, yres_virtual=2457
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 160x64
vesafb: framebuffer at 0xd0000000, mapped to 0xe0880000, using 6144k, total 131072k
fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zietbukuel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 606
Location: /dev/peru/lima

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zubzub wrote:
...

Any ideas what I shoudl try or look out for? I use the latest genkernel (2.6.16-r9)

...



That is not the latest kernel... is 2.6.17 :wink:
_________________
AMD FX 8350 8-core CPU
16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM
ASUS M5A97 Motherboard
1TB (Gentoo) + 500GB (Windows 7 for games) HDDs
Nvidia 550 GTX Ti 1Gb Ram DDR5
Cooler Master CM690 Case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zubzub wrote:
I'm experiencing some problems with qingy, whenever I try to start it I just get a black screen and nothing works (I can't switch to other tty's, I have to press the reset button). I followed the gentoo wikis, compiled my kernel correctly, made sure no extra options were enable, tried both vesa and vesa-tng. Emerged the packages with the right useflag. Same problem over and over again. My system boots fine in 1280x1024-24@75 just as I tell it to, but qingy just refuses to work (it does work in textmode).

Any ideas what I should try or look out for? I use the latest genkernel (2.6.16-r9)


Try passing qingy the --verbose command line arg: what does it say before locking up your machine?
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zubzub
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 91
Location: ::1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok where do I find the log for the output it gives? I looked in /var/log but without succes. (I see the messages for like 0.5sec and get a black screen)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zubzub wrote:
Ok where do I find the log for the output it gives? I looked in /var/log but without succes. (I see the messages for like 0.5sec and get a black screen)


Hehe, unfortunately right now you can get console output and nothing else. I'm currently working on implementing more powerful logging cababilities, but these are not ready yet...
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zietbukuel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 606
Location: /dev/peru/lima

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

s4t4n wrote:
zietbukuel wrote:
I have the same problem but i can see the mouse, but it doesnt move at all...


After updating DirectFB to 0.9.25.1 I had the same problem. This reminded me that, when you emerge DirectFB, you must tell Portage what input drivers should be built. I emerged DirectFB as follows:
Code:
INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard ps2mouse" emerge DirectFB

This made my keyboad, PS/2 and USB mouse work in DirectFB, and thus in qingy.


Nothing has changed, I can't move the damn mouse :?
_________________
AMD FX 8350 8-core CPU
16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM
ASUS M5A97 Motherboard
1TB (Gentoo) + 500GB (Windows 7 for games) HDDs
Nvidia 550 GTX Ti 1Gb Ram DDR5
Cooler Master CM690 Case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 28 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum