Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
An awesome app called Qingy (Part 1)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 28, 29, 30  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mweinstein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2003
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2003 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even when using those commands, I get the error saying that the ebuild doesnt exist in /usr/portage. Why is this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chickpea
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 846
Location: Vancouver WA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2003 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

couple things.

you need to make a directory in /usr/local named portage

Code:
mkdir /usr/local/portage


Then portage needs to know where to look for ebuilds so in your /etc/make.conf file, uncomment
Code:
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage


I made a directory for qingy in app-misc. Not sure if you need all that but if you plan on using custom ebuilds it makes it nice to have them organized.

so qingy ebuild on my system is located
Code:
/usr/local/portage/app-misc/qingy/qingy-0.2.ebuild

Couple other extras: When you actually emerge qingy you will do this:
Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge qingy.
In essence qingy is considered a masked package. If you have uncommented this line in your /etc/make.conf file then you wont need to type the ACCEPT_KEYWORDS line. Make sense?

Also replace ~x86 with whatever platform you use ie ppc or sparc or whatever....

okay? Good Luck
Cat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mweinstein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2003
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2003 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That did the trick! Are there any concequences by using that OVERLAY directory? Does it just check there if an app isnt found in the standard place?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slickquickyb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2003
Posts: 20
Location: Houston, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2003 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i believe all it does it make it so that next time you emerge rsync you wont have to worry about portage overwriting the qingy ebuild ( because that is what portage would do if it was in /usr/portage instead of /usr/local/portage)


Scott Jones
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mweinstein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2003
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2003 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For some reason, after getting it installed, I wasnt able to get directfb to work on my machine. It is a Thinkpad a31p with a Radeon chip. Anyone have any ideas?

I can live without qingy, but it would definately be a nice feature!

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chickpea
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 846
Location: Vancouver WA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2003 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mweinstein wrote:
That did the trick! Are there any concequences by using that OVERLAY directory? Does it just check there if an app isnt found in the standard place?

Mark


Main consequence being that everytime you rsync, your personal ebuilds are not deleted. Otherwise most of it is transparent to the user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chickpea
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 846
Location: Vancouver WA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2003 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mweinstein wrote:
For some reason, after getting it installed, I wasnt able to get directfb to work on my machine. It is a Thinkpad a31p with a Radeon chip. Anyone have any ideas?

I can live without qingy, but it would definately be a nice feature!

Mark



Are you able to use the framebuffer before? Not sure about why it would not work. Unless, the graphics chip is not supported by DirectFB. I think I use the generic vesafb device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mweinstein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2003
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2003 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now Im having issues getting the framebuffer to work at all. HELP! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
red_over_blue
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 310

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2003 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I have another box that I can't use Gentoo on. I installed qingy from source on it, and everything seems to work fine except for one thing. When I try to log in, I always get "login failed!". I am sure this is a pam issue, but as I don't know anything about pam (I tried reading a bit, but I don't have time to learn it all right now) I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions?

I hope the following info is useful.

Code:

[john@limbo john]$ ls /etc/pam.d/
chage  login  other  passwd  qingy  shadow  sshd  su  useradd


[john@limbo john]$ cat /etc/pam.d/qingy
#%PAM-1.0

auth     required  pam_stack.so  service=system-auth
account  required  pam_stack.so  service=system-auth
password required  pam_stack.so  service=system-auth
session  required  pam_stack.so  service=system-auth




[john@limbo john]$ cat /etc/pam.d/login
#%PAM-1.0
auth            requisite       pam_securetty.so
auth            requisite       pam_nologin.so
auth            required        pam_env.so
auth            required        pam_unix.so nullok
account         required        pam_access.so
account         required        pam_unix.so
session         required        pam_motd.so
session         required        pam_limits.so
session         optional        pam_mail.so dir=/var/spool/mail standard
session         optional        pam_lastlog.so
session         required        pam_unix.so


Thanks in advance!
_________________
All your code are belong to us.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ManicMailman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arrrghh!
i like this program alot, but it blocks my non-kde sounds.
ive tried killing artsd, and my name is added to the audio group, but no luck...any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ManicMailman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

um...ok....nevermind...
i think you should call this program wolverine....it has self healing powers.
for instance, at first, my mouse wouldnt work, but after killing X and going back to qingy, it worked.

as mentioned above, non-kde audio didnt work. so i logged in kde as root, and it worked, so i thought there might be something wrong with permissions. but everything looked right. anyway, i logged back in as a normal user, and of course, it worked perfectly. i would not be suprised if i suddenly get an extra 10fps in games now, just for the hell of it. thanks man.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chickpea wrote:
Couple other extras: When you actually emerge qingy you will do this:
Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge qingy.
In essence qingy is considered a masked package. If you have uncommented this line in your /etc/make.conf file then you wont need to type the ACCEPT_KEYWORDS line. Make sense?
Personally, when I put customs ebuilds in my overlay, I remove the unstable flag (from "~x86" to plain "x86") otherwise you'll be downloading unstable dependencies too.

So to avoid trouble, just put x86 in it and it will download DirectFB-0.9.18 instead of DirectFB-0.9.19-r1.

I will definitly give a try to this baby.

A couple of questions:

- Does it support language setting like in gdm?
- If you can start different wm in several console, do they each spawn a separate X process?
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yagami
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 265
Location: Leiria, Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 12:00 am    Post subject: qingy Reply with quote

ok , its working with rivafb.so module in 640 x 480

but i need to pass some options to the X server. how do i pass the -dpi 96 option ? i need it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ManicMailman wrote:
um...ok....nevermind...
i think you should call this program wolverine....it has self healing powers.
for instance, at first, my mouse wouldnt work, but after killing X and going back to qingy, it worked.

as mentioned above, non-kde audio didnt work. so i logged in kde as root, and it worked, so i thought there might be something wrong with permissions. but everything looked right. anyway, i logged back in as a normal user, and of course, it worked perfectly. i would not be suprised if i suddenly get an extra 10fps in games now, just for the hell of it. thanks man.


There are definitely problems with qingy and pam... no doubt about that. I have prepared an alternative /etc/pam.d/qingy to give to you 'forumers' to test. This evening, when I should get my hands again on my 'big' PC, I hope I can post it here...

As for mouse not working, this might be of help. This is for all gpm users. Right now, DirectFB doesn't work with gpm: if you start a directfb app with gpm active, it is likely that mouse will not function correctly, like probably all apps that use gpm from that point afterwards. So, if qingy detects gpm running, it will stop it before entering directfb mode, and restart it when going back to text mode . Occasionally there may be some glitches, i.e. gpm does not get restarted, so you might try restarting it by hand, and restarting the X server (if it uses gpm) afterwards. In the long run, I hope the DirectFB folks are able to make Directfb and gpm coexist.
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!


Last edited by s4t4n on Mon Aug 18, 2003 7:51 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 7:24 am    Post subject: Re: qingy Reply with quote

yagami wrote:
ok , its working with rivafb.so module in 640 x 480

but i need to pass some options to the X server. how do i pass the -dpi 96 option ? i need it.


Right now, you cannot unless you change qingy source code by hand. It seems I should add an option to allow this...
Uh, there will surely be some changes in next version, thanks to feedback in this forum :-)
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tecknojunky wrote:
Personally, when I put customs ebuilds in my overlay, I remove the unstable flag (from "~x86" to plain "x86") otherwise you'll be downloading unstable dependencies too.

So to avoid trouble, just put x86 in it and it will download DirectFB-0.9.18 instead of DirectFB-0.9.19-r1.

I will definitly give a try to this baby.

A couple of questions:

- Does it support language setting like in gdm?
- If you can start different wm in several console, do they each spawn a separate X process?

No language settings right now... qingy being version 0.2, I think I will need quite some time to add support for that, so don't expect it very soon. But it will have it in the future.
And yes, each wm spawns a separate X process. If somebody knows of a way to avoid this, of course I'm interested...
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yagami
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 265
Location: Leiria, Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 1:42 pm    Post subject: features Reply with quote

well i am using it now , really testing it.

about the dpi problem , i figured it that the displaySize in XF86Config takes care of it , so i can use it now.

most things that bother me:

the resolution , i want to make the screen 1400x1050 ( thats the resolution i use on the other framebuffers )

session , i would like for the qingy on vt1 had kde 3 for default , gingy on vt2 had enlightenment , etc ...
this would not be set in config file , but to the latest session on that qingy , not the latest session by that user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anfpunk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 275
Location: Columbus, Oh

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got this up and running and love it. However I noticed one problem. If I have qingy startup for more than 1 tty, the screens overlap and it is unusable. If I only set tty1 to qingy and leave the rest for agetty it works like a charm. I'm using a GeForce2 GTS with the vesafb driver and 2.6.0-test3-mm1. Any ideas why it does this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yagami
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2002
Posts: 265
Location: Leiria, Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 8:46 pm    Post subject: kernel Reply with quote

i guess its pointless to ask if you tried with a 2.4 kernel ? it would be smart to have tried with it first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:48 pm    Post subject: Re: features Reply with quote

yagami wrote:
well i am using it now , really testing it.

about the dpi problem , i figured it that the displaySize in XF86Config takes care of it , so i can use it now.

Ah, good! One thing less to think about for me ;-)

yagami wrote:
the resolution , i want to make the screen 1400x1050 ( thats the resolution i use on the other framebuffers )

Try running
Code:
fbset
without arguments and put the whole output in
Code:
/etc/fb.modes
. Then create a file named
Code:
/etc/directfbrc
and put the line
Code:
mode=1400x1050
in it...

yagami wrote:

session , i would like for the qingy on vt1 had kde 3 for default , gingy on vt2 had enlightenment , etc ...
this would not be set in config file , but to the latest session on that qingy , not the latest session by that user.

This is very interesting: what about an option to select if you want last session of user, or last session of tty?[/code]
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As promised... this makes sound work on my machine. Please give it a try and let me know about the results... Replace the contents of your /etc/pam.d/qingy with this:

Code:

auth       required     /lib/security/pam_securetty.so
auth       required     /lib/security/pam_stack.so service=system-auth
auth       required     /lib/security/pam_nologin.so

account    required     /lib/security/pam_stack.so service=system-auth

password   required     /lib/security/pam_stack.so service=system-auth

session    required     /lib/security/pam_stack.so service=system-auth
session    optional     /lib/security/pam_console.so

_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maw wrote:
I have a directfbrc file, had to in order to get Qingy to run at 1280x1024. It just says

mode=1280x1024

in it, I don't think I'm missing anything... the problem only occurs during the time shutdown is running, when the border of my console image (it has a border where no text is drawn) gets drawn on top of Qingy's 'shutting down' screen. I hope there's something that can be done about this, but I have no idea if it's a Qingy thing or a bootsplash thing or a DirectFB thing or another thing entirely.


Hi maw and sorry for the late reply...
I don't have a solution for this, except maybe an option to disable the 'shutting down' screen... what do you think about that?

maw wrote:

Hiding the last username would be good. Or maybe an option not to display the last username at all, but a setting where it automatically uses their last selected session unless they say otherwise? Might be better for shared computers (although mine isn't shared, I must admit). Although at this point I think it's worth remembering that the GNOME folks do have a point, too many options can be bad. Obviously don't do anything you're not happy with, it's your program, and I can always modify my own copy of it if I get really frustrated with anything, since you write such nice readable code :-)

Well, if you are interested you could help me in extend qingy :-) I always have so many ideas and so little time in my hands... Feel free to contact me at michele.noberasco@tiscali.it, as I think this is OT here...
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heavyt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Mar 2003
Posts: 498
Location: Matrix (Washington,DC)

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2003 1:03 pm    Post subject: Having problems emerging qingy Reply with quote

I did the steps posted by Chickpea but i get the following error when I try too rmerge
Code:
 
Tony root # ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc" emerge -pv qingy
 
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
 
Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild  N   ] app-misc/qingy-0.2
 
Tony root # ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc" emerge qingy
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) app-misc/qingy-0.2 to /
--- No package manifest found: /usr/local/portage/app-misc/qingy/Manifest
!!! No package digest file found: /usr/local/portage/app-misc/qingy/files/digest-qingy-0.2
!!! Type "ebuild foo.ebuild digest" to generate it.
Tony root # ebuild foo.ebuild digest
!!! doebuild: foo.ebuild not found for digest


The first timeI tried to emerge qingy it got as far as downloading qingy to /usr/portage/distfiles.(':(')

Where am I going wrong (this is a ppc emerge). :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2003 3:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Having problems emerging qingy Reply with quote

heavyt wrote:

I did the steps posted by Chickpea but i get the following error when I try too rmerge
Code:
 
Tony root # ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc" emerge qingy
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) app-misc/qingy-0.2 to /
--- No package manifest found: /usr/local/portage/app-misc/qingy/Manifest
!!! No package digest file found: /usr/local/portage/app-misc/qingy/files/digest-qingy-0.2
!!! Type "ebuild foo.ebuild digest" to generate it.
Tony root # ebuild foo.ebuild digest
!!! doebuild: foo.ebuild not found for digest


The first timeI tried to emerge qingy it got as far as downloading qingy to /usr/portage/distfiles.(':(')

Where am I going wrong (this is a ppc emerge). :?:

You are doing nothing wrong, just missing one step. cd to /usr/local/portage/app-misc/qingy/ and issue a
Code:

ebuild qingy-<version>.ebuild digest

You can then proceed as above...
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4t4n
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 433
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2003 3:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Having problems emerging qingy Reply with quote

heavyt wrote:

I did the steps posted by Chickpea but i get the following error when I try too rmerge
Code:
 
Tony root # ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc" emerge qingy
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) app-misc/qingy-0.2 to /
--- No package manifest found: /usr/local/portage/app-misc/qingy/Manifest
!!! No package digest file found: /usr/local/portage/app-misc/qingy/files/digest-qingy-0.2
!!! Type "ebuild foo.ebuild digest" to generate it.
Tony root # ebuild foo.ebuild digest
!!! doebuild: foo.ebuild not found for digest


The first timeI tried to emerge qingy it got as far as downloading qingy to /usr/portage/distfiles.(':(')

Where am I going wrong (this is a ppc emerge). :?:

You are doing nothing wrong, just missing one step. cd to /usr/local/portage/app-misc/qingy/ and issue a
Code:

ebuild qingy-<version>.ebuild digest

You can then proceed as above...
_________________
Linux *IS* user friendly: it just appears
to be selective who it is friend with!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 3 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum