Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
JediKnight2 won't install (latest ebuild of winex)..........
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FINITE
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 7:47 pm    Post subject: JediKnight2 won't install (latest ebuild of winex).......... Reply with quote

Its acts as if its going to install and then I get this error:



Code:
 The InstallShield Engine (iKernel.exe) could not be launched. (0x60070057)
err:file:DeleteFileA Empty path passed


Any ideas what might be causing this? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kormoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 272
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it requires copy protection, and thus you need to buy it from transgaming
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FINITE
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

would a craked exe also work for this like was reccomended for alice?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2002 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you got windows on your box, install it and run the installed version, if not, see if you can get a friend to install it and record the installed files to a cd (may require more than one cd if not packed down though).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FINITE
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2002 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ya I read that you can do this but wasn't really sure about it. What I read actually seemed to lean more towards copying the files off the cd and running it that way. Never having installed it, in windows or linux. I do have windows installed and access to all drives from Gentoo. I could install in win2000 and then boot back to Gentoo and just mount the partition I decided to put it on and copy the files from there making sure that permissions are correct after. I tried just copying from the cd to "Fake Windows" and that would not work (duhhh).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Swishy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2002
Posts: 491
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2002 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just done this with neverwinter nights , it dosent install under the subsribed version of winex either , I think they may have updated something to do with install shield.....or more likely my scsi emulated cdrom....but anyhow you should just be able to install it under windows , copy the files to a relavant folder on your linux partitions, yes you will need the "modified" .exe to run,

found this in one of the forums...
"
try running it as su or root if you didn't already.. and then if it still does not work (and you just can't get it to work anyother way) ... simply copy the cd on to the hard drive and run the game, without installing it, with the jk2mp.exe or jk2sp.exe command.. it will work.. but then an install is always better.... "
Cheers
Dale.
_________________
Theres no substitute for C.I.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Swishy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2002
Posts: 491
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2002 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you could also try setting up another "fake" cdrom and pointing your winex config towards it , copy your cdrom image over to it and mounting the dir as a cdrom drive , if you are running a scsi emulated or genuine scsi cdrom as winex is still having a few probs with the copy protection if you are runing a scsi cdrom drive....... :)
_________________
Theres no substitute for C.I.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2002 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Swishy wrote:
I have just done this with neverwinter nights , it dosent install under the subsribed version of winex either , I think they may have updated something to do with install shield.....or more likely my scsi emulated cdrom....but anyhow you should just be able to install it under windows , copy the files to a relavant folder on your linux partitions, yes you will need the "modified" .exe to run,


nwn still won't work now will it?..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Swishy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2002
Posts: 491
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2002 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not quite although I have managed to get the movie tralier and stuff working but it just sits with the "gloved" mouse cursor on the main menu screen and does nothing (screen stays black).........still working on it though , probably get it going in time for the linux bin's release ...lolol :D

Any luck FINITE?????

Cheers
Dale.
_________________
Theres no substitute for C.I.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FINITE
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2002 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cannot get it past the begining installer where it complains that iKernel.exe could not be started. Havn't tried installing in windows yet to copy over to gentoo. Alice does the same thing too. Im finding that unless you are paying transgamming pretty much any game with copy protection will not work right. I managed to get simcity3000 installed but it won't run after installation. I even got oni to install but well I found that its not even supported at all. Im thinking of trying unreal tournament just to see if it will work and it should unless i don't have winex configured right or something.

PS: Do you have to or should I have a flopy drive configured in Gentoo for wine? I read somewhere that It can be a problem if you don't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kormoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 272
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2002 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AHHH I remember something about JK2
There is a system or base folder on the cdrom, just copy that over to a folder in your fake drive and then run it. It should work then
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Swishy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2002
Posts: 491
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2002 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mmm somethings a bit strange....I dont even have a floppy installed and things are working fine ,so you shouldn't ned to worry about that....did you try creating a "fake" cdrom mountpoint and installing from there????

Cheers
Dale.
_________________
Theres no substitute for C.I.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dook43
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jun 2002
Posts: 114
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2002 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't there a native linux executable for JK2?
_________________
"We who are about to die salute you!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FINITE
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I just went searching for the exe for linux and there isn't one. I did however find that there is a dedicated server for linux but that won't do me any good. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum